An Exhausting But Fullfilling Wendesday

in Daily Blog2 months ago

March 21, 2024

Wednesday. It's the middle of the week already! So how did your Wednesday go?

Me? I had an exhausting day! Exhausting but in a way it is fullfilling!


Hello, once again my Hive friends!

Today, I had an exhausting day at work! I got so busy that I have put some articles I am writing on hold. I just want to write this to relax my mind a bit.

For those who don't know where I work, I teach computers in a private secondary school.

For this quarter, I am teaching Robotics from grades 8 to 10. We have Arduino starter kits including the 5 new kits the school purchased this year.


We started with basic electronics and I used TinkerCad as a medium of instruction. Everyone can learn the basics thru TinkerCad's virtual circuit simulation. This includes programming and simulating Arduino projects.

We had a lot of interruptions in our classes though. Thus, my timeline got derailed. We were not able to reach the topic that I was aiming for.

Frankly speaking, it's frustrating on my part. I had to adjust their performance task output to simpler ones.

This week, I tried another approach to speed things up. My goal is to have the learners experience how to build an actual circuit and write a simple program.

I was able to do so this week.

Today, I had to step into the Grade 7 class and delivered the lesson. Unfortunately, their computer teacher had just started learning Arduino this year. So I had to step in for this session.

So, I had an extra class today...


Satifaction

The 7th grader is known to be noisy in their classes. So I laid down one rule before I started. If they are not interested to listen they may step out and go to the library.

I'm glad they behaved during the discussion.

Although I run through the lesson rather quickly, they were able to build the circuit correctly. There were some mistakes, but they were common newbie mistakes and I expected them.

I was happy though that only a few made those mistakes.

Even in the programming. Since I rushed things, I forgot to explain the proper syntax.

What's more satifying is, when I saw their happy faces when they were able to achieve the goal for today. It was simply to make the LED blink. A simple task maybe for me. For the learners though, it was a huge accomplishment for them.

The 9th grade was a bit more fullfilling. We have a transferee this quarter who already have some experience in Arduino. I saw her help other students even those who don't belong to their group. It seemed like I had an assistant teacher in the class.

How I wish we have more contact time with the students each week.

This is it for now. I still to create some tutorials on this subject

Thansk For Reading


Post No. 2024-19
Date Posted: March 21, 2024.
All Images used are mine unless otherwise indicated
Check me out on other platforms. [link.ee/initiatives](http://link.e

Sort:  

That is a nice tactic before starting the lecture to give them a suitable offer 😅

Good day spent.

@tipu curate

hehehe. and it worked. :D. Thanks

Congratulations @jloberiza! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 1000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

2nd Badge in just a few days! Thanks! :D

Awesome work @jloberiza 👍