A Visit To Nigeria

in DCooperation2 years ago

"Hello Kay! It's Ned on the line."

"Ned! longest time. How is USA treating you?"

"USA is pretty cool. I called to tell you that I'll be coming over to Nigeria to spend the Christmas and new year holiday."

"Wow that's great news buddy, it will be nice to have you here."

"Honestly I'm so glad. You have told me A lot about Nigeria. I can't wait to explore these wonderful places."


On the 23rd of December, Ned arrived Nigeria And lodged in a beautiful hotel. I met him up at the hotel and had a very long chat with him. He has been my friend for years, but it was the first time I was getting to meet him in person. After our chat, we agreed to start our tour the next day being Christmas.


Frst we went to Portharcourt to attend their Christmas carnival. Porthacourt and calabar are always known for their colorful carnivals. On our way to the carnival, I told him a brief history of Nigerian culture.

"Did you Know that Nigeria has about 527 languages, though seven of these languages have gone extinct."

"That is amazing. What actually makes A language go extinct?"

"Probably when parents stop teaching these languages to their children. Some parents prefer to train their children with English, rather than their native language."

"Yeah that is quite true."

"That's not all, Nigeria also has over 1000 dialects and ethnic groups. The three largest ethnic groups are the Hausas predominantly in the north, the Yorubas predominantly in the southwest, and the Igbos in the southeast."

"Oh my!, I believe with these many ethnic groups come different cultures."

"Honestly, If You Decide To Explore each and every Nigerian culture, it might take you the whole year, Because they are numerous."



¡Source

We finally arrived at the carnival. The carnival was so much fun with several colorful presentations and dance from different ethnic groups. Porthacourt on its own as a state has over 15 ethnic groups within the state.

After the carnival we were Exhausted from having so much fun. We decided to call it A day and continue our tour the next day.



The next day being boxing day holiday, we took a flight to Lekki Lagos. There we Visited the Nike art gallery. This is a place with several Native art work This is indeed the best place to learn about the Nigerian culture and art. On our way to the art gallery, I told him a brief history of the Nigerian art.

"Did you know that the origin of Nigerian art can be dated back to the 15th century. With the 19th century came the prominence of arts from the Nok, Benin, Igbo Ukwu, Owo, Esie and Ife artworks. Today, these artworks energise Nigerian creatives to produce works within obvious traditions and practices. The Nigerian contemporary art scene draws a lot of imagination and knowledge from tradition. Some of these artists draw their imaginations from Nigerian culture, some draw their imaginations from Native Masquerades."


There was totally no regrets visiting the art gallery, because there was a lot to explore and take in. Thanks to the workers at the gallery, they explained much more about the origin and history of Nigerian Art.

Another day well spent. The next days were even much fun. We spent the holiday visiting the best tourist attractions in Nigeria. We visited Obudu Mountain Resort located in cross-river state Known As Africans Finest mountain resort. Then we went to spend time with nature and see some animals at Yankari Game Reserve Bauchi State. Then I decided it would be cool to Take a walk down the longest canopy walkway in Africa at the Lekki Conservation Center Lagos state. Our tour wouldn't be complete without visiting the beautiful Erin-Ijesha Waterfalls. A collection of seven cascades that pour over a cliff, creating an impressive seven-part waterfall.


After a week of touring Nigeria, Ned said to me.

"Yo kay, with all these beautiful places in Nigeria, I feel like never leaving Nigeria."

"You are always welcome to visit anytime and I'll always be delighted to show you around. Besides this is just a tip of the ice berg, there is still so many places to explore in Nigeria."


PROMOTED POST


My Promoted Post For This Entry Would Be Goals For 2022 by @akubillionnaire


Favorite Quote


"I want to grow my finances, savings and investments and other ventures I've tried to learn. I want to beat the consistency target, that has been the stroke that breaks the camel's back for me."



This Is My Entry For #DCC #TagContest Supporting #hivenaija. A Contest by @clixmoney. Click HERE To Join The Contest.

Don't Forget To Join #Dcooperation For Much More.



     👻$toryTeller🐅
Sort:  

Even me that has been in Nigeria all my life have not enjoyed myself like this!😭

Even I had a swell time reading this, talk more of Ned who enjoyed it a week long.

Mehn, I have to learn to enjoy myself with the money I make, seriously. My colleague here at work said to me today, if you don't enjoy yourself with your money, someone else will borrow it from.you and not return.. I laughed. But it was true.

I'm motivated to enjoy the beauty of Nigeria before rushing out to some place to do same, by this piece.

Thank you for promoting my post, I'm particularly grateful that the tag got me to reading this beautiful post🥰

Daalu. E sé. Nagode.🙏