Movement is Medicine


Source: https://pin.it/3khWOMQ

Hello everyone, trust you are all having a good weekend?
Well, I was too till I woke up this morning feeling sick and lethargic.

So sick that I was throwing up, coupled with an uneasiness that threatened to keep me in bed.
As someone that loves being active, that was a feeling I wasn’t going to allow, especially at this time when I have so much to do.
So I got up, logged in on YouTube to play some sounds to take my mind off the uneasiness. Didn’t find something relaxing enough to play, so I went through my playlist history and I found a meditative song I used to like.
Played it and decided to sit still, meditate and do some breath work…. That didn’t work either because I couldn’t sit still or concentrate.
Minutes into my self imposed meditation, I felt this urge to stand up and just move to the beat. (It was a really uplifting one. A combination of hang drum and Mrindangam)


Left the link here in case you want to check it out, I would strictly recommend.
Anyways back to my story, I got up and moved to the beats, it wasn’t really easy at first because I was weak and my body just wanted to lie down and rest but I knew that would only weaken my spirit so I persisted.
Kept on dancing till I was one with the beats. Was sweating profusely by the time I stopped dancing and I decided to end it with some yoga stretches.
The stretches felt so good, I could literally feel the queasiness evaporating from my system in beads of sweat.
Added some breath work to it and the effect was phenomenal.
By the time I was done with the yoga stretches, I felt so alive and strong, that I couldn’t believe I was literally sick like hours ago.
Ended it with a really cold shower to wash off the sweat and I kid you not, I’ve never felt this good in a while.
Made me realize that I’m my own healer lol ( ok that’s just me blowing my horn) but seriously I felt really good.
Can’t believe all I needed was some good body movement and stretches to return me back to my blissful state.
So now I’m here to share my testimony with you and let know you that all you need to release accumulated stress is good body movement. Just get up and move!

Sort:  

I would not necessarily agree as it depends on what the problem is. Sometimes you can make matters worse if you don't rest, but I'm glad you are feeling better. Pay attention to hydration as that's essential. And when you're feeling better, it would be great to see you be more active on Hive, engage with others :)

I'm dropping you some newbie guides as I see you're new, maybe it helps.

Here's a guide I put together to help you learn about how communities work and why you should use them -> Communities Explained - Newbie Guide. I also put together a list of communities, which is not complete, there are much more communities on Hive, but it will help you get started.

Once you posted your post in the right community, you can then cross post it to OCD community. Here's a guide about cross posting.

Please don't delete any post with the purpose of reposting it in another community as that can be considered abuse!

Yes, it depends on the health issue, but it has been proven that yoga stretches goes a long way in reducing stress level in the body, which in turn gives room for deep relaxation.
Thanks for the well wishes and the Guide, will be sure to go through them and incorporate the tips.
Yes I’m going to be more active now, I’m getting a hang of this (Hive) and I’m loving it.

Congratulations @nubiangoddess! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - December 15, 2022
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Semifinals - Recap of Day 2
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!