A Frozen Shoulder

in Daily Blog2 years ago

Did you know that waking up one morning and being unable to move your arm is a thing? Well, it is. I have learned about this terrible phenomenon firsthand as this is exactly what happened to me.

The official diagnosis is "adhesive capsulitis". Sounds ominous, doesn't it? The Dr tells me that it is something that happens to 'older ladies'. That is true. Frozen shoulder is something that plagues women more than men. For some reason, however, all the pictures on the internet showcase the woes of men.

frozenshoulder.jpg

Wow. Besides the casual sexism from the internet, the 'older ladies' comment was like icing on the cake of my disappointments and broken dreams. Have I grown so old and decrepit that I can just wake up one day and no longer have working limbs?

I take heart in my observation that my physician does not seem to be any older than 12 or 13 years old. I just SEEM like an old lady to him.

Oh I forgot the best part. A frozen shoulder can take 1 to 3 years to heal. That's right. I may not be able to move my arm for 3 YEARS!! I wonder if the healing time is so long because medical scientists are putting all their energy into researching treatments for men rather than women??

Hmm? I mean seriously, that poor guy in the picture. How unlucky of him to suffer a problem most common in older ladies.

The good news is that, although I cannot lift my arm up or put on my own clothes even, I am still able to hoe my garden. Isn't that lucky? I can move my arm side to side, but not up and down. It's these small blessings that can get us through the difficulties of life.

1.jpg

It is snowing today, anyway. I can still plant seeds with my other arm. Maybe I will heal in time. Perhaps I can invent a garden clog with shovel toes? If I say please, will the gnomes work extra hard?

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

A mio figlio per la seconda volta è uscita la spalla di fuori... Ha già fatto un intervento e ora ne dovrà fare un' altro...
Ti auguro una buona serata
@luba555

Sad news! I hope he recovers soon. Shoulder pain is not fun.

 2 years ago  

I'm sorry to hear that, I hope your arm recovers in less time than that so you can get back to normal 😕.

Thanks! I hope so, too.

Do you have comfrey available up there? I know the Russian comfrey resists your kind of temperature, and doesn't spread much.

Comfrey is a healing accelerator, that used to be called knit bone. It penetrates about a foot deep, and contains a compound called Allentoin that draws in haluronic acid. This acid is what the body uses like mortar to put cells back together. It also increases cell division, which provides the bricks the body needs to do the repairs. 🧱🧱🧱🙏

The healing is about ten times normal speed, and will remove a deep bruise overnight!

I couldn't move my right shoulder in the last week, from sleeping on a partially torn rotator cuff. The comfrey had it working, with pain; in about 30 minutes!

Putting a wet pad covered with plastic on at night (called a fomentation) to keep it wet, speeds the healing even more.🩹🩹🩹

If you can't find it, let me know, and I'll try to send you some. It may save me from shoulder surgery by healing the partial tear!🤕🙏👍

Be blessed, my friend.

💙🤠💗👍🤕

Nothing is growing yet, so I am not sure if it grows on my land. Wild comfrey is native in Saskatchewan, however. Apparently it prefers moist Aspen woods, so possibly there is some growing down by the lake--or will be growing down by the lake in another month.

I will see if I can obtain some seeds. :-D

I used to be very into herbs and I should get back into it.

Get some Russian comfrey roots, they are not as big of a spreading problem. Wild Is best, because it's organic for certain! 🌿💸🌿💸

Herbal knowledge📑📑📑, combined with a pharmacy garden; may be life or death when the SHTF happens! ⌛🔌👎

Are you on blurt?

Be blessed!👍🤠💗🙏😁💙

I am not on blurt, but I am on Mastodon.

Blurt is more like steemit was at the start. Kind of fun!💸💸💸

😆💗🤠💙🙏👍😁