FOODlog #1203: Steamed Rice Paper Prawn Roll

in Daily Blog13 days ago

I recently saw a 'Chee Cheong Fun' recipe hack that uses rice paper as the skin to make these prawn rolls. The traditional way of making this dish uses freshly made rice flour skins as the wrap so this was an intriguing way to fast forward the process.

So I tried it and it really works! Not exactly the same but similar enough and turned out real good.

First off I prepped and marinated the prawns. After they are devained and their shells removed, I then marinated the prawns with chicken powder, white pepper, and Kulim Oil which is a locally produced oil from a nut called 'Kulim'. The oil has aromatic notes of truffle, garlic, mushrooms, and cacao.

I then proceeded to wrap them in the Vietnamese rice paper wraps that I soaked a couple of seconds in water to make them pliable.

I added some freshly chopped spring onions to each roll. I then prepared the trays they were gonna steam in with oil so that they don't stick then into the steamer they went for 10 minutes.

For the sauce, I made a simple mixture of soy sauce, oyster sauce, sugar, water, and more of the fragrant Kulim Oil.

After the prawn rolls come out of the steamer, I poured the sauce mixture on them, sprinkled some fried garlic on top and the dish is done.

The prawns were perfectly cooked with the chewy rice paper rolls. The sauce was a little too salty but overall a great result for a first attempt at this.

Will definitely make this again in the future and I encourage you to try it out too 👍

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

Images were hidden due to low ratings.