Go Touch Some Grass #05: Cut Too Short

in Daily Blog27 days ago
Hey, you. Yes, you.

There is no grass. But would touching my own hair count? Oops, spoiler.

Don't mind me posting every now and then— I just have a lot of significant events that happened, and I just feel like sharing. That's all. Regardless, this will be a short update that happened just around a day. With that said, I better not keep y'all waiting. (Update: I ended up doing this almost a week later lmao)

GO TOUCH SOME GRASS MINI DIVIDER.png

MAIN MENU:

-> CONTEXT: (Not) A Rapunzel-length Hair
That Salon Experience
Personal Rating
Go Touch Some Grass Too!

GO TOUCH SOME GRASS MINI DIVIDER.png

CONTEXT: (Not) A Rapunzel-length Hair

I actually do have long hair. Like, really long hair. I like my hair being long because it makes me feel a lot like... me. Get me? I think that's all what people think about with their hairs, hence people feel insecure with bad haircuts, or worse, no hair.

And ever since 2020, for a change, I've started cutting my hair only once a year just to see how far would my hair grow for once. And if I have to be exact, I have it cut every first day of the year by my own dad. I dunno what that signifies for me, but I just like experiencing a long hair for a time, so much that I've gotten used to it, as well as the free haircut from my dad (saves money too, btw). Letting it grow for a year gives me a butt-length hair, which actually is long if you'd ask me.

This is how my hair is, after a year of not cutting them.

And so going back to now, I actually didn't cut my hair on the exact day I want it done. Originally, I would be waiting for another year to pass, but my family already said NO. They say it's getting dry, frizzy, and dead. And much as I don't want to go out to touch grass yet, well, for my hair, whatever.

GO TOUCH SOME GRASS MINI DIVIDER.png

MAIN MENU:

CONTEXT: (Not) A Rapunzel-length Hair
-> That Salon Experience
Personal Rating
Go Touch Some Grass Too!

GO TOUCH SOME GRASS MINI DIVIDER.png

That Salon Experience

My thoughts about cutting my long hair is fleeting, actually. One day, I'd like it cut. Another day, I'd rather be at home. But well, the day after Araw ng Kagitingan (Day of Valor)... that's the time I must bid my butt-length hair goodbye.

Some things that happened...

While eating breakfast at home...

Me:

(randomly; to my mom) You know, di ko sure if joke jd ni or whatever, but diba gahapon is "Araw ng Kagitingan"?

[You know, I'm not sure if this is a joke or whatever, but isn't yesterday Day of Valor?]

Mom:

(watching K-Drama) O. Niya tapos?

[Yes, and?]

Me:

(sits on a chair near her, eating breakfast) Abi nakog "Araw ng Kagipitan".

[I thought it was "Day of Tightness".]


Seriously, why am I translating this joke in English? Now I feel like my pun was ruined at this point.

But let's just say my mom laughed at it, and even added her own iteration of the joke, which led us to talking about how the heat can make you cook eggs outside. (Seriously, stay hydrated, folks)

...

And so came the time after breakfast where we finally go out en route to the salon, but not without stopping by the pharmacy to buy medicines. Upon arrival, I could say that it's not really of its highest quality upon entry (like, definitely not some 5-star salon), but it's slightly better than small time salons in the interior department. Someone at least greeted us... with a promo. I don't remember if my mom accepted it, but one thing's certain: she went to color her hair black (and a bonus pedicure), I came for my haircut.

The idea of styling my hair didn't register quite on my mind, so I just made my mom decide how long it is and just sit down. My assigned barber looked at my hair and I was being chill, then...

snip

Me:

(surprised) Mana?!

[It's done?!]

Barber:

Oo, mana.

[Yes, done.]

Me:

(still in disadvantage) Pwede pa pic sa akong buhok?

[May I take a look at my hair?]

And this is it... My hair. This is as long after a year of not cutting it. To be specific, a year and 4 months? Yeah.

And after everything... From this...

To THIS

That short! I can't wait for the end of the year to show you how long it has been. Bet I'll definitely come back to this post for a single update.

GO TOUCH SOME GRASS MINI DIVIDER.png

MAIN MENU:

CONTEXT: (Not) A Rapunzel-length Hair
That Salon Experience
-> Personal Rating
Go Touch Some Grass Too!

GO TOUCH SOME GRASS MINI DIVIDER.png

Personal Rating

However, while I sound very pleased with it, I actually am not.

Really, what surprised me real good was how the barber cut my hair immediately. No wetting, no styling. I did say a haircut, but shouldn't anyone even spray the hair first? I just ended up with an instant cut. Big minus. Therefore...

Personal rating: 3/5, would rather have my hair cut by my dad instead (For free.99)

ProsCons
Quick and easyHair not wet, just combed
Appropriate seating capacity and seemingly complete in facilitiesWorn-out chairs, not air-conditioned for a "known" local salon brand
Expensive (₱100 for a regular haircut)

And an extra event upon coming home, with regards to my mom...

Me:

Ma, lemme see your feet.

IMG_20240410_131631.jpg

Eek. The one who did her toenails actually forced the dead skin out, so now it's bleeding, mixed with the red manicure.

In the end, if only I can tell my mom not to come back there, definitely no. I'm already fine with cutting my hair once a year, thank you very much.

...

At the end of the day, at least I did like my hair a bit, since it was just a big trim. While I wish it could do better, still, what's done is done. Disappointment's there, but at least no regrets. It just had to be done somehow. Most importantly, because the weather's hot, make sure to drink water, and...

Please go touch some grass too!

Sort:  

I'd say the week before and after every payday is araw ng kagipitan lol 😅 Tingbits days hehe. I'm also thinking of cutting my hair short kay alimuot jud and truee, stay hydrated always. Amping mo.

Likewise too, ate!! So, is the summer months a time for short-haired us?? BAHAHAHHA

Congratulations @elsieyaaa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 100 comments.
Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

YES! THANKIEEEEEE! Next achievement, ikuyoooooo!!

You can do it @elsieyaaa! Keep pushing yourself and reaching for the stars on Hive.

Sayang pero init nasad kaayo ang panahon karon plus kung taas kag buhok alimuot jud hehe

Yeah, but I don't usually mind as well. Oh well, let's see na lang next year how this grows eheheheh <3

Did your mom's toe hurt? That seems to be so painful. Anyways, you have nice hair either long or short. Usually, someone would actually look younger with a short haircut as per my observation HAHAHHAA.

Does that mean I grew older with short hair?

untitled.gif

Joke. She didn't even notice it bleeding, but maybe... (I actually forget the story already)

You have a natural straight hair Ma'am @elsieyaaa

Aww, thankieeeeeee! My mom also tells me that, which is why I'm actually against rebonding myself.

Ironically, we do have quite the genes to have curly hairs, but let's say I take the recessives I hope genetic jokes aren't too much of a joke for you 😭