The Way Home

in DCooperation2 years ago

"This is the right way to go I'm sure of that."

Nick said running as fast as he could to meet up with the rest of the crew. I followed behind me breathing rapidly and falling
gasping for breath. We have been running for a couple of hours and we are yet to see any sign of life.

"This is all my fault."

I kept repeating to myself to the hearing of Nick. Who in turn tried to keep me calm.

"Jenny, no matter how much you blame yourself, it won't help us get out of this mess. We have to focus and find a way out of here."


That doesn't change the fact that the reason we are stuck in this island, separated from the rest of the crew is all my fault. We were all having fun the previous day, Nick and I alongside 30 other students. It was summer break, so we decided to take a little trip to the Brownie Island. Miles away from the city, It was rumoured that if you traveled deep into the island, you will meet some spiritual bodies. But on the outskirt of the island is a beach guest house surrounded by beautiful display of nature. That is where all the fun is, Nobody ever tried exploring the Island further.


It was a week of fun and partying with no parental restrictions. The plan was to leave the next morning being Monday. But then, there was going to be a curfew back in the city on Monday, therefore the crew decided to go back to the city on Sunday evening. Unfortunately for Nick and I, we were not aware that there have been a change in the time of departure, this was because we left the rest of the crew and decided to take a stroll into the island. When we came back to the beach house, we realized that everybody has left. That left us in shock, we quickly parked our bags and headed out trying to meet up with the rest of the crew.


¡Source


The thing about traveling in a group is that you fail to take note of the route. That is exactly what happened to us, we had no idea that we were going in the opposite direction, hence threading further into the island. It was getting really late, we concluded that we couldn't meet up with the crew that night, we needed to find a place to sleep then continue the journey home the next day. Luck smiled on us as we came across an old looking cave. We decided to spend the night in a cave.

"Doesn't this creep you out, spending the night in this strange cave?"

I asked Nick as we sat at a corner in the cave holding each other.

"It does, but it is much better than spending the night out in the woods."

"Nick I don't think we passed this cave on our way to the of island."

We were still contemplating on this when a harsh wind accompanied with circling dust came towards us from the entrance of the cave, we both got up quickly and ran deeper into the cave. Everywhere was completely dark, then we heard a strange voice from a face behind a lit candle.

"Hello there, are you lost?" The voice asked.

"Yes we are," Nick replied. "Please can you show us the way out of the island."

"Sure, come with me."

I didn't feel so good about this, but Nick wasn't changing his mind about following the strange voice. We walked for some minutes and arrived at an exit from the cave, which led to a hut.

"Sleep in my humble abode for the night, first thing in the morning I'll show you the way home."

That seemed like a good idea at the time, because we had no idea what was lurking in the woods. We were welcomed and before we slept, we were served tea and some freshly baked bread, which was made to rise to an outrageous size with a strange YEAST.

"This tastes really good."

That was the last thing I remember saying before my eyes closed involuntarily.



This is a #Freewrite using prompts from @mariannewest. Prompt word #Yeast. Click HERE For More #Freewriteprompt.


PROMOTED POST


My Promoted Post For This #Dcc contest entry would be day 1600 Freewrite prompt by @itsostylish


Favorite Part


My mom and I went out to do our DreemPort exercise pledge for the day and it was sublime. We walked around and admired the well kept lawns. The place is immaculate. They have a casual restaurant and bar area and although I understand that we weren’t supposed to be out to sit down and drink a glass of red and order pizza. But we did, and it was like a breath of fresh air in the dark of the pandemic. Earlier this week we went to the first coffee shop we’ve been to since Covid hit and today we went to our first restaurant. YaY!

Honestly I love this part because it reminded that I was yet to carry out my dreemport task for the day.


This is a #Dcc Tag Contest. Click HERE To Join The Fun.

Sort:  

This is a nice free writing.
I eed to give it to you, you captured my attention.

This reminds me of when as a group we got lost in the jungle.

Although we did make it out alive and in one piece.

Now I want to know what happened hehe, popped in via #dreemport

Hahaha. I'm glad you all made it out alive. The continuation would be out soon.

Me too 🤣🤣🤣

Am looking forward to your continuation!