COLLEGE BLOG 101 | "Perks Of Being A Scholar!"

1_20230218_183137_0000.png

Stepping up to college is undeniably a challenging one. In many aspects, it can be considered as a "survival of the fittest" as college life would not only revolve on attending classes and obtaining a PASSED numerical grades. This level of education will surely challenge every student physically, emotionally and mentally. Most of all, financially.

College students are divided into two social status: the "financially blessed" and "financially struggling."

In other words, these are students who came from "rich or middle-class families" and "underprivileged families." If a student is financially blessed, he wouldn't worry on where to get his daily allowance as there is someone who can fully support him. However, it is the reciprocal of those students who are financially struggling. In this part, scholarship do effectively contributes in reducing financial-related problems whilst pursuing college.

Screenshot_2023_0111_153149-removebg-preview.png

As I finished Senior High School and upon processing papers for college admission, I do also prioritize this certain goal: "to be granted with scholarship."

As a matter of fact, I had applied for eight (8) scholarship programs such as:

  • City Scholarship Program;
  • CHED StuFAPS (Scholarship for Teaching/Faculty Affair Personnel);
  • KABAYAN PARTYLIST - CHED Tulong Dunong Program;
  • Agricultural Competitiveness Enhancement Fund - Grant-in-Aid in Higher Education Program (ACEF-GIAHEP) of the Department of Agriculture;
  • CHED Tertiary Education Subsidy (TES);
  • Vicente B. Bello Scholarship Program;
  • iSKolar Ni SK; and
  • Academic Scholars of Central Luzon State University.

Applying for a scholarship grant is not as easy as counting or singing the alphabet. It requires efforts, time, determination and patience ~ from acquiring all the traits, I am successfully granted with four (4) scholarship programs namely:

  • City Scholarship Program;
    Vicente B. Bello Scholarship Program;
  • iSKolar Ni SK; and
  • Academic Scholars of Central Luzon State University.

For me, it is not purely about being lucky to acquire it all. I extremely struggled to finance all the needed requirements and applied for this scholarships, all by myself. And, look at where it led me.

"I've been a scholar for four (4) consecutive years. And being a scholar had benefited me a lot, primarily through reducing financial burdens while studying and to prevent future debts. Glad to say, we aren't indebted to anyone just to finance my studies. Plus, I do the financing alone."

From the stated scholarship grants, I receives an estimated amount of PhP 48,000.00 ($864.48) to PhP 50,000.00 ($900.50) covering the whole Academic Year. Yes, it's indeed a huge amount!

Screenshot_2023_0111_153149-removebg-preview.png

As a scholar of VBBSP financed by one of the leading clothing line in the Philippines, I do not only receives cash allowance. Thus, it also includes "clothing benefits."

Last August 2022, I received two packages for A.Y. 2020-2021 and 2021-2022 which had been pending due to the travel restrictions of COVID-19. Here it is:

png_20220820_125152_0000.png

For this Academic Year 2022-2023, I was then scheduled to claim my package by Thursday (16th of February 2023) at 10:00AM-11:00AM:

Screenshot_2023_0218_135426.png

Imagine the happiness and satisfaction that I am feeling at this point, it's undeniably overflowing. I am truly lucky to be one of Natasha's Scholars as they continuously feeds us with lots of appreciation as we do great in dour studies.

Since I have a scheduled thesis consultation by 11:00AM-onwards, I had decided to go to the city proper where Papa works as a Public Utility Vehicle (PUV) driver to ask him to bring my package at home when he will travel back to our place. As I got home around 8:30PM from the Diagnostic Laboratory ...

I opened the package along with Mama and my younger sister. And, here are what we've found inside:

  • Six (6) branded tops including blouses and dresses for women; and
  • Three (3) denim pants from Mr. Lee, Freego and Petrol.

Screenshot_2023_0218_135529.png

Screenshot_2023_0218_135621.png

Aside from top wears and pants, I also received another garments and products such as:

  • Six (6) brassieres with different designs;
  • Two packs of 3-pieces panties and Nathaniel socks; and
  • Footwear such as MSE Epic Sneakers + EPIC slippers + Margaret's black shoes.

Screenshot_2023_0218_135717.png

Screenshot_2023_0218_135753.png

Last but not the least, a brand new EPIC backpack in black-and-pink variation:

Screenshot_2023_0218_135851.png

Screenshot_2023_0111_153149-removebg-preview.png

In a single frame, here are the garments that I received for this Academic Year minus the footwear and backpack:

Screenshot_2023_0217_100739.png

CLOSING THOUGHTS

People who will know about me, receiving this branded items from a famous Philippine-based clothing line will surely say: "Oh! You're so lucky. Hope all!"

Yes, I am absolutely lucky to be pampered with these items. But, for me? It is more on about the outcomes of what I've been consistently doing, academically. All of these (cash allowance & clothing benefits) are reaped from the hard-smart-working upon pursuing my college degree and avoiding to obtain a FAILED grades.

And, yes! I will always do beyond the best in order to secure my scholarship grants as they've already played a big part of my college journey. 🤎

Screenshot_2023_0111_153149-removebg-preview.png

BLOG NO. 14 OF 2023
TITLE: COLLEGE BLOG 101 | "Perks Of Being A Scholar!"
DATE OF PUBLISHING: February 18, 2023

20220831_120332_0000.png

Sort:  

Those scholarship programs are really helpful to some students out there who'a financially challenge and I can say that students who are granted these program are really motivated in pursuing their studies.

I hope this scholarship programs can help more students who are willing to finish their studies especially those who are in far flung areas. There'a a lot of them out there and they can't apply for some reasons. Hoping that these programs will be dilivered to them and give a new light in their life.

Keep up the good work and you all deserve what you are receiving now. God bless you more.

Congratulations @futureagrcltrst! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 3000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!