You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Monstercross Build pt. 3: Brake, brake, brake!!

in Cyclinglast month

A squeaky pair of disk brakes nearly drove me mad on my mountain bike. I tried everything to clean as they did not look that worn but in the end a cheap simple new replace did the job.
!LOL
!ALIVE

Sort:  

Squeaking brakes are terrible. I often have squeaky disk brakes when cycling in wet conditions. I startled many of the other cyclists with this 😂
I have a disk brake cleaner, but that doesn't work when the grease has gotten into the brake pads. Replacing is the only option then.

It works as a horn xDDD

I use 180mm discs on the front (mtb) and they also squeak in wet conditions
You can lightly sand the pads when they get oily. Find a super flat surface and try it out.

That's a good tip, thanks!

Damn! You mean squeaky like a bus horn when you brake or that other squeak when it's lightly rubbing against the pads? I hate the second, when it makes that 'tic tic tic tic' kinda of sound.

@mrprofessor! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ new.things. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.