What are your favourite cycling apps or websites?

in Cycling10 months ago

20230727_184056_0000.png

To improve the interactions between the cyclists on Hive I want to try something new; a discussion topic.
Last week the question was: What is your best cycling gadget?

There were quite a lot of comments on this topic. Thank you all for engaging.
I decided to do another one....

Are you joining again: @dejan.vuckovic @plints @edina76 @rynow @mrprofessor @qwerrie @strava2hive
(If you're joining the discussion again this week you won't be mentioned again in future blogs unless you explicitly want a mention. In that case just ask me for a mention).

If you want to suggest a question for a future edition yourself; feel free to share it it the comments!

Past questions:

Question of this week: What are your favourite cycling apps or websites?

I came up with this question by the posts of @mrprofessor and @run.vince.run that have made a reply post on my first question. They mentioned the apps Strava which is very well known to most cyclist and Motosumo (which I didn't know before).
https://peakd.com/hive-177745/@mrprofessor/cycling-what-is-your-best-cycling-gadget
https://peakd.com/hive-177745/@run.vince.run/9565938196-4982202059

And coincidentally I stumbled on a great new app today on X (formerly known as Twitter).
That made me think that there must be a lot of websites and apps that are very useful for cyclists.

So please share your favourite websites and apps with your fellow cyclists on Hive.
You can do this in the comments under this post or like @mrprofessor and @run.vince.run in a separate post. If you make a post about it, you can share the link to the post in the comments as well.

Cycling news

I also want to ask some attention for the weekly Cycling News.
This blog is created by @run.vince.run and highlights the cycling news of the past, current and coming week. It's a nice place to have a cycling discussion!

image.png

Help wanted

At the moment I'm running this community by myself. We're just over 150 subscribers, but the number is slowly growing.
With initiatives like this blog I'm trying to get more cyclists to join the community so we could have more interaction.
If you have ideas how to improve this community or if you would like to help improving this community. Feel free to contact me (@friendlymoose) on Discord via the Cycling Community Discord channel (https://discord.gg/9rJZUqabvH) or the PeakD chat funtion.


Cycling Community
image.png


Come join the Cycling Community and share your rides, bicycle, maintenance, news or any other cycling related blogs!

You can support the Cycling Community by delegating HP: 25 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP -250 HP - 500 HP

Sort:  

Hello People!

I have two bikes, MTB and road.

For the MTB one, called Penelope, I use CATEYE Padrone which I can't pair with any app. That's why I use my Amazfit GTS 2 mini watch, which is an old model but it records my ride very well and I download the data with the Zepp app. Both work very well, and are linked to my Strava account, which allows me to have all the information centralized in a single device.

The only thing is to be careful to delete the data in my watch because otherwise, either it does not record the route or it simply stops synchronizing my activities with Strava.

For the Road bike, called Valentina, with her I use CYCPLUS which works quite well when recording the activities, and is downloaded through the XOSS app. Sometimes it gives me a problem to link all the devices, CYCPLUS and the pulse meter, and to be able to download the route correctly, it has its trick, but the data is quite complete.

It is also linked to my Strava account to transfer all the information.

Both are quite reliable.

Cool names for your bikes!
Annoying that some gadgets don’t have proper options to synch the data. Luckily you have found a way around that.

Cool names for your bikes!

Thank you 😊

Yes, by the moment it works for me. Rgds,

Currently, I do use Strava, but I have the free version. It records the rides nicely, I like it where they show the different sections of the ride and the various speeds over the sections as well as the elevation. I have not tried any other apps, as I am very new to Mountain Biking.

Cool. I hope some other cyclists will share theirs.
I do have a couple which I will share later this week.

Another great idea. I've talked about Strava, but will write about something else that's super useful. Btw I'll have plenty of time, since the bike is btoken again hahaha

Oh, no.... What is broken?

rear mech hanger is gonne =/
it's becoming nearly impossible to be competitive with one bike, but we won't give up!!! xDD

Ouch! sorry about that ☹️

Hmm I haven't heard of Strava (I will check it out)!
Usually I mix a few together, just Google maps for the satelite view and then komoot is a cycling app I use...

You haven't heard of Strava as a cyclist 😲
I didn't know that is possible 😃

Komoot is very useful indeed. I mostly use it to create my routes and load them into my Garmin navigation. I especially like that Komoot informs you about the underground you're riding on.

...looks like it is😅

In the end I find there is always one particular thing that is best in each, other app, or missing in the previous, in a way it would be nice to combine them all...

There is no holy grail....