My first bike ride of the year and the relief of having an area to park it / Mi primera ruta en bici del año y el alivio de contar con un área para estacionarla

in Cycling3 months ago

This week I decided to do my first bike ride of the year, something that had me excited since for various reasons I hadn't been able to go out in previous days. Whenever I planned a trip, bad weather, rain or some other unexpected event would force me to cancel.

photo_2024-01-27_06-39-55.jpg

The destination of this first outing was a weekly academic meeting that I will start attending, in a building located about 6 km from my home. While I had already visualized this route in my mind and knew it beforehand, what worried me most was where to park the bicycle for the approximately 3 hours that the meeting would last, since I'm not very used to doing so for such a long time in a public space.

photo_2024-01-27_06-40-03.jpg

On previous visits to the building, I had noticed its large ground floor and the large fence surrounding it, which I thought could be a good place to tie the bike, although quite exposed. I also knew about the underground parking lot, but the last time I noticed that it was reserved only for officials of the institution and other government agencies, so I sincerely doubted that they would allow parking a bicycle there.

photo_2024-01-27_06-42-57.jpg

Appealing to the excitement of the moment and taking advantage of my enthusiasm to arrive on time to the meeting, I decided to try to enter the parking lot. When asked by the attendant, I politely but convincingly explained that I had an urgent meeting with a high-ranking official, betting it all on that small lie. He hesitated briefly, checked his records and let me pass, to my pleasant surprise.

photo_2024-01-27_06-40-07.jpg

Still excited about the accuracy of the strategy, what surprised me most was that when I asked him where I could park, the attendant indicated without hesitation a sector demarcated specially for bicycles, with bars to secure them. Truthfully, this is not very common in my city, I had only seen these bars before in some busy parks, so it was nice to find this space also for bicycles in an institutional building.

photo_2024-01-27_06-40-12.jpg

In the bicycle sector there was a somewhat worn sign promoting the use of the bicycle as a means of transport in the city and its most notable benefits. I felt fortunate to have this comfortable and secure place to leave my bike during meetings in this new space.

photo_2024-01-27_06-40-25.jpg


ESPAÑOL

Mi primera ruta en bici del año y el alivio de contar con un área para estacionarla

photo_2024-01-27_06-40-30.jpg

Esta semana decidí realizar mi primera ruta en bicicleta del año, algo que me tenía emocionado ya que por diversas razones no había podido salir los días previos. Siempre que planificaba alguna salida, el mal tiempo, la lluvia o algún otro imprevisto me obligaban a desistir.

El destino de esta primera salida era una reunión académica semanal a la que voy a empezar a asistir, en un edificio ubicado a unos 6 km de mi casa. Si bien ya había visualizado esta ruta mentalmente y la conocía de antemano, lo que más me preocupaba era dónde dejar estacionada la bicicleta durante las aproximadamente 3 horas que duraría la reunión, ya que no estoy muy acostumbrado a hacerlo por tanto tiempo en un espacio público.

photo_2024-01-27_06-40-17.jpg

En visitas anteriores al edificio, había notado su amplia planta baja y la gran reja que lo rodea, lo cual pensé que podría ser un buen lugar para atar la bicicleta, aunque bastate expuesto. También conocía el estacionamiento subterráneo, pero la última vez noté que estaba reservado sólo para funcionarios de la institución y de otros entes gubernamentales, por lo que sinceramente dudaba que permitieran estacionar una bicicleta allí.

photo_2024-01-27_06-40-34.jpg

Apelando a la emoción del momento y aprovechando mi entusiasmo por llegar puntual a la reunión, decidí intentar ingresar al estacionamiento. Al ser consultado por el portero, expliqué amablemente pero con fingida seguridad que tenía una reunión urgente con un alto funcionario, jugándome todo en esa pequeña mentira. Él portero dudó brevemente, revisó sus registros y me dejó pasar, para mi grata sorpresa.

Todavía emocionado por lo acertado de la estrategia, lo que más me sorprendió fue que al preguntarle dónde podía estacionar, el portero me indicó sin dudar un sector demarcado especialmente para bicicletas, con barras para sujetarlas. La verdad es que esto no es muy común en mi ciudad, solo había visto antes estas barras en algunos parques concurridos, así que fue agradable encontrar este espacio también para bicicletas en un edificio institucional.

En el sector de bicicletas había un cartel algo desgastado que promovía el uso de la bicicleta como medio de transporte en la ciudad y sus ventajas más notables. Me sentí afortunado de contar con este lugar comodo y seguro donde dejar mi bici durante las reuniones en este nuevo espacio.

Sort:  

Bad weather conditions also keep me from riding my bike. Especially in winter.
Good to see that you have done your first ride of the year. I hope more rides will follow soon.


This post was upvoted by the Cycling Community

cycling.PNG

Join our Discord Channel!

Delegations are welcome
| 25 HP | 50 HP | 100 HP | 250 HP | 500 HP |

Thank you very much! Today I took advantage of the morning and inspired I rode about 17 km, so I hope to be posted soon!

hermosa nave tienes!

Gracias mi pana! Hasta ahora funcionando bastante bien, aunque con algun detalle en el sistema de cambios de velocidades. Saludos!!