Dcc Tag contest: Curation is essential, growth is attached to it.

in DCooperation2 years ago (edited)

photo-1625297671662-f073f2a91528.jpeg
Source

I use to believe the word "curation" is specially used or is a task that can be done only by some set of people on the platform but I got to understand after some time that there are no restrictions to it and why it is important on a platform like Hive.

The simplest way I can explain "curation" is the task of thoroughly checking through content to confirm its originality. The importance of curation is to discover great writers and their quality content which has nothing to do with the level of the writer on the platform. It can be discouraging as a writer to give your best in content always and not get support from other members despite keeping a high level of engagement, the impact of curation breaches the gap between quality content and rewards.

I mentioned earlier that anyone can be a curator as long as you are ready to take your time to look into critically but something differentiate the impact of curation which is the reward, the reward of curators are different due to difference in voting power. The first time I got curated by someone, I was so happy because I saw the impact on my earnings immediately. That's how everyone feels when their hard work is appreciated and the good thing is that being rewarded for writing quality content by a curator inspires the author to make more quality post.

20201218_163509_0000.png

HOW DO YOU PERSONALLY CURATE?

Curating requires engagement, you must be willing to dedicate time to it. I make less impact on a curated post because of my voting power, I can still consider myself a newbie and with time, I believe will be able to make a huge impact. I do not curate on a busy day because I don’t want distraction, it requires time and attention. Over the weekend, I made up my mind to start re-blogging others content that I have curated.

Who knows if someone who is following me sees it and makes an impact on the reward. Curating for me involves checking the originality of the post to be sure it wasn’t lifted from somewhere, possible errors even though I make them, I check the image if it belongs to the writer and the source if it was picked from a free to use website. I try to correct the author if he or she is willing to work with me.

20201218_163509_0000.png

HOW THE CURATION SHOULD BE DONE BY THE COMMUNITY?

Like I said earlier, curation requires time and dedication. Not everyone will be free to do it always and it would be great to have people dedicated to the task, I have seen lots of curators on the platform doing a great job.

I don’t know what they get in return but they have been able to discover lots of amazing writers and the platform.

20201218_163509_0000.png

WHAT'S THE IMPORTANCE OF CURATION

The importance of curation can’t be underestimated; it helps in discovering awesome writers with quality content and encouraging them with rewards would inspire not just them but everyone to always give their best when creating content. I love @bdvoter.cur pointing out the reason for curation in this Article, I believe every good work deserves to be appreciated.

"BDVoter was started about concerning BD users who did not get support even after writing well".- @bdvoter.cur

Curation is a point of connecting with writers; a lot of things can come up if the author has lapses and is ready to grow. Imagine everyone improving their writing skills after taking corrections from curators, there will be lots of quality content to engage with.

20201218_163509_0000.png

WHAT WILL I DO IF I WAS A WHALE?

This is one of my biggest dreams on the platform because I can make a great impact as a whale on the platform, I mentioned from the beginning that content quality has nothing to do with what level you are on the platform. I have come across awesome several that didn’t get the proper reward, as a whale I will be able to inspire these writers to do more quality content on the platform.

20201218_163509_0000.png

TIPS TO FIND THE BEST CONTENT TO CURATE

There are lots of quality content creators on the platform and you have to engage with them to discover them, engagement brings about discovery. When engaging, you shouldn’t practice any form of discrimination else you do be missing out on a lot of quality content. There are lots of quality content creators on the platform and you have to engage with them to discover them, engagement brings about discovery. When engaging, you shouldn’t practice any form of discrimination else you do be missing out on a lot of quality content.

20201218_163509_0000.png


MY BEST CONTENT CREATORS

I have a long list of them, I find their content educative. They inspire me to want to give more always, they are @dreemsteem , @jane1289 @princessbusayo @bruno-kema @olawalium , and many others.

20201218_163509_0000.png

We all have different ideas and opinion about curation, let everyone learn from what you have to say as well but first, read this Article

Sort:  

Congratulations @george-dee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 3250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Can you add the post you liked in #curation to your post. Please check how others are doing it. I don't see you quoting anything in the post.

You did everything right, except sharing a post you liked from #curation. Quoting the part you like from it and mentioning the author.

That the main goal of DCC. It's to promote the content of others. I hope you got the idea now.

Thank you for including me 🥰.. Nigerian friends here are the best for me.. Even on another platform 😁

Thank you so much, brother. I am always happy to connect with you. You are impressionable and wonderful.