A Day in My Life: My First On-the-Job Training Interview. Was it successful or not?

in Daily Blog4 months ago

Hello Hivey! Should I start calling you Hivey? I like the sound of it, so I might. Anyway, how is your day going so far? Was it going great? I just had a blog-worthy moment today. As a prerequisite to graduation, we were asked to look for marketing-related jobs for our on-the-job training (OJT). Today, I'll be telling you my tale of how I ventured into the corporate world (looking for a company that will accept me for our OJT) and show you my perspective as someone inexperienced in this field.


E7B67C56-6973-445A-A3F7-B12E233AE098.jpeg

I set my alarm for around 5 a.m. since my interview will be at 8 a.m. I got a text from one of the companies that I applied to stating that I will have an interview with them today. Getting ready, I nervously recited some of my already prepared answers (which I made yesterday) to the most common interview questions that I read online. It was after an hour that I finally got out of our house and rode a jeepney to the workplace (I allotted two hours for travel just in case it might get traffic).
835B25B2-D88F-4F78-8F9E-8BA6DF90CEAD.jpeg

I waited for my friend at Ayala Mall (a huge mall in Cebu City), staring at the tall building surrounding the mall. I could already see the company that I was applying to from afar, which made my hands sweaty and cold.

After my friend arrived at Ayala, we walked a short distance to 1Nito Tower to get our interviews. We talked about how exciting it would be if we were given a chance to work in the company one day, given it's a dynamic place to train and develop our sales and marketing skills.

445593B8-1DE1-42C9-9A89-BE1AF422DD5E.jpeg

Also, the workplace is just so pretty; imagining working here one day, walking in those lobbies, staying in the waiting areas, and entertaining customers is such a dream.

We went directly to the guard to get our visitor IDs and headed to the 19th floor, where the Kings and Properties office is located. A funny event actually happened here; we were waiting for the elevator, and when we rode it, we couldn't click the button heading to the 19th floor. Then, someone who rode the elevator with us told us we needed to click it before the elevator closed. Mishearing this information, I thought she meant that we needed to click the button outside the elevator, so I walked out of the elevator looking for the button outside😅 and almost got closed down in the face. Thankfully, someone clicked the open button and helped us on clicking the 19th floor. She even told us that it's normal to have those experiences. I was embarrassed, and I hadn't even done my interview yet.
97823781-4D28-4A7D-8335-454B3D468877.jpeg
This is where the elevator is located

Once we got to the 19th floor, we went to the receiving area and told them the purpose of our visit. We were given a paper to fill out and were told to wait for Miss Trisha, the person who would be doing the interview. We then waited for her in the waiting area, where we filled in our papers.

0782479B-1453-4130-8F2D-E9A0546BE477.jpeg

We were amazed at the workplace; they are straight out of Kdrama offices, with glass doors separating the, I think, senior managers' office from the rest of the employees. They also have lounges where employees could do their meetings (someone was occupying one room, and it looked like they were having a meeting). It was such an amazing experience. Nervously, we looked around, assessing our surroundings and guessing who Miss Trisha was among all the people passing the waiting area.
EDDE2266-6BBE-4EEB-AAA2-F83FB104DAB1.jpeg
7B2CB5CC-22E3-46E9-8D80-797B080F3A85.jpeg
This is us, waiting for our interview.

Finally, a petite girl with a charming smile walked in and asked us if are we the people she would be interviewing today. I was already really cold by this time; the aircon of the place was blasting, mixed with my nervousness and sweaty hands, and then I heard that I would be the first to be interviewed.

I got out of my seat, entered the room (the rooms I mentioned), and had my interview there. I managed to answer the questions asked of me by Miss Trisha and left satisfied with the experience. I felt no regret, given that I prepared the possible questions firsthand, and luckily, they are also what the interview was all about (aside from other personal questions that were easy to answer). I was told to wait for another senior manager to do another interview; while my friends entered the room, I exited.

We both ended up waiting for the senior manager to do another round of interviews but were told that she would be too occupied and busy today (she was already entertaining clients early in the morning), so the only vacant day she would be available would be Friday.

So that is how we ended the morning; we will need to be back again on Friday to have our final interview. Manifesting that my friend and I will pass the interview and work our OJT with them❤️ We have prepared a lot already, so whatever the result, we hope the lord is with us to face and accept it.

As a little token for ourselves (even though we did not accomplish anything😅) we ordered a croissant and a drink in Starbucks (my friend and I were always planning to try dining at Starbucks forever), and since we are in Ayala, we might as well make it more memorable. (By the way, we have sinking funds with my friend where whenever we eat out, we use our sinking so it will not be that financially heavy for us to spend our money😅).

9E97D76A-C351-4C7C-ABC4-C66F4511F7A6.jpeg

That is it for today, Hivey! It was a blog-worthy day, right? Haha, anyway, please manifest with me that my friend and I will get the job. Adios.

Sort:  

Good luck on your final interview, your one step closer on your dreams, treasure the experience on your OJT especially the moment and learnings.

Thank you sir @intoy.bugoy, hopefully makuha mi sir para less anxiety na for our part. 😅

God bless girlies😇❤❤❤

Wishing you the best! I know you and Gena will make it. Huhu, we're almost there. May we all have a great OJT experience! Love you🙌❤️

Thank you labskiii @jeannmazing. One more sem to go niya graduate nata 😭. Let us hope for the best and may we all have great OJT experince, cause we all deserve it🥹.

Congratulations @jenny0113! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 3000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2024

@hivebuzz thank you hivebuzz, I’ll definitely check out your latest blog ❤️.

You're welcome @jenny0113! Have a nice day 😊👍❤️

You deserve that food and drink in SB after doing the interview. 😉
Also, it's okay to make mistakes. I think I'd also be making the same mistake as you girls did in the elevator 😆
Good luck on the next interview! And hope you'll have fun!

Thank you @wittyzell☺️. Definitely miss even though we weren’t able to accomplish anything on that day but the interview was already a challenge, so having it done is really just like winning for us🥹.

Congrats for job. Wish you all the best. You grow and more grow and enjoy your duty time.

Thank you @riaz1122

Always Welcome dear

As the Lord will.🙏🙏🙏

@chimegipamus thank you miss. I surrender myself to the lord, i have done what was already my best so whatever the result it is up to him🙏

God bless you @jenny0113 I know you can make it God is with you guiding you all the way 😇.

Thank you miss @richdreamer❤️❤️

Good luck on the final interview I hope you will be accepted.

Btw ill be there in Ayala as well and I would apply as call center agent I hope I'll pass when I apply 🤧

Hello @itsmateo thank you, hope you also get accepted in the job you are applying to ❤️ Manifesting with you ❤️

Good luck and God Bless 😍. You deserve all the food and drinks after the interview. and you are one step closer sa imong graduation! Fighting!😁

Thank you miss @missellimac, it certainly uplift our spirit to think positively 🥹❤️.

Congrats on showing up for the interview and answering the questions as best as you can! I remember my first time applying a job in the Metro Area as a province gurlie hahaha 😊 Hope it all works out for you and your friend!

Thank you miss @ishwoundedhealer, just my personal opinion but i find it so hard to adapt in the city life before as well, me, being a provincial gurlie too😭

I congratulate you. You look very happy!

Good Luck Po🥰