A Word about Helmets!

in Cyclinglast month

Hello there Friends, Happy Thursday evening and thank you for your visit!

This is my fourth post in the #cyclingcommunity and I have a interesting post for today concerning "Cycling Helmets".
Now I want to start with "I am not or better put, was not a bicycle helmet wearer".
Even though I "did" have a "horrific" crash in 2020 where I launched through the air at 21mph/33.7 and landed on my face! I thought I would be wearing a mask for the rest of my life - but... Healed perfectly and still "no helmet". That should make anyone think, right?
Relatives and friends tried to urge me to get one - I did too small, still in the box.
But...
This thing "did" make me a "helmet wearer"...
I ride the neighborhood here "a lot", and daily...
You know, when a Dad is there with his children explaining why they should wear a helmet, I don't want to be the guy the point to riding by and saying "but he doesn't have one on".

Actually, since I may have seen exactly this, I decided to straighten up (at 66) and fly right - so to speak.
So I got this one, it's a "R.NOX" and I like it. The airflow is much better than with a baseball hat!
The side,

Back,

And 3/4ths back

And front,

I said I was "passionate" about bikes, and I am, Whatever makes the Sport/Hobby Safer - right?
He he he! I got some of my neighbors riding!
Thank you again for your visit and,
"Wishing You A Very Blessed Mid-Week"!
Remember "The Father" in ALL THINGS!
He "Remembers You"!
👍🏼😊😇😁😇😊👍🏼

Sort:  

Good to see you're an example for other cyclists now. A helmet is a good investment. Your brain is irreplaceable...

When growing up in the Netherlands cycling is something you learn at a young age. Everyone is cycling here. Despite the cycling culture (or maybe because of it) not a lot of people wear helmets.
Cyclists are very common in traffic and infrastructure is designed to keep cyclists safe.
So I never wear a helmet on my regular bicycle. And many others with me.

But there is a change going on. With the rise of the faster e-bikes more and more people start to wear helmets. This is also encouraged by the high death rate since the introduction of e-bikes.

I bought a helmet too when I bought my first road bicycle because I also reach higher speeds with that.


This post was upvoted by the Cycling Community
cycling.PNG
Subscribe to the Cycling Community and share your cycling related posts with us.
Join our Discord Channel if you want to chat about cycling.


You can support the Cycling Community by delegating HP
| 25 HP | 50 HP | 100 HP | 250 HP | 500 HP |

Gotta preserve what's inside our heads. I also flew through the air.. if it weren't for the helmet I'd have been in a bad shape now

It is a very good buy, I must invest in a helmet very soon, most of my adventures I have done without a helmet, and I know how dangerous that is, I will try to save with hive to have a helmet at my disposal, good post!

It is always good to invest in a good helmet, safety comes first.