I Made My First Yummy Spaghetti!

in Daily Blog2 months ago

So, as a newbie on Hive, I have been going through different communities to know which one is best for my personality. I found the Daily blog community and I just knew that this is my space! Yes! I love to share my experiences with the world and I hope the world loves to hear them 🙂.

Enough of the introduction 😅 I made spaghetti for the first time today! And guys, it was yummy, or not so yummy! 😂

You might be wondering why this is so exciting. Well, I was dared by my partner! We do this thing where I do all the cleaning and she does all the cooking every time she comes around and then I go back to buying food when she leaves.

She came very early today and switched it up on me, lol, maybe it was a good thing. I thought I was going to eat another of her yummy meals today, only to by played😅. I didn’t give up at first. In a bid to guilt trip her into cooking for us, I started acting cold and sad. This girl played me again😅. She said, “If only you could make something manageable, you’d not have been at my mercy” as she laughed into the kitchen.

I followed her and bluffed to have amazing cooking skills. She dared me and promised to buy me parfait if I don’t ruin it. I had started with bluffing, I could as well make it true! I took on the challenge and left for the mall.

While in the car, I watched a series of spaghetti recipes and how to garnish it with some side meals, thanks to Hilda Bassey and YouTube!

I got to the mall and bought everything in the ingredients list as seen on YouTube videos. I got bell pepper, scotch bonnet peppers, tomatoes, onions, vegetable oil, tomato paste, thyme, curry powder, bouillon cubes, salt, black pepper, bay leaves, spaghetti pasta of course, sweet corn and even baked beans, yes! I went extra😂. I bough other kitchen necessities too since I’m about to be the best chef 👩‍🍳 ever!

When I got home, she had already cleaned the kitchen and prepared the pot for me, anticipating my failure 😂, she didn’t know I had undergone a master class on my way to the mall. When I got to the kitchen, I refused her help and went on to prep everything as seen in the video.

I blended the tomatoes, onions and peppers together and then fried it together with the tomato paste in the vegetable oil till it tasted good. I then added the spices and salt to taste and finally poured in my pre-boiled spaghetti pasta. When it was soft, I added the sweet corn and served with baked beans.

Guys, I am so proud of myself! Even though it had a little too much salt, I gave myself grace as it was only my first try.

Back to my partner 😅, she commended me but said she was going to fulfill just one promise since the meal had a little too much salt. I chose the parfait as I’ve been craving that for so long 😀. She ordered it from an online vendor and we had it together!

Cooking isn’t that hard after all! I’ll do more of this!

Sort:  

So how does it actually taste? Is it... a bit more of an Italian, or more Filipino-like (as in that being sweet)? Nonetheless, congrats!! Of course cooking can be fun (unless it's the oil splatters)