Progress, Finally!

in Daily Blog24 days ago

Greetings, Hivers!

As I went back on my hometown to attend at my daughters graduation in Kindergarten, I couldn't help but be overjoyed and reminisce the old times at the same time upon seeing some progress on my local place.

blog.png
Image edited in canva.

While walking in the usual path we're taking going back and forth, I was occupied with the changes that I'm seeing around the area. The roads have been flattened and widened. Back then, we used to walk these roads jumping from edge to edge because it was a long rough bumpy uneven roads and there were damps. It was a struggle everytime, aside from it is not accessible to small vehicles, it is also very muddy when it rains heavily.

If you're following my blogs since last year, maybe you have stumbled on some of my posts where I have shared about my hometown, including when I went home for the holidays recently here in my blog, "Back To My Hometown". You can see how bad the roads there and its difference compared to now.

441951476_374532058389373_2250612800198459831_n.jpg

I captured this image when I was going back to the Barangay Proper, and was surprised to first ever seeing this.

Last night, it rained heavily, too. However, the roads here right now is still somehow intact and not muddy at all since they have poured sand to even the roads. I haven't even seen any damps and I can walk here with my shoes on. Back then, even with the lighter showers, you'll be needing to wear slippers or walk barefoot going to your destination.

441138809_925502042660584_142894987149120791_n.jpg

Another good news, the progress right now is halfway done going to my home. The work is extensive and the labor would be hard, but at least, for decades, there has been finally progress in this forgotten place. I remember that we used to walk in these roads ever since I started Kindergarten until Grade 8 in high school. The boring and a bit scary walks could only be fun together with friends and family. We would be picking guavas that we could see on the road sides and would chew sugarcane tubes when it was the harvest season.

441958650_1554496618430003_7446706310444036719_n.jpg

I was even more delighted upon seeing series of solar panel operated lamp posts. This project is a great help to the community, especially for students who sometimes walks home late at night due to school activities. Even though we know all the people residing in the place and we have trust with each other, inevitably, there still some instances that it prompts us to worry for our loved ones walking in sugarcane plantations and alone in the dark. Thus, these lamp posts are surely very helpful for us.


Those were the changes that I have currently observed which I couldn't help to compare then and now, also reminisce a bit about the past. Our place has still the status of a municipality after decades have passed. The improvements were slow and opportunities are limited; that's why most of the people here go to the cities to look for opportunities which our place couldn't offer. It's a sad reality if you think about it. The fate of the place lies only in the hands of politicians which the citizens' opinions can't be heard if they choose to pretend as deaf and turn a blind eye.

Right now, whoever proposed and approved this project would have a place in the heart of the citizens, as it is our desire for the longest time. Maybe progress is slow in the rural area, but at least we're getting there and the dreams were haven't been forgotten yet.

You've reached the end of my blog. Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Lahat ng lupa sa pic, hacienda yan ni Ayane.

soon after 100 years HAHAHAHA

May mais na ba?

Wala pa, pangatlong ulan pa lang kasi.

Congratulations @ayane-chan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 14000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2024