Curation.

in DCooperation2 years ago

Good day my great hive family. There are three major role of a member of hive block chain. These are creating contents, reading contents and curation. They are not in any particular order.

photo-1581464647110-26e129ce2d02.jpeg
Source


Curation


Curation is the process whereby one reads a contents, scrutinize it and reward the creator. The scrutiny includes checking for plagiarism, copyright infringement and the originality of the content generally. Curation helps to grow on hive tremendously.

I joined hive less than a month ago and I must say that curation was instrumental to helping me finding my feet. I got 15 dedicated HP before I made my introductory post and the curation support I got was really helpful. Within my first seven days, my resource credit limited my participation on engagements. However after the day the payout of my introductory post was done, I was able to get resource credit that keeps me active on hive for as long as I can. This is a great benefit of curation. Curation makes hive a community of symbiosis relationship.

How do I curate?


Whenever I read through a content that appeal to my interest, I try as much as possible to upvote the post or even comment. My voting power is very small but I feel fulfilled voting for any content that I love. If any picture sourced elsewhere is used, I will click on the source to check for the originality to my best ability. In fact, I go as long as visiting the blog of the person that created the content so that I could read some of his other works and possibly upvote them. That's to show how I appreciate a quality content.

How the curation should be done by the community.


The community should try as much as possible to check for the originality and quality of a content. When such post or content passes the integrity test, it should be upvoted to appreciate the writer.

In this post for example, @brotherhood gave the hint on how to get support, a daily curation, from Brotherhood Community where he stated as follows:

As we mentioned, we will be picking up undervalued posts which are posted on our Discord community and include your blog under Postpromotion channel there.
Our team of curation will check all the blogs and pick 5 most eligible ones to support and say Thank you for being part of our community, please read our Introduction post you can find some info about brotherhood community.

In some cases, a content may not really be inline with what is expected but once it is certified original, it should be upvoted. Example is in the case of a contest where an entry is in variance with the question or prompt. The value magnitude of the vote may vary: this is at the discretion of the curator.
A community is a group of people that comes together to be of mutual benefits. Therefore, every member should contribute by making other members grow by curating their quality contents.


If I were a whale


If I were a whale, I would be supportive to content creators. For as much as my voting manner could sustain, I would be very intentional in curating contents. The amazing part of upvoting is that I got 50% of my votes value. The benefit is mutual. To be a whale comes with a lot of experience. These experiences can't be bought. It can only be used to help oneself and others going forward. I would try as much as possible to engage upcoming members to point out their possible mistakes and helping them grow in the block chain.

Importance of curation


The importance of curation can't be overemphasized. As a writer, a reward system makes it easier for you to know if you are doing well or not. The more people show their love for your contents, the clearer your level of competency is revealed to you. Curation helps keep a standard for a community. It connects different people also which mostly result to a fruitful engagement. It also helps in keeping junk contents out of hive block chain. There are clear rules guiding content creation and curation helps to implement these rules efficiently.

Tips to find the best content to curate


Finding the best content to curate is tasking but it's doable. Whenever you come across any content, the first thing that should come to mind is the originality of the content. Does it pass plagiarism test?

photo-1638341049982-d033aed393c2.jpeg
Source

Does it pass copyright infringement test? How excellent is the creator in terms of conciseness? Contents creators also should always remember to use the proper tag so that the curator faces less stress in finding relevant contents.


The best content creators that I like.


My less than a month on hive has been so wonderful. The list of content creators that I like is long. Once I can notice originality in a content, I fall in love. One you are good at what you do irrespective of your area of content creation, I comment on your post and vote it.

Wonderful contents creators are on hive and I believe that my less than a month stay is just an introduction. As we proceed, I will be able to mention some great content creators that appeal to my interest.

Sort:  

It's nice to see that you are getting a hang of hive and the very fine details when it comes to curating content.

Keep up the good work @lightpen

Thank you so much. The learning process continues.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more