Things To Improve On In My Town...


1000103155.jpgA part of my town

I hail from Kwara state which is the North Central part of Nigeria. The primary ethnic group is Yoruba with significant tribes like Nupe, Bariba and Hausa-Fulani. Its capital is Ilorin which is said to be dominated by Muslims with Christians who are the minorities.

I am not from the capital but a town in Kwara called Owu-Isin. I have always been proud of my town which isn't that popular even till now because when people ask me where I come from, I mention the town and they would be like they have never heard of the place before and I would have to use a well-known town (Omu-Aran) to describe it since everyone knows this particular town very well.


My town is a quiet place to live in and everyone knows each other because there aren't many people, but it is always an amazing time spent in my town whenever we go home for the festival at the end of the year. There are a lot of things to talk about in my town that I feel even the kings should be able to get things done apart from the bad road we have once we enter our state which the government aren't doing anything as of now.

Every year, the road is the same and I wonder why they aren't taking it seriously. There have always been cases of accidents on the road along my town due to how bad it is even till now and I feel something needs to be done.



1000096985.jpg

My town is a village structure where there isn't much development in there. In my town, getting to the main road could take up to 20 minutes on a bike and it costs over $1 to and fro the main road. The main road is said to have things that aren't found in my town and this is always like a hassle for people who would need to get something and a big problem for those who aren't financially buoyant. So, they only rely on the little things that are available within the town while being deprived of some necessary amenities.

The town's healthcare centre isn't well standard and there aren't good facilities for patients who are brought there. When there are emergencies, they are always directed to a bigger hospital that still has some facilities but not enough, and before some ill patients are taken to the main town, they give up the ghosts. Quality healthcare service is important for the health of every individual.

The main town itself doesn't have enough unless we travel down to the nearest city for whatever we needed and it is why we usually purchase stuff in bulks which would last us for a month or two before thinking of travelling again.



1000103128.jpg

There was a time I needed a sanitary pad and had to walk around the whole town in search of it and none of the little shops that opened had it and it shocked me to see how something that is needed for ladies isn't available and one would have to spend more than a dollar to get it. I was so angry that day and had to settle for tissue till I left the town. This is the reason I go with important stuff whenever I am travelling home so as not to be disappointed.

Another thing that isn't available in my town is banks. Imagine a town with no bank at all and one would have to travel to another city to get things done whenever they have issues. Banks do not operate in my town and I feel it is something the kings could liaise with the government since they are closer to them than normal people like us. It used to be a pain in the ass for my dad and others when they needed to settle their accounts and would have to travel out of town to another city to get it resolved and this, many times takes over 3 hours to go and return.


It is also shocking to see how restaurants and eateries aren't found in my town and I feel that people who are business oriented would have lots of sales if they decided to bring one down to my town which could also make it more lively and fun for everyone around. For someone like me who likes to eat in eateries sometimes, I don't always get this and it makes my town boring to stay in. Aside from peace and quietness in my city, these developments could make it more interesting.

Other developments like filling stations aren't enough, we only have one that was built just late last year and is still not functioning because they aren't done with it. There is no art in my town and it is one beautiful thing that makes sense when there is/are museum(s) where different artworks are placed where people can come in to enjoy and learn about histories and arts. These are things I feel the government could improve on to make the town a good and lively place to live in and enjoy.


All images belongs to me

This is my entry to Day 25 Inleo Monthly Initiative. If you are looking to participate, you can jump on it now by clicking the link below for more instructions.

April Inleo Monthly Calendar
Thanks for your time reading. Looking forward to your interaction.

20240101_131050_0000.png

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Your town really need a lot of infrastructure to make it more habitable for the people. I just hope those at the helm of affairs will see the need to do something about it.

Yes, I am hoping for that too.

Congratulations @princessbusayo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 29000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 29500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Omo!
I used to think your place is a City not knowing that it's a t y p i c a l village. Lol😅

A typical village it is oo 😀😀

Eyaaaah.
Too many well packaged people on this Blockchain 😅

haha 😂😆
Who is shaking this table 🤣🤣🤣
Triub

Lol🤣.
Just announcing a simple truth 😅

Trouble maker 😌

See how you replied like a bot.

God when🤲🤲

I think there need a lot of development. I'm just thinking how difficult it is for the people who are living there although they adapted there. Healthcare issues is the worst one and I also suffered for it in my village.

Yes, those people are adapted to the life already. It can't be compared to those who visit and leave after a while. A lot of development needs to be done in my town.

Don't you think you should plan on opening a provision store in a strategic place in your town? That would make sense babe.. imagine trekking long in search of sanitary pad.hmm
Think about it
We call it taking advantage of the situation

Hehehe. I do not intend to live in that town permanently oo. Lol
But my sister is working on something for the future. I will partner with her 🫠

20 HBD for this idea 😌😌😌

🤣🤣🤣 Why can't you do something for free for Princess? 😕😒

Be playing oo 🤣😂
How will I buy my car if I continue to do something for free😌😌😌

🤣🤣🤣
Only me, do it for free 😌

I have not of that town before in my life and with the look of things, it sure needs a lot of improvements. I hope the government will do something about it soon.

Hmm, this town is quite similar to where I reside in Lagos plus it also lacks the same amenities. We have to travel long distances to get to the bank, health centers and others.

I also hope government can show these areas some love o

It is always a stressful thing to travel to another city to get these stuff done when the government could do something about it to relieve many of us especially the old ones among us.

Yeah that's true

We hope for the Very Best 🙏 in All
Longest time Ma how have you been doing
#dreemerforlife#

Yes, we do hope for the best.
Thank you so much for stopping by. And yes, it has been a long while. I am very fine. How about you?

Indeed 🙏
You are highly Welcome
Am Fyn dear
Thank God

That's great to know too. 😊

Thank God

This is my first time hearing of Owu-isin, and I believe it's a nice place to visit based on your illustration.
#dreemerforlife