The Power of a Stranger's Kindness

I was raised under a system that made me skeptical about humans. I even built a stone wall around me, especially towards strangers, and my reason for that isn't farfetched—from strangers kidnapping my childhood friends, stealing our properties, or even pretending to be an angel of light only for them to strike and hurt us when we least expect it. I've seen it all, but my attitude towards strangers changed after a few unmerited favors shown towards me by a total stranger, and that has changed my perspective ever since.

When people ask me about the best thing a stranger has done for me, I usually trace it back to my first two years at the university, when a total stranger gave me shelter and food for that time span, as though we'd known each other all our lives. I tagged her the lady with a heart of gold, and you can check the link to read all about her and her act towards me. But that wasn't all. I've had several other encounters with strangers, and one saved my life when, on average, I'd have died just like every other person who traveled down the path I was on that very day.

It was 2018, and I was a long way from home serving my father's land for the mandatory one-year National Youth Service Corps (NYSC). I was serving in the far north, several kilometers from home, and this was a period when BoKo Haram, the notorious terrorist group, thrived and operated in the state I was in. To cut a long story short, during one of my stays in the state, I've heard a lot about some parts of the state that are deserts and have wanted to visit them.

I saw numerous photos of the beautiful landscape—the desert, the sand dunes, and the Oases River—passing through the dessert, with palm trees all around them. To me, those places look like paradise, and I wanted to explore them; unfortunately, I wasn't allowed to go to that part by my superior in the NYSC program due to insecurity and how Boko Haram was known to terrorize that part of the state.

But I was already determined and carried away by the view that their disapproval fell on deaf ears. After a week, I boarded a bus heading towards the local government, where the desert is situated, and while in the bus, I was surrounded by total strangers. I was even disgusted by how dirty most were and tried as much as possible not to relate with them until I saw this young boy whose parents sat beside me struggling to read the book in his hands.

Has a teacher I find it hard to overlook his errors, and despite being disgusted by some of the dirt around me, including the boy, I find myself communicating with him and teaching him the right words and pronunciation. That continues for a while, until the young boy starts addressing me as Malam (the teacher) to call me attention each time he encounters difficult words in his book, the parents turn to me with appreciation, and I smile and say it's nothing.

Then, after three hours into our journey within the state from Damaturu to Yusufari, we arrived at a place with roadblocks ahead and several vehicles lining up to be checked before they're allowed to pass. I thought it was an army checkpoint until I saw most of those doing the checking cover their faces and put on clothes that were in no way close to those of the military. I immediately knew it was the Boko Haram, and I'll be damned if they find out I'm from the fat west.

I guess the father of the boy I was teaching sensed my fear, then he held my hand and asked me to calm down. Before it was time for our vehicle to be checked, he told me some words and what to say when it's our turn to be checked. I obliged, but I was still filled with fear because the buses ahead of us that have been checked, any strangers inside, are fished out to help hold hostage while normal villages were allowed to leave, and those who tried to run while shot immediately right before our eyes.

I was terrified by all of those happenings, but I tried as much as possible to stay calm. When it got to our turn, they checked all through the bus and then asked us all questions one after the other in their native language, which I bearily understood, so immediately, they knew I wasn't one of them and were about to add me to their lot when the father of the young boy I was teaching earlier stepped in, telling them I'm the son of his brother, who resides in Lagos, and that it's because I grew up there; that's why I can't speak the language firmly.

They went on to ask us more questions; fortunately, I understood some of them and gave a prompt response, we were allowed to go. That was a close call. I looked out to see others who had been held captive and wondered what their fate would be. I thanked the man over and over again till we arrived at our destination, because I don't know what my situation would have been had he not stepped in.

It could probably be because of how I relate to his son, but regardless of that, I'm still a total stranger, and stepping up for me in that delicate moment could have caused him harm if things went wrong, so I know the risk he took, and I'm forever indebted to him. Unfortunately, he didn't have a phone, so we couldn't communicate after that day, and for the exploration, I didn't bother going there; I was so terrified that I left the village via the other route immediately.


All photos are mine.


Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

well done, mi negro, keep going up

Thank you.

Wow, that was really a close one, thank God for the man, at least you're alive to tell the story.

Yea a very close one indeed, I was lucky thanks to that man.

We wouldn't have known Vickoly on the Hive blockchain today if he'd been kidnapped that day. Perhaps you would have joined the troop of Boko Haram terrorising people 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Hehehe. Don't mind Princess.
They say one good turn deserves another abi how dem dey talk am. That was indeed a close one for you. Imagine if you hadn't related and helped the small boy. God saved you too.

Hehehe that's indeed would have been the case had he not stepped in.

I'm grateful to him and God for that day and the turnout of the event.

Perhaps you would have joined the troop of Boko Haram terrorising people 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Hehehe. Don't mind Princess.

Bombastic side eye 👁️👁️👁️

😂😂😂😂

Don't tell me it's bombastic side eye, I know it is. That's your brand 😃😃😃

Your baby look just like u. Weldone boss

Smile thanks so much.

I'm really touched by these events of yours. But, very fascinated by your writing styles and choice of words.

I'm grateful for how everything turned out.

Smile that's nice of you to say, thanks so much for your kind words.

Is that the baby you were talking about?

Omo, I need to learn our languages o even if it's small. There is a big lesson to be learned here.

Indeed one good turn deserves another 🥺

I volunteer to teach you Yoruba. But you have to come to Lagos first 😂 🏃‍♂️

What if I am already in Lagos?

By the way, I thought you would ask me to marry you first 😂

😂. You are in Lagos? Are you winding me?

Anyways. Should we talk about marriage again in public? Are you sure you won’t turn me down?

untitled.gif

Hahah. This time around I will catch you 😂

Hehe yes that's the baby...

It's always good to know ones language, in fact multiple languages as much as possible, it'll come in handy.

By the way, what's your native language?

Thank goodness. Even me reading this my heart was pumping with fear. One good turn deserves another. I think changing your perspective will also render you spreading kindness to people too. But on the same note not everyone deserves an act of kindness.

Smile I know how terrifying it was, even while revisiting this memory as I write, I was grib with fear, it was a close call and indeed it's good to be good, because we don't know when that will come in handy.

Yeah. Next time let visit and explore those lovely place on a private jet where no bokoharam can get us.

That's even more easily for them, like they don't have RPG to crash the jet.😂

So we can’t even explore our own country in peace again. 😂. There is God oo

Omo!
Imagine if the man wasn't around or let's say they identified you as a corper.... because northerners don't serve in north too. It would have been another story

Yea that's very true, if he weren't there or decide not to help, them my case would have been a sorry case.

Thank God for God always being Good🤲

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited..

This post received an extra 1.04% vote for delegating HP / holding IUC tokens.

woah, this must have been a scary day for you. I have learned not to underrate anybody because you don't know where your help might be coming from. The father of that boy saw that you were a good man and so he didn't hesitate to take the risk for you. Very interesting experience you shared here boss

Yea that's true o, underestimating people isn't good at all, we don't know who's who or who'll be in who in the near future, so dealing with everyone in love is the best way to go.

You made a decision to visit an area that is known for its beauty but also the terrorist. When you were faced with the terrorists - it must have been extremely scary. The child's father reciprocated your thoughtfulness to his son without hesitation. That was very kind and smart of him. He repaid your kindness to his son immediately. It is good that you left the village thereafter. Some risks are not worth taking.

Posted using Neoxian City

Yea I was clouded by my idea of the place that I went against the command I was given, I'm glad it didn't go beyond what I encounter that day.
It's always a good thing to be nice to everyone around us, who knows it might come back in handy, just like in my case.

Thanks for your feedback.

Your post demonstrates that good and kind people are still around. You were nice to the boy and the parents were kind to you.
Hearing the name of the terrorist group puts fear in the hearts of everyone. However, you were determined to visit the area - undeterrred. You were very lucky that day. The father was brave to speak up for you. Many others would have been too scared to even speak when not spoken to.
Although it is nice to be adventurous, I do not think you will take these risks anymore.

Curious about HivePakistan? Join us on Discord!

Delegate your HP to the Hivepakistan account and earn 90% of curation rewards in liquid hive!

50 HP
100 HP
200 HP
500 HP (Supporter Badge)
1000 HP
Follow our Curation Trail and don't miss voting!

Join Binance through this LINK for 10% off trading fees! Let's save together!

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @nkemakonam89 suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️

That was close! I held my breath as I read, as someone who had also had a similar experience. Thank God for that stranger that showed you kindness.

Posted using Neoxian City

Yea it was gladly I was able to sail through without any issues all thanks to that man and God.

I was terrified reading your story. You mean you couldn't seek for redeployment after being posted at the far north for your NYSC program? Especially that time Boko Haram was at their peak? That's a close call indeed but grateful for that man who saved you from their hands. Your good deed also spoke for you because if not , the may not have known u to step in for u

We would have called you vicoboko causing nuisance in naija, lmao 🤣

I could seek redeployment, in fact it was automatical if you seek for one, but I don't want to redeploy, so I stayed and I almost regretted my decision on several occasions, but then it's worth it.

I was every lucky my dear, those guys are something else, but than God.

We would have called you vicoboko causing nuisance in naija, lmao 🤣

What is she saying? How can you kidnap me and make me one of you!
I'll rather die.

Hahaha 😂