Don't lose your head. Wear a helmet || No pierdas la cabeza. Usa casco

in Cycling13 days ago

Don't lose your head. Wear a helmet || No pierdas la cabeza. Usa casco


In many places, culture can lead us to downplay the importance of wearing a helmet while riding a bike, believing it is only necessary when competing. Even when seeing someone regularly wearing a helmet, their friends might start teasing them. Before the monetary factor, cultural prejudices and beliefs are the first barriers that need to be overcome to convince oneself to wear a helmet. How did I reach that conclusion and how am I using it? Please, join me.

HOW I GOT THE HELMET.

Since I have my current bike, I had to pedal almost 10 kilometers to get to my workplace, through a road meant only for vehicles. Cars of different sizes, traveling at different speeds, and heavy-duty trucks, like those carrying fuel, passed beside me. It's a risk that is assumed when riding there. That's why, after tuning up my bike, I became aware that I needed to protect myself, even more than the bike. So, I set out to get a helmet.

While traveling to a nearby city, some friends had a garage sale, and they had two helmets there. I tried both on and told them I would save up to get a red one that I liked. To my surprise, as we were about to leave, my friend gave me the helmet saying I wouldn't have to pay for it. I thanked him very much for the gesture as it fulfilled a need.

HELMET and BUFF.

I noticed that sweat started to damage the inner lining of the helmet, so I found out how to preserve it, and discovered a garment called a buff that could help. I showed it to my wife and she made me a custom one. It consists of a cylindrical garment that can be worn on the head in different ways. I am using it in two ways.

--
17134045110384.jpg17134045110385.jpg

The first: putting my head through one of the openings and leaving only my face uncovered on the other side. It is very effective as it protects the neck and the back of the head from the sun. Also, the sweat stays in the fabric and doesn't reach the inner part of the helmet. Plus, it makes one look somewhat mysterious, as several people don't recognize you!

--
17134045110382.jpg17134045110383.jpg

The second: the pirate look. The buff is turned upside down on the top of the head, with the excess fabric thrown back, protecting the neck from the sun's rays. This way, the ears are left uncovered to better perceive sounds while riding. It is also less hot than the previous style.

HELMET AND HOOD.

Nevertheless, lately I've been using garments with a hood more often. For example, with this blue garment, I go to the market on Saturdays and it has a hood. It's very practical. Also, my wife made me a gray garment with a hood.

1713404511038.jpg

The advantages of both styles are that the inner lining of the helmet can adhere better to the fabric on the head, be it the buff or the hood, ensuring it stays in place. This is very important. I remember once I was going downhill and had the helmet directly on my head, and I fell into a hole on the road, causing the helmet to end up in front of my eyes, literally obstructing my vision. How dangerous! I learned that I must keep it in place and well-adjusted. Otherwise, in case of a fall, the helmet could come off on one side and we on the other, as if we weren't wearing it.

CONCLUSION.

We must break down the internal and external barriers that prevent us from wearing a helmet. Let's find ways to take care of it while using it. And most importantly: find a stylish one that makes you want to wear it. Until next time!





En muchos lugares, la cultura puede hacer que minimicemos la importancia de usar casco en la cabeza al manejar bicicleta, creyendo que sólo es necesario si estamos compitiendo. Incluso, al ver a alguien usar casco regularmente sus amigos podrían empezar a gastarle bromas. Antes que el factor monetario, los prejuicios y las creencias por cultura son las primeras barreras que hay que derrumbar para convencerse de usar casco. ¿Cómo llegué a esa conclusión y cómo lo estoy usando? Por favor, acompáñame.

CÓMO OBTUVE EL CASCO.

Desde que tengo mi actual bicicleta tenía que pedalear casi 10 kilometros hasta mi lugar de trabajo, por una vía sólo para vehículos. A mi lado pasaban autos de diferentes tamaños, a distintas velocidades y camiones de carga pesada, como los que llevan el combustible. Es un riesgo que se asume al andar por allí. Por eso, al terminar de poner a tono mi bicicleta creé consciencia de que debía protegerme a mí, incluso más que a la bicicleta. De modo que me propuse obtener un casco.

Al viajar a una ciudad cercana, unos amigos tenían una venta de garage, y allí tenían dos cascos. Me medí los dos y les dije que ahorraría para obtener uno rojo que me gustaba. Para mi sorpresa, cuando ya nos marchábamos, mi amigo me entregó el casco diciéndome que no pagaría nada por él. Le agradecí muchísimo el gesto ya que cubría una necesidad.

CASCO y BUFF

Noté que el sudor comenzó a dañar el forro interno del casco, por eso averigüé cómo conservarlo, y descubrí una prenda llamada buff que podría servirme. Se la mostré a mi esposa y ella me fabrico uno exclusivo. Consta de una prenda cilíndrica que puede usarse en la cabeza de diferentes formas. Yo la estoy usando de dos formas.

--
17134045110384.jpg17134045110385.jpg

Ésta fue la primera: metiendo la cabeza por una de las aberturas y por la otra sólo dejo descubierto el rostro. Es muy buena porque te protege del sol todo el cuello y la nuca. Además, el sudor queda en la tela y no en la parte interna del casco. Además, hacer ver a uno un tanto misterioso, porque ¡varias personas no te reconocen!

--
17134045110382.jpg17134045110383.jpg

Ésta es la segunda: el pirata. Se voltea el buff en la parte superior de la cabeza, arrojando para atrás el sobrante de tela, protegiendo la nuca de los rayos solares. Así quedan descubiertas las orejas para percibir mejor los sonidos al manejar. También, es menos caluroso que la anterior.

CASCO Y CAPUCHA

Con todo, últimamente estoy usando más son prendas con capucha. Por ejemplo, con ésta prenda azul voy los sábados al mercado y tiene su capucha. Es muy práctico. También mi esposa me fabricó una prenda así de color gris, con capucha.

1713404511038.jpg

Las ventajas de ambas modalidades es que el forro interno del casco puede adherirse mejor a la tela en la cabeza, sea del buff o de la capucha, y así puede mantenerse en su lugar. Ésto es muy importante. Recuerdo una vez que iba descendiendo en una pendiente y llevaba el casco directamente en la cabeza, y caí en un hueco en la carretera y el casco vino a parar al frente de mis ojos, literalmente, obstaculizando mi visión. ¡Qué peligro! Aprendí que debo mantenerlo en su lugar y bien ajustado. Sino, de sufrir una caída puede el casco salir por un lado y nosotros por el otro, como si no lo tuviéramos.

CONCLUSIÓN.

Hay que derribar las barreras internas y externas que impiden que usemos casco. Encontremos formas de cuidarlo mientras lo usamos. Y muy importante: encuentra uno bonito y que te provoque usarlo. ¡Hasta la próxima!




🚴


Banner 2022.jpg

FUENTES / SOURCES

Cover: Made with the free version of CANVAS || Portada: Hecho con la versión gratuita de CANVAS
Imágenes: Realizadas con mi teléfono Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 y editadas con GIMP // Images: Shot with my Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 phone and edited with GIMP
GIF: usé imágenes capturadas con mi teléfono Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 y transformadas gratuitamente en ezgif.com // GIF:** I used images captured with my Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 phone and transformed for free in ezgif.com
Banner: Hecho por mi en GIMP con imágenes propias y recursos gratuitos del sitio pfpmaker.com/ // Banner: Made by me in GIMP with my own images and free resources from the site pfpmaker.com/
Idioma: Post redactado en español y luego traducido al inglés mediante Hive Translator/ by @noakmilo // Language: Post written in Spanish and then translated into English through Hive Translator by noakmilo

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

https://inleo.io/threads/aaalviarez/re-aaalviarez-6v1sv4bh
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( aaalviarez ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Bien por esta reflexión. El casco se convierte en un gran amigo. 😜
Yo a veces me pongo una gorra debajo.

Saludos @aaalviarez.

Tienes razón. La gorra la usan bastante debajo del casco, más que todo cuando el casco no tiene una visera. Gracias por pasar por aquí. Saludos @nanixxx

Helmets save lives!
They are the most important cycling gear there is.


This post was upvoted by the Cycling Community
cycling.PNG
Subscribe to the Cycling Community and share your cycling related posts with us.
Join our Discord Channel if you want to chat about cycling.


You can support the Cycling Community by delegating HP
| 25 HP | 50 HP | 100 HP | 250 HP | 500 HP |

That's right, that's why you have to get used to using it. Thanks for your support. Regards @hive-177745

It is definitely necessary to wear a helmet to protect our lives, especially in cities that do not have bike lanes and have to share the road with all types of vehicles.

Definitivamente es necesario usar el casco para proteger nuestra vida, especialmente en ciudades que no cuentan con ciclovías y hay que compartir carretera con todo tipo de vehículos.

Absolutely true. And add to that the factor that many roads are not in optimal conditions, so you have to choose to fall into a gap instead of opening further into the middle of the road when vehicles are coming. Thanks for your valuable input. Regards @rosana6

!BBH

@rosana6! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @aaalviarez. (1/5)