Daily Blog - Storytime: Bad weather and flight cancellations forced me to stay one more day in Ushuaia. / Storytime: el mal tiempo y la cancelación de vuelos me obligaron a quedarme un día más en Ushuaia. 😅❤️

in Daily Blog28 days ago

After more than 21 intense days of travel in which I walked and visited beautiful places as much as I could, the day of my return flight arrived. This was the second time I had volunteered, so I went to Ushuaia with a round-trip ticket, since since the city is located on an island it is better to get the tickets in advance. What I definitely didn't count on was that a storm was going to ruin my plans and jeopardize my arrival date for the third volunteer assignment in which I had been hired. But luckily, everything worked out pretty well in the end 😅.

Después de más de 21 días intensos de viaje en los que caminé y visité lugares hermosos hasta más no poder, llegó el día de mi vuelo de regreso. Esta era la segunda vez que hacía un voluntariado, así que fui hasta Ushuaia con pasaje de ida y vuelta, ya que como la ciudad está ubicada en una isla es mejor sacar los pasajes con anticipación. Con lo que definitivamente no contaba era que un temporal iba a arruinar mis planes y comprometer mi fecha de llegada al tercer voluntariado en el que me habían contratado. Pero por suerte, todo se solucionó bastante bien al final 😅.


Daily Blog  (1).png



The city of Ushuaia is to this day one of the most beautiful places I visited within my country Argentina. This city has beautiful views even from the urban center, which makes even a simple shopping trip have a great landscape. The time I was exchanging work for accommodation was enough to cover a large part of the city and do almost all the main treks. As for work, I was also happy with my shift in the morning because then I had the whole day free to enjoy it outdoors. I have nothing to complain about 💕.

La ciudad de Ushuaia es hasta el día de hoy uno de los lugares más hermosos que visité dentro de mi país Argentina. Esta ciudad tiene unas vistas hermosas incluso desde el centro urbano, lo que hace que hasta una simple salida a comprar tenga un paisaje genial. El tiempo que estuve intercambiando trabajo por alojamiento fue suficiente para recorrer gran parte de la ciudad y hacer casi todos los trekkings principales. En cuanto a lo laboral, también estuve conforme con mi turno en la mañana porque luego tenía todo el día libre para disfrutarlo al aire libre. No tengo nada de lo que quejarme 💕.

IMG_20231217_160003301~2.jpgIMG_20231217_160023668~2.jpgIMG_20231217_160049345~2.jpg


I had my flight scheduled for Saturday at 1 PM, so after the classic and emotional farewell with all those who were my co-workers and friends those days, I went to the airport. The hostel owner offered to take me and everything, which indicated a good working relationship. The Ushuaia airport is small, but when I arrived I noticed a lot of people gathered, which indicated that something was not right. What happened was that the previous night, Buenos Aires had suffered a major storm like never before in which there was damage to the city, including the airports and also damage to the planes, forcing all departures to be canceled and rescheduled. I had heard about the storm but I didn't think it was that bad, and I hadn't seen any news either because we didn't have a television in the hostel 😅.

Tenía programado mi vuelo para el sábado a la 1 PM, así que después de la clásica y emotiva despedida con todos los que fueron mis compañeros de trabajo y amigos esos días, fui al aeropuerto. El dueño del hostel se ofreció a llevarme y todo, lo que indicó una buena relación de trabajo. El aeropuerto de Ushuaia es pequeño, pero cuando llegué noté mucha gente acumulada, lo que indicaba que algo no estaba bien. Lo que acontencía era que en la noche anterior, Buenos Aires había sufrido un gran temporal como nunca en el que hubieron destrozos en la ciudad, incluídos los aeropuertos y también daños en los aviones, obligando a cancelar y reprogramar todas las salidas. Yo había escuchado sobre la tormenta pero no pensé que era para tanto, y tampoco había visto ninguna noticia porque en el hostel no teníamos televisión 😅.

IMG_20231217_212829309~2.jpgIMG_20231217_212811100~2.jpgIMG_20231217_212822303~2.jpg


As always in these cases, at first everything is uncertainty at the airport: no one knows when the service will be normalized, or what time the new flights will be. Quite stressful because you don't know whether to stay there waiting or go to a more comfortable place to rest if it takes longer. As this was a weather issue, the airline was not responsible for any extra expenses on accommodations, so the atmosphere at the airport was more than tense. After waiting more than two hours without knowing what to do, I received the flight rescheduling for the next day at the same time. Luckily, I called the owner of the hostel telling him this and he kindly came to look for me again and of course, giving me one more night of accommodation 😅.

Como siempre en estos casos, al principio todo es incertidumbre en el aeropuerto: nadie sabe cuando se normalizará el servicio, ni a qué hora serán los nuevos vuelos. Bastante estresante porque no sabes si quedarte ahí esperando o irte a un lugar más cómodo a descansar en caso de que sean más horas. Como esta fue una cuestión climática, la aerolínea no se hacía cargo de ningún gasto extra en alojamientos, así que el clima en el aeropuerto era más que tenso. Después de esperar más de dos horas sin saber qué hacer, me llegó la reprogramación del vuelo para el día siguiente a la misma hora. Por suerte, llamé al dueño del hostel contándole esto y amablemente me fue a buscar de nuevo y por supuesto, dándome una noche más de alojamiento 😅.

IMG_20231218_094744227~2.jpg


It had never happened to me that a flight was rescheduled, and even though this one was double because I had to make the Ushuaia-Buenos Aires and Buenos Aires-Bariloche routes, both tickets were accommodated without any inconvenience. When I arrived at the Buenos Aires airport I was already ready to fight in case they wanted to charge me extra for having missed the second flight, but luckily everything passed peacefully. And better because I don't like fighting 😅.

Nunca me había pasado que me reprogramen un vuelo, y a pesar de que este era doble porque tenía que hacer los trayectos Ushuaia-Buenos Aires y Buenos Aires-Bariloche, ambos pasajes fueron acomodados sin ningún tipo de inconveniente. Cuando llegué al aeropuerto de Buenos Aires ya estaba lista para pelearme por si querían cobrarme extra por haber perdido el segundo vuelo, pero por suerte todo transcurrió en paz. Y mejor porque no me gusta pelear 😅.

IMG_20231218_123844029~2.jpg
IMG_20231218_123407122~2.jpg


Even though I have traveled by plane several times, the whole process never ceases to amaze me. Each view from above is different, and in particular, the city of Ushuaia from above is surprising. Its location at the foot of the snow-capped mountains and in front of the Beagle Channel, in addition to its incredible airport on the peninsula, make this takeoff wonderful. I was glad that until the last minute this place was enjoyable: not even the storm could put me in a bad mood since after all, who would be bad for spending an extra day in a place like that ❤️?

Por más que haya viajado varias veces en avión, todo el proceso nunca deja de sorprenderme. Cada vista desde lo alto es diferente, y en particular, la ciudad de Ushuaia desde arriba es sorprendente. Su ubicación al pie de las montañas nevadas y enfrente del Canal del Beagle, además de su increíble aeropuerto en la península, hacen que este despegue sea maravilloso. Me alegré de que hasta el último minuto este lugar sea disfrutable: ni siquiera el temporal pudo ponerme de mal humor ya que después de todo, ¿quién se pondría mal por estar un día extra en un lugar así ❤️?

IMG_20231218_124054249~2.jpg
IMG_20231218_124352174~2.jpg


Getting a job exchange for accommodation in Ushuaia was truly great and the opportunity came just in time for me to take advantage of it. They say that it is not easy to get this type of volunteer work in this small but beautiful city, and I was able to get it on just my second try. I left the city wanting to return one day and I'm sure I will do so to get to know it even more. This is one of those places worth returning to a thousand times... ❣️

Haber conseguido un intercambio de trabajo por alojamiento en Ushuaia fue algo verdaderamente genial y la oportunidad llegó justo a tiempo para que yo pudiera aprovecharla. Dicen que no es fácil conseguir este tipo de voluntariados en esta ciudad pequeña pero hermosa, y yo pude conseguirla en apenas mi segundo intento. Me fui de la ciudad deseando volver algún día y estoy segura de que lo voy a hacer para terminar de conocerla aún más. Este es uno de esos lugares a los que vale la pena volver una y mil veces ❣️.


❤️ Hope you liked this post! Thanks for reading. ❤️

❤️¡Espero que les haya gustado este post! Gracias por leer. ❤️



IMG_20231218_124706907~2.jpg


With lots of love. / Con mucho amor.
Lau 💕.


📸 Cover created with Canva. All the images are my property 💕.
📸 Portada creada en Canva. Todas las imágenes son de mi propiedad 💕.


Sort:  

Because of all the material that you have given us to know about the city of Ushuaia until today, I thought that there were much more days than 21 days, it is incredible how well it works when the days in the city are very long like in that city.
Yes, I remember that storm, it was a great chaos in almost all the cities of Argentina, and what a shame that it affected your flight, the great thing about it all is that the owner of the hostel was very good to you and accommodated you one more day, not everyone does that.
The view of the bay is really beautiful, the flight the plane makes is beautiful
Thank you very much for sharing these beautiful shots and this whole adventure.
Have a beautiful afternoon dear friend @lauramica

 26 days ago  

Thank you very much Luis! Yes, it was a great three weeks hahaha, luckily they gave me enough content to work on the Hive. Everything went great with the trip, I was very glad I did it, it was great ❤️.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Toda una aventura jajaja qué bueno que al final se pudo solucionar lo de tu vuelo. por cierto, es muy bonita Ushuaia, he visto muchos videos y todo lo que muestran es interesante, la comida parece un rica y la gente muy amable, algún día iré y a Bariloche. Feliz jueves @lauramica 😊

 26 days ago  

Muchas gracias Dani. La verdad es que es hermosa Ushuaia, y Bariloche también. Bastante hermoso todo. Gracias por pasar ❤️

Whatever happens is for good. You got one more day. You can see the beautiful scenery here. I also wish to travel the world in the same way.


Curious about HivePakistan? Join us on Discord!

Delegate your HP to the Hivepakistan account and earn 90% of curation rewards in liquid hive!

50 HP
100 HP
200 HP
500 HP (Supporter Badge)
1000 HP
Follow our Curation Trail and don't miss voting!

Join Binance through this LINK for 10% off trading fees! Let's save together!

 26 days ago  

Thank you ❤️

Most welcome dear.

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2220.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

 26 days ago  

Thanks for the support ❣️!