What boredom brought onto me…

in Daily Bloglast year

Did everyone develop a hobby during the pandemic, or was it just me? Because of the boredom brought on by the pandemic, I started developing a hobby that is really fun, and I never thought that I could make money from it. To make the story shorter, I learned to crochet. Yes, you read it right, and now I will be sharing with you my little hobby that I turned into a business.


I started to develop this hobby during the pandemic, when everyone was locked in their homes and online shopping was a trend. Summer was about to enter, and with that, we needed a summer outfit. I was scrolling through my Facebook wall when I saw a post from my college classmate in which she was selling a crochet bikini top. The top was so nice that I wanted to own one, so I immediately messaged her and asked for the price. I was shocked when she sent me the price list; it was quite expensive for a student like me since I was still in college during that time, and the sad part is that I wasn’t able to get one. After what happened, I was thinking that I could make that on my own; I just needed the materials and, of course, YouTube.

Shoppe was my main source at that time, and I ordered immediately without thinking that I could really learn crochet. I was very excited when my order arrived and started to watch basic stitch tutorials on YouTube. Guess what? It was harder than I thought; I find it hard to follow the instructions, even though I tried many times. I really couldn’t make it right, and that’s why I decide that this thing is not for me.

But, for everyone’s information, boredom can make you do things you thought you couldn’t. I got bored again; it had been months since I decided that crocheting is not for me, but this time I gave it another shot, and guys, mind you, I was able to follow the tutorials on YouTube. I was really happy that time and decided to watch tutorials about making tops and other stuff.


My first project was a coaster. It was my friend who asked me to make her a coaster, and I said yes, I can make you one. I watched the tutorial and was able to make one. Below is a photo of my first project.


After making the coaster for my friend, since it was already summer, I made my own bikini top. It was hard at first, especially when I was making the cup because the sizes don’t always match and I have to redo it again. Doing crochet is very time-consuming, especially if you’re a newbie, just like I was before. After 2 weeks, I guess, I was able to finish my work and make my niece as well.



I have a page on Instagram where I post my recent projects; you might want to follow my page at @stitch.by.patch. Going back, my cousin messaged me when she saw my post on IG about the top that I made, and she asked me to make her a top as well. I don’t think that I can make money from this since the only thing in my mind when I started it was for me to be entertained every time I got bored.

So that’s it. My cousin ordered a bikini top for her mother and a halter top for herself. As I have mentioned before, making the bikini top was a bit challenging for me, especially the cup, but I still managed to finish it.


The next thing I made was the halter top, which is my favorite among all the projects I made. I liked the color, the style, and everything in between. I was so proud of myself when I saw the finished product. I didn’t know that I could be this good.


[https://instagram.com/ma.morena17?igshid=ZDdkNTZiNTM=]

It took me almost two weeks to finish the project.


There was still some yarn left, so I decided to make another project out of it. I made a bucket hat with the last piece of yarn that I have; the result was also nice, and it really suits me. I even posted it on my Facebook page.


I mentioned above that I really liked the result of my cousin’s order, so I also made myself a halter top. It was just in time when I finished my very own halter top because my college friends decided to visit our place for an outing, and it was an opportunity to wear and showcase my work.


Boredom really can make you do things that you taught you couldn’t. Being bored is not really boring at all, and this is just one of many results of what boredom can do. Always look at the positive side when you think that you can’t do anything because something out there is meant for you.


Maegan blogs about adventure, travel, and anything under the sun.

If you enjoyed reading, feel free to comment, follow and upvote my content.

If you want to get to know me and reach out outside of this platform, feel free to check out my other social media accounts.

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Sort:  

My fave summer #ootd! Leeeez go hit the beach now! 🔥

 last year  

Hello brunette. I am happy for you and that you have developed this talent in the pandemic! The truth is that your creations are beautiful, I love the red mole, it also looks great on you.

Welcome to the Daily Blog community, thanks for sharing your day here :)

If you also want to share your needle projects with us, I also invite you to the Needle Work Monday community. Do not miss it!

Greetings ❤️.

That's a cool way to kill your boredom. How I wish I know how to do this stuff, kinda cool to make an outfit out of this yarn. ❤️

Try daw ate just trust la YouTube hahaha Hindi ka papabayaan.

Hahaha, sige heheh puhon if di busy.

Wow! Galing! Wala talagang impossible if you really want to learn.

Turly 😊

Wow… You are killing it, sis. I can the improvement in each of your works.

It is nice for you to take chances of boredom time during corona. I love it.

Personally, I also crotchet and during Corona, I think I learned a little more but for two years now, I have not touched my pins..

Summer wears set.. Soon, you will make more than summer wear.

You are fire. I'll Gladly follow you to see more of your post.

You are pretty, btw

Hey @lizizoo, thank you for appreciating my work. I'm looking forward to see your work as well I know that its also a masterpiece 😀

Hey @morenamarie!
Actifit (@actifit) is Hive's flagship Move2Earn Project. We've been building on hive for almost 5 years now and have an active community of 7,000+ subscribers & 600+ active users.
We provide many services on top of hive, supportive to both hive and actifit vision. We've also partnered with many great projects and communities on hive.
We're looking for your vote to support actifit's growth and services on hive blockchain.
Click one of below links to view/vote on the proposal:

  • peakd
  • ecency
  • hivesigner
  • Congratulations @morenamarie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

    You made more than 50 comments.
    Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

    You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
    If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

    To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

    Check out our last posts:

    LEO Power Up Day - April 15, 2023
    The Hive Gamification Proposal
    Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

    Wonderful works! I'm glad you did not give up on crochet like most people does. Im happy you reached that far and I hope you'll make some more! May you have lots of orders to come and more yarns too