A nice bicycle ride on Saturday morning

in Cycling13 days ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

It's been a few weeks since I last went on a long bike ride. I've been cycling to and from work regularly, which is about 16.5 kilometers one way. However, since we have a 200+ kilometer trip planned for June, I really need to start cycling longer distances.
Due to busy weekends and bad weather, I haven't been able to do this recently.

After a week of heavy rain and strong winds, this morning was quite pleasant. It was a bit chilly at 8 degrees, but it was dry, and there was much less wind than on Friday.
Thanks to the sunshine, it felt much warmer.

image.png

Because of the northwesterly wind, we started our route in that direction. Shortly after setting off, I noticed something was off with my bike. I had done some maintenance on it this week. After a quick inspection, I found out that I hadn't mounted my rear wheel properly. This issue was quickly fixed, and we were back on the road.

image.png

We chose to ride a route that we're familiar with. We headed north and then towards the coast, cycling back home along the coast through the dunes with the wind at our backs.
The dunes are a beautiful area for cycling. On sunny days, it can get quite busy with walkers, runners, and other cyclists, but due to the cold, it was much quieter.

image.png

As we exited the dunes, we came across a roadblock. At first, we were disappointed that we had to detour, but then we saw why the road was closed; it was the flower parade. The flower parade is an annual event where dozens of trucks are decorated with flowers. The region where we live is known for its flower bulb fields, especially the tulip fields, which are famous worldwide.
They create truly stunning displays like this squirrel.
You wouldn't believe this cute squirell is made out of flowers, do you?

image.png

After riding alongside the parade for a bit, we turned towards home.
After a lovely route of 67 kilometers, I arrived home where I could enjoy a well-deserved cup of coffee in the backyard under the sun.

image.png

I hope you enjoyed my blog. Have you also been cycling this weekend? Let me know in the comments or create your own blog in the Cycling Community!


image.png


FriendlyMoose

Creating blogs about photography, cycling, gardening, craft beer and more...



image.png

Every week I create a post with an overview of all the photography contests on Hive. You can find the weekly overview post by checking the #photocontests tag.
I also organise a weekly photography contest myself; the POB Photocontest. This weekly contests has a new subject every week and you can win POB tokens and Ecency points.
Check out the posts with the #pobphotocontest tag.



image.png


image.png

The Cycling Community

The Cycling Community is for everyone who rides a bicycle or is interested in cycling in any form.
You can post anything as long as it has to do with cycling; your bicycle, a ride you made, bike maintenance or cycling news.

Create your cycling related blog in the Cycling Community!

Also check out our Discord Channel!

image.png

You can support the Cycling Community by delegating HP.

The HP will be used to support cyclist on Hive!
You can do so by clicking one of the links below or choose your own amount.

25 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP -250 HP - 500 HP


image.png

Sort:  

You have amazing routes and sceneries for biking. <3

Thanks!
There are nice routes and sceneries everywhere. You just have to find them 😉
Have you been doing cycling trips lately?

Yes, I do, I even bike to school. The problem is I could not take photos on the road because I always have a heavy passenger behind me. Haha!

Long time since I've read something from you. Very nice ride. I see you got some good weather for The Netherlands. Next time I'm in Amsterdam, I might stay a day longer to drop for a coffee in Leiden, as time wise is not a long ride.

😄... 67 kilometres. I would train more, on quiet routes, because in the city it's complicated. But I haven't found anyone to go with me. And I shouldn't do it alone, because it's risky.
Being a newbie has its limitations.

Thanks for showing us that cute little flower squirrel too! 😉