A HAPPY TALE

in DCooperation3 years ago

Writing is slowly becoming a part of me and this makes me happy [BUT NOT AS HAPPY AS MUSIC MAKES ME FEEL]. You would agree with me that what makes you happy might actually irritate another person [ONE MAN'S FOOD IS ANOTHER MAN'S POISON]. For instance, listening to loud music brings me so much happiness and joy to my soul. But then, my dad sees playing loud music as an act of smokers and crack addicts.

This got me curious. What actually makes people happy - what makes a beggar in the streets happy - What makes a billionaire happy.

Well well, it is not a storyteller's post without a story😊


A HAPPY TALE


The People of KONJO was known for their abject poverty. It was almost as if they were cursed. The family of Ikenta was one of the unlucky families that originated from Konjo.

Their daughter Nkechi was a brilliant and hardworking girl. She never let the situation of her family bother her. She always does her chores with happiness,while singing or humming to a song. She had great love and passion for music.

One day, when she came back from the stream and her father called her.

"Nkechi my daughter, I think it's time for you to go to the city and live a better life."

"Papa I can't do that, who will take Care of you and mama when I'm gone?"

"We can take Care of ourself. If you remain in the village you will end up like me."

"Papa there's nothing wrong with ending up like you. I'm very Comfortable living this way for the rest of my life."

"Don't Say That. One day you will have to get married and raise your own children."

"But I don't know anybody in the city."

"There's an old friend of mine who lives in the city, he owes me a big favor from the past."

"Are you sure Chief Ezego still remembers that he owes you a favor?"

My mother chipped in

"I have already written to him about your journey."


The Town was so strange to Nkechi. She has never seen such beauty in her life. In chief ezego's house everything was so beautiful and she saw devices that she never knew existed.

She has never seen a box that has people walking inside it. She has never seen a device that magically makes things cold just by putting it in and remove it after few minutes.


Life in the city was beautiful and fun. She didn't have to go to the farm, or go and fetch water, or fetch firewood. Mr ezego was very kind and generous to her. He was so wealth therefore buying expensive gifts for Nkechi wasn't a problem. Wrist watches, lap top, clothes and so many other things. But Nkechi rejected them, to her they were extravagant and unnecessary. The only gift she accepted was a phone, because she could use it play music while doing her chores.


Despite rejecting the gifts, she was quite surprised that he kept bringing for her. This got her curious and she had a feeling he had an ulterior motive. His wife was never aware of these gifts.


One day, he came into her room bearing gifts.

"Good afternoon Sir"

"Yes dear, I bought some clothes for you."

"But sir I have enough clothes already, there's no occasion to wear all these pretty clothes."

"You don't need an occasion to wear them, you can wear them at home. Why don't you try them on."

"Right now? Right here?"

"Yes dear don't be Shy"

He started making advances towards me.

"Sir please stop"

"Relax, there's no big deal in this."

He said as his hand made it's way to my breast. We were the only one at home. Even I scream, nobody can save me.


Screenshot_20211103-073418.png
¡Source

He tried to force himself on me. Then I showed him that I was raised in the village and I ate fu-fu (casava) everyday. I kicked him very hard in the balls and I ran out of the house. I didn't know where else to go. I roamed round the street and when evening came I went back to the house.


From that day onwards, life in Mr Ezego's house was a living hell. He probably told his wife that I was the one that made advances towards him.

Despite having a strange source of water that never runs dry, they still sent me to a distant place to fetch water and so many other strenuous chores.


No matter the Job given to her, it was nothing, compared to the chores she did back in the village. To them they were punishing her, but to her it was a chance to explore the city. With music blasting hard through her ear pod, she quickly did all the chores with happiness.

She was totally happy at heart, because she carried no grudge for anyone and she had no bad intentions. But then Mr ezego despite having so much money couldn't get him self to be happy and satisfied with his home. One day the wife approached me.

"What is your secret?"

"Secret to what ma?"

"Why is it that despite how we treat you, you have never shed a tear or felt bad?"

Nkechi simply smiled.

"The secret is True HAPPINESS."


PROMOTED POST


My promoted post for this contest is Knotilus Daily Pond by @theneohippy

My Favorite Part Of This Post

"Lots of big changes for most people lately, I hope you’re all doing well to navigate through it and maintain your own personal happiness! ❤️"



This is my entry for DCC TAG CONTEST by @clixmoney. Click HERE To join the fun.

Don't forget to join #DCooperation for much more

Sort:  

Congratulations @doziekash! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 40 posts.
Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!