How the socioeconomic status of a person can affect His cycling lifestyle

in Cycling25 days ago

How the socioeconomic status of a person can affect His cycling lifestyle

©

I was sitting alone in a shop close to my house and I saw lots of people passing by, some were walking majestically while others were moving faster. In the process, I observed one important thing that caught my attention. Those who were walking faster were either going to work or an important event and were in a rush to meet up with time.

The truth is that not everyone would be able to afford the least means of transportation which is the bicycle. I see bicycles as the least and cheapest means of transportation because of the cost of it when compared to motorcycles and motorcars. As cheap as bicycles might seem to be, everyone will not be able to afford them. Not that a lot of people would not love to own them, but their economic power is not favorable enough for them.

Moreover, not everyone can afford to pay for public transportation, especially if the distance is a bit close. As a result of this they resort to trekking to save money for other purposes. I have seen people who trekked for a long distance and are worn out completely. It's not always a good experience to do so. This set of people would have loved to ride in their bicycles if they had.

Most people are unable to fix their faulty bicycles because of financial constraints. A friend of mine reached out to me yesterday to help him with money to pay his way to work. I asked him about his bicycle and he said that it was faulty and he needed about $20 to fix it. As a result of his financial constraint, he could not fix it hence it became a problem for him and his work.

©

Hence, the level of people's income has a way of affecting their lifestyles, especially in the area of choice. The higher people's income and earnings, the higher the chance of living a healthy lifestyle, and cycling may be part of it. A poor man has no business purchasing a new bicycle and a broke person may not be able to fix his bicycle and use it for his business.

In my case, it's been over two months since I cycled because of my inability to fix my broken bicycle. Every weekend I usually attend our cycling rally where we cycle in groups around the city. I had no choice but to stay back pending when I could afford to fix it.

Finally, maintaining a healthy cycling lifestyle requires money and one must be able to work hard and earn a good amount of money.

Sort:  


This post was upvoted by the Cycling Community
cycling.PNG
Subscribe to the Cycling Community and share your cycling related posts with us.
Join our Discord Channel if you want to chat about cycling.


You can support the Cycling Community by delegating HP
| 25 HP | 50 HP | 100 HP | 250 HP | 500 HP |