Cars are running 24/7 due to the cold weather

in Daily Blog3 months ago

Source: Reddit.com
Today, I stumbled upon this video. It shows cars that remain running around the clock due to the cold, so they don't freeze and can start. The person in the video talks about how this prevents engine damage.
I rarely deal with such temperatures, so this seems somewhat strange to me. Being environmentally conscious is so important here that cars with start-stop systems have become standard. The goal is to minimize consumption as much as possible. Not to mention electric cars which, when charged "cleanly" (e.g., through one's own photovoltaic system), emit very little CO2. I'll leave out the topic of "White Gold" aka lithium for now.

From what I know, and as most comments under the post suggest, people recommend using Block Heater Cables in this situation. And here begins my dilemma.

The more I think about what I see in the video, the more questions come to my mind.
If everyone heats their car with a Block Heater Cable, can the power supply of this country or city handle it?

In the video, we are in a major city. If everyone were to lay a cable to their car, the sidewalk would quickly be full of cables. What do I do if I live at the top of a high-rise? I can't just lay a 300ft cable.

So, are there other, perhaps more climate-friendly ways?

To elaborate, I first asked myself, what are the most common causes of a car not starting?

  • Weak battery- Thick motor oil- Frozen fuel- Frozen fuel line- Carburetor
    At temperatures up to about -4F/-20C, a battery has up to 30% less starting power, and at temperatures below -4F/-20C, even up to 50% less. I also find it impractical to buy a new battery for all cars to ensure this. Likewise, unscrewing the battery each time and taking it into the apartment is not practical.

Motor oil and fuels should normally be fine with preparation for winter. There are oils that work up to -45 degrees. Also, to my knowledge, gas stations are supplied with winter diesel in the winter. Maybe not the case in this country? That would at least explain the cameraman's comment: Damage to the engine.

That leaves the carburetor, a risk that can also be mitigated with good winter preparation.

So, it seems the battery really is the main issue. If cars have to park on the street, it's quite a complex problem. In researching this post, I came across the possibility of thermal covers for batteries.

Conclusion on my part:
When I saw the video, I was initially outraged. How can people let their car run 24/7 in the cold. I guess that's a pretty typical reaction, but the more I thought about it, the more complex I found the issue. Certainly, there are possible solutions, but the question is whether people are willing to make the extra effort, etc. Can it even be implemented on a large scale, like the heating cable? It's complicated.

What's your opinion on this?

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @quorion! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the February edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2024

Thank you for the badge! That is really kind. 😊

Thanks for joining us for Hive Power Up Day, @quorion. Your participation is valued.

BTW, our funding proposal needs your support to continue bringing gamification and entertainment to Hive. Please consider supporting it and helping us out.
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

Congratulations @quorion! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the February edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2024