You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Not just your normal ratchet wrench

in Cycling • 2 months ago

one heavier fart is enough to snap expensive parts.

🤣

You're right. Good tools are useful when you want to do some proper bicycle maintenance.
I've collected a lot already, but no torque wrench yet. I have looked into it, bit there is so much choice. I did tighten some bolts too much in the past, so I do see the added value. I even wrecked a allen key bolt (is that how you call it?) of my rear break which I can't adjust properly anymore now 😞
Ill have to look into them again.
Thanks for the tips!


This post was upvoted by the Cycling Community
cycling.PNG
Subscribe to the Cycling Community and share your cycling related posts with us.
Join our Discord Channel if you want to chat about cycling.


You can support the Cycling Community by delegating HP
| 25 HP | 50 HP | 100 HP | 250 HP | 500 HP |

Sort:  

I even wrecked a allen key bolt (is that how you call it?) of my rear break which I can't adjust properly anymore now

Yup! You mean the one who secures the caliper? I did the same on the front break =/

Look it up RiderAce or ThinkRider torque wrenchs on Aliexpress -- great quality for the value.

It's the one to adjust the pads. This one:

1000034059.jpg

Thabks for the tip. I will check it out!

Oh yeah, is there a way to replace that bolt? Maybe you could super glue a cheap allen key just to remove the bolt and then screw a new one

I don't think so. It's on the inside of the caliper. It's working now and I adjust the pads with tightening the cable, but the finer adjustment with the allen key cannot be done. And a new brake is quite expensive, so I will leave it for now.

Sure, makes sense. Or you could migrate to hydraulics, though I think it would me even more expensive.

For now they work fine, so replacement isn't needed yet.
In the long term I want to buy a new bicycle. Then I would go for hydronic disc brakes.