And the verdict is out!

in The City of Neoxian22 days ago (edited)

So, a few days ago I asked the opinion of the #silvergoldstackers community here on hive on whether I should unseal one of my latest silver additions, the "Europa the euro conversion" or not.

As expected, the popular vote was an astounding no, considering how it would lose value, especially if I was to sell it in a decade or whatever from now.

Oh well, I guess I did an oupsie lol. I just couldn't withhold myself 😂

And honestly I don't have any regrets. First cause chances are I would never sell it while alive. That privilege is for the next generation. So, they should just be happy for getting a shit ton of free silver from me. And I will get to enjoy this piece like I am supposed to.

And second cause after opening it, the experience turned out to be much better than I expected. The whole booklet inside took me to a very beautiful and nostalgic trip, waking up memories I had almost forgotten. Back then during the Euro conversion when I was still essentially a kid and the future felt much more...promising.. Or maybe that's just the naivety of the young mind! My only worries back then was to manage to get enough money to buy a new game boy color and resident evil II for the playstation. Lmao, good times.

Anyways, let's open this bad boy:

Messenger_creation_8addb797-04a4-4ee1-9e76-2700a5a3fe44.jpeg

Some pics of the hard cover thingie

Messenger_creation_ddafd883-30cc-4bef-a558-a7018b5c31fb.jpeg

Messenger_creation_0a2fe6b5-dca0-4b6d-9d0a-22362c3d0691.jpeg

Messenger_creation_5c6cd215-dfc4-4993-b632-99ccb3b37b09.jpeg

Messenger_creation_a76c705a-608e-4ce3-b6af-fee21a92e448.jpeg

Messenger_creation_20d3d151-00ec-47b3-9d74-b229a3fe878f.jpeg

Messenger_creation_479f2c7d-1713-4350-b225-3657f5998ee3.jpeg

Messenger_creation_876bec9f-9b37-4ac3-b016-2ea3cc8c179e.jpeg

Messenger_creation_ee9b0b40-e50b-4399-ac66-c3957bf7ea99.jpeg

Messenger_creation_3a35c187-9801-4a4f-bcc2-90779eaf1a31.jpeg

And some photos of the attached booklet thingie inside, covering all the basics of the soon to be introduced euro coin, like the coins and bills that will be circulating, how initially countries will use both the euro and their local currency for a smooth transition. Shit, it's over two decades since then and it feels like yesterday!

Messenger_creation_3dd5c3e9-cfe2-4d31-bee3-22e3d2d5346d~2.jpeg

Messenger_creation_1a3e9e7f-4b1b-460d-8e0c-fe70597a499c~2.jpeg

Messenger_creation_e9be7a84-d226-43a7-8dca-24b03fdfbd82~2.jpeg

Messenger_creation_97394231-c5f9-48a7-9bc8-8670ccb1afe1~2.jpeg

Messenger_creation_c7624392-c12c-4e8d-952d-d20d0e2316ef~2.jpeg

And of course some close ups of the really beautiful coin 😍

Messenger_creation_69dca664-2163-45df-b458-54a12d50d748.jpeg

Messenger_creation_6ca6f000-531f-4f39-a0aa-0515afca19bd.jpeg

And some more boring semantics from Numista

Issuer: France
Period: Fifth Republic (1958-date)
Type: Non-circulating coin
Year: 1999
Value: 6.55957 Francs (6.55957 FRF)
Currency: New franc (1960-2001)
Composition: Silver (.900)
Weight: 13 g
Diameter: 30 mm
Shape: Round
Technique: Milled
Orientation: Coin alignment ↑↓
Demonetized: Yes



Tldr a really really beautiful piece. I still can't believe
I managed to get this beauty for slightly below the spot price 😁😁😁😁

Ok plebs, this is it for today!

As always, see you soon with more shiny 🥳💸





Fun Numismatics Posts
Enjoyed the post? Here is some more fun silver/numismatics themed content I have written in the past that you may enjoy:

And don't forget to join me in the silver gold stackers discord where I hang around! We are a fun bunch, I promise! Just click here!

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I still can't believe I managed to get this beauty for slightly below the spot price

Beautiful coin and documentation to go with it. Lends a lot of significance and history to the coin. 25 years later, have your feelings towards the Euro changed? Did you ever get that Game Boy Color?

I sure did get the gbc 😂 many fond memories.

As for the euro, I have a neutral opinion, imo it has its pros and cons, mostly pros if you ask me. People keep blaming it for everything, at the end of the day it's just a currency. It's the politicians and ofc those that vote em that create the mess :)

I see you politing with these posts, I'm glad you took my advice and tear that ass up 🤣 !BBH !LOL !PIMP !ALIVE


Aw man @bitcoinman, you are out of PIMP to slap people.
Go Stake some more and increase your PIMP power.
(We will not send this error message for 24 hours).

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

@trumpman! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ bitcoinman. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Good for you. Getting an education about this event is worth reading about.

!hiqvote

I !hiqvote your hiqvote 🤣

!hiqvote hiqception

They broken right now 🫠 !BBH

@bitcoinman, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/3) but the mana is too low. Try again later.

As a consolation, @bitcoinman gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

Hahahhaha good choice! I’m am in favour of your choice! More fun!

It is a real beauty! I'll have to look around and see if I can find a good price on one!
!BBH

I would’ve done it as well…

I would've opened it as well, or bought two and kept one sealed. 😁

!BBH
!PIZZA
!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@bulliontools just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @trumpman.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

You received an upvote of 87% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

I wish the material was more clearer (in English) so we can at least read about it. A very pretty coin! I wonder what the stars in her head mean. Lady Liberty of the USA is also naturally portrayed with stars on her head!

image.png
!BBH

Nice coin. It's always nice to see what is inside but with the internet out there, I would have probably kept it sealed while looking at the stuff inside.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@bulliontools(2/5) tipped @trumpman

Congratulations @trumpman! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

It's a nice looking Coin, but its Face Value seems very confusing... What would I used to "make change"...???

@trumpman, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/3) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @trumpman gets !LOL from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻