When you find a piece of your homeland in another state/Když najdete kousek domoviny v jiném státě

in Daily Bloglast month

On Saturday we went to our favorite market in Telese as we have done the previous two weeks. It's a weekly event that people from the surrounding area flock to. The town of just under 6,000 people hosts the market on at least 1 hectare, and for one day it turns into a beehive. The choice of goods is overwhelming. Our favorite stalls have become the 50-cent second hand clothing stall, where you can find exquisite pieces made of wool and linen, stalls with an organic produce from local, small growers, and a stall selling dry fruits, spices, legumes, dried fruits and vegetables, among other things.

V sobotu jsme se vydali na náš oblíbený trh v Telese jako v předchozích dvou týdnech. Je to každotýdenní událost, na kterou se sjíždí lidé z okolí. Městečko, kde žije necelých 6000 obyvatel, hostí trh na ploše nejméně 1 hektar, a na jeden den se promění ve včelí úl. Výběr zboží je ohromný. Našimi oblíbenými se staly stánek se second hand oblečením za 50 centů, kde lze mimo jiné najít skvostné kousky z vlny a lnu, stánky s bio výpěstky od malých pěstitelů, stánek se suchými plody, kořením, luštěninami, sušeným ovocem a zeleninou.

This time, after visiting this market, we visited a local antique/second hand shop. This place is also stunning. Stuffed floor to ceiling with things like furniture, crockery, kitchen utensils, books, magazines, clothes, appliances, decorative items,... A lot of people would surely find the right thing for themselves here.

Tentokrát jsme po návštěvě tohoto trhu zavítali do místního starožitnictví/second hand obchodu. Toto místo je rovněž ohromující. Od podlahy po strop nacpané věcmi jako nábytek, nádobí, kuchyňské náčiní, knihy, časopisy, oblečení, spotřebiče, dekorační předměty,… Spousta lidí by si tu určitě vybrala tu pravou věc pro sebe.

And that's exactly what happened to me. As I walked through the aisles, my eye fell on items that suited him. Familiar colors and shapes made me take a closer look. I picked one up and admired the painted patterns. Then I turned it upside down and what do I see! Made in Czechoslovakia, the country of my birth. I wondered and examined the boxes of this merchandise laid out beside. It said Original Karlsbader Zwiebel/Czech porcelain Dubí. From the pieces on offer, I chose the cream teapot you see in the photo.

A přesně to se přihodilo mě. Jak jsem tak procházel uličkami, padl můj zrak na předměty, které mu zalahodily. Známé barvy a tvary mě přiměly podívat se na ně blíže. Vzal jsem jeden do ruky a obdivoval jsem namalované vzory. Pak jsem ho obrátil dnem vzhůru a co nevidím! Made in Czechoslovakia, v zemi mého narození. Zaradoval jsem se a prozkoumal jsem vedle položené krabičky od tohoto zboží. Stálo na nich Original Karlsbader Zwiebel/Český porcelán Dubí. Z nabízených kousků jsem si vybral konvičku na smetanu, kterou vidíte na fotce.

Why that one you may ask. The answer is obvious. I love tea and ceramics related to making and drinking tea. And this cream teapot fits perfectly from my perspective in color, size, purpose, and material to my tea set that I currently use on my travels. Just look at it in the photo! Do you see it the same way? It's not like I'm pouring cream into it and then pouring that into the tea. The cream pot serves as my pourer, which is the container into which I pour the finished infusion from the teapot with the tea leaves.

Proč zrovna tu se možná ptáte. Odpověď je nasnadě. Miluji čaj a keramiku související s přípravou a pitím čaje. A tahle konvička na smetanu sedí z mého pohledu dokonale svou barvou, velikostí, účelem a materiálem k mé čajové sadě, kterou na cestách v současnosti používám. Jen se na ni na fotce podívejte! Vidíte to stejně? Ne že bych do ní lil smetanu a tu následně do čaje. Konvička na smetanu mi slouží jako slévátko, což je nádoba, do které slévám hotový nálev z louhovací konvičky s čajovými lístky.

I am delighted with how this piece of teaware came to me. We found each other at the right time, in Italy.

Jsem potěšen, jak ke mně tento kousek čajového nádobí přišel. Našli jsme se v tu pravou chvíli, v Itálii.