My Unforgettable Cycling Accident Experience

in Cycling21 days ago

Hello Cyclist Community, Today I had a conversation with some of my friends that we haven’t seen for long and they brought back my memories about my first Cycling accident.

source

I was just 17 when this incidence happened. Although the injury sustained wasn’t permanent. I enjoyed cycling everyday.

It all started the day my friends and I also played a bet on who drives faster. At first they wanted to play who was skillful the most with me but I wasn’t a skillful cyclists, I just enjoyed riding my Bike daily.

On this day of the challenge, we were four that engaged because there was only four bikes available for us to rent, since we were not at home. We all picked our bike in reference to our best colors. I thought
Of this as an opportunity for me to spend time with my school girlfriend then, Veronica, All my thought on winning the Money was to spend on Veronica.

I chose color black bike which is my best color, little did I know that the bike I chose, the brake pedal was already weak.

David and I checked the Bike for some times and when we saw the bike was Ok after checking the wheels, brake, tires, front gear and others also

A line was drawn, all this took place at my secondary school field, during Lesson hours before school resumption. I had it in my thoughts that I preferred to use my bike than use another, I wasn’t certain of the bike but the bike looked good.

Now we the Four were all ready to move our bicycle, since it’s not an standard race, we were not given time to arrange and adjust. Immediately I heard go and everyone was moving including me, gradually I started to increase my pace, my legs were moving faster in opposite directions. I won the second because the first had an excellent use of his wheels which made him very fast.

After I crossed our end spot, I was on a very high motion, I pressed the brake, it was still moving, I pressed it again when I stood on my bike in motion to check I saw that the brake pad had loose, then I knew I had to look for a spot to to balance myself.

I Then spot a pile of sand ahead I thought of this as an opportunity to land there, but while I was going, where was a Bike Man speeding already. Unfortunately for me at that moment I was concentrated on landing in the sand.

The Bike and my bicycle hit eachother I had to jump, which I landed on my left side of my body, Thank God my hand didn’t shifted when I fell to the group, although there was bruises and the pain was intense at that moment, but I was able to scape through, my friends ran over and asked why I was speeding like that, I told them it was a brake failure. I stood up and got my bruises treated.

After I Got home my mom and Dad were so angry with me but they were happy nothing bad happened.

I will encourage everyone to always

  • Check the brakes very well

  • wear Safety helmet and show

  • Be alart of anything when you are riding

  • Avoid betting

  • Try to get a personal Bike, which is more preferable and safe than renting bikes.

Thank You for Reading My Post

Your Sincerely

Mikechrist

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I could remember my first day of cycling, I fell down like a learner that I was and had some bruises 😂
I am glad glad you didn't sustain any serious injury

Faulty brakes are scary. You need to check up on them regularly indeed.
Luckily you didn't sustain a serious injury from the crash.


This post was upvoted by the Cycling Community
cycling.PNG
Subscribe to the Cycling Community and share your cycling related posts with us.
Join our Discord Channel if you want to chat about cycling.


You can support the Cycling Community by delegating HP
| 25 HP | 50 HP | 100 HP | 250 HP | 500 HP |

I checked, but it was already weak, my aim was since it’s just a single ride it won’t spoil like that, let me just give it a try that’s how I went down, Thank you, Cyclist Community 😊

Wow, cycling is fun but when it comes to having injuries worse of all having an accident, it could be so disheartening. But I'm good thing you're alive today and your injuries weren't permanent.

Betting to cycle? I don't even see myself trying to such a thing.

Hello, cuidado.... Buenas recomendaciones...
Yo creo que querías impresionar a la chica.. Jjeeee