You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cycling through Italy.

in Cycling11 months ago

I am sssooooo impressed with this epic journey you are sharing, dearest @kesityu.fashion !! I keep expecting it to finish, then you add another chapter, with more huge distances covered!! Wow indeed 😍

Oh yes, where to begin: I made some big cycling efforts before, and pushed myself to my limits a lot when I first acquired my abandoned medieval house... But I think that my biggest one-day cycle was from Trieste in north-east Italy, down to Piran in Slovenia: I did inter-railing and bike (and ferry) from Scotland to Piran, and the ticket ended in Italy - I was using a 1970s paper map of the whole of Europe, with a big Posca pen route painted on it 😋 and the final day's trip didn't seem very big - about and inch or so on the map, hahah!
I thought: I'll just keep to the coastal road and it'll be lovely and easy, but the road came away from the sea almost as soon as I got past the border control huts... and went by some scary huge buildings that seemed like nuclear stations - I pedalled fast past there...
Got to Piran just as the sun was going down, and fortuitously met with a car carrying my fellow-artist friends (who'd travelled by Easyjet!) who I was going to be staying with and doing an expo. I remember how shaky my legs were: totally over-exerted myself!

I am imagining you keeping pedalling for a few more days, and then trundling down into Guardia Sanframondi's medieval quarter for a rest at the Arthouse 🤗 Buon biciclando (I don't know if that is a proper word - my Italian is creative) and enjoy your cornetti and caffè everywhere!!

Sort:  

The journey doesn't seem to finish anytime soon!!:D

That sounds like an awesome trip!! I imagine you still have the map? I love to do that, marking the way you have gone so far, but stopped when the Map of France didn't serve me anymore. Should have known better and got a European one:)
Scary buildings and over estimating yourself, yes I know that feeling! Not fun, but then I am still surprised how much your body is able to do if you have to...

I was thinking about that!!! But then it got waaay to hot and going down south in this heat would have killed me, so the route continues more north-east ways... but I might catch a train later this year and knock on the door of the Arthouse?

The guest room is waiting! Aye, the heat is very strong this month! But it rained heavily yesterday, so divine, and ths evening is so much fresher 🤗😍 Phew! Many blessings on this fabulous journey as it continues, dear friend!

Nothing better than rain, in this heat!! And the feeling of all the happy plants around:)
💜