Freedive San Remegio | Exploring a Hidden Marine Sanctuary . . .

in Freediving2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Snapshot_591.png

We found ourselves bravely swimming against the rough waves of the open sea. My younger sister was more courageous than me despite the fact that I'm the one who competed in swimming back in college and has been freediving recently. My reluctance to venture out to new dive spots were caused by the following reasons: (1) the waves were strong, (2) the place was unchartered territory for me, or (3) I don't have a dive buddy. In this case, it was all three!

Nonetheless, I and my sister requested our uncle and cousins to head on to their empty beach lot fronting a protected marine sanctuary in Brgy. Maño, San Remegio, Cebu. They have been sharing us about this marine sanctuary for years and somehow we never bothered to visit the place in the past. Just recently, we had the opportunity to do so when we had a family reunion.

Snapshot_592.png

Getting there would be easier with a private car or motorbike. It was a 15 minute drive from our beach house. If I'm not mistaken, we arrive there noon time. The sun was out, the water was clear but the waves were crashing hard onto the beach rocks. Initially, our cousin was supposed to join us on this water excursion however he retreated as his hangover got the best of him. I didn't stop him from doing so since it was for his safety.

Halfway to the marine sanctuary, I constantly checked on how my sister was doing as we paddled our way onto the rough waves. By now, you would probably think I should already be used to this but for me it's not the case. We can never underestimate mother nature. Safety has always been a priority in work, in my climbing adventures and also in my diving excursions. But my worries were washed away as my younger sister confidently tells me she is secured with the life vest she is wearing.

Snapshot_596.png

Snapshot_594.png

Snapshot_593.png

It all started with scattered corals on the ocean floor. Then tiny fishes were swimming around. They all looked dull and uninteresting as I drifted from the water surface. My excitement died a little bit. I got a little confused since we were told that this sanctuary was thriving with marine life. Until freediving a depth of about 8 meters showed me otherwise.
'
A complete surprise to see the sea bed teeming with healthy corals and a variety of colorful fishes. Some of them would hide along the narrow crevices and holes. Vibrant blue fishes stood out the most. The unique thing to note though was everything was a miniature version with what I'm used to seeing in Moalboal or even in Malapascua. What we saw was just the tip of the iceberg. There was so much to explore since scuba divers have already wandered into the depths of this underwater sanctuary. As for us, we have yet to come back here in the future. But in the end, it was an amazing adventure added to my freediving journey. So enjoy this video I made for you guys!

Snapshot_595.png

Music by lemonmusicstudio from Pixabay.


Freediving logo footer.jpg

It is a whole different universe underwater which we want to share to you in our Freediving Community. A community where we could bring in other Freedivers around the world to join Hive, connect and share knowledge, stories, photos and videos about our passion in Freediving.

Please feel free to subscribe and share to your friends too!


Dive into Clara's world of bliss as she ventures out into the universe and travel to awesome destinations.
Join her as she take on the road to self-discovery and limitless possibilities.

final hive footer2.jpg

If her content made you 😁, then drop some ❤️ by upvoting and leaving a comment.
Also, click the Follow button to keep posted on her whimsical musings.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

When I "grow up" (or better say, go back in time some 20 years haha) I want to be a mermaid, like you :D

 2 years ago  

I love you for recognizing that we are mermaids! 🤣😍 We are all mermaids by heart!

untitled.gif

I was impressed when you capture the blue fishes with corals.
Tig sana all nlang ko ani...hahaha

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much @missleray! Glad you like it! Tig sanaol man sad ko sa uban. so the feeling is mutual!

You're welcome ☺️.

What a beautiful area ❤️ Do you think you will ever go there with scuba gear, and go further down?

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@indayclara! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (10/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

 2 years ago  

Oh hey @wrestlingdesires! Long time! Well, will probably try going further down soon but not with a scuba gear. Scuba diving isn't calling to me yet. 😂

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

It's so beautiful under the sea. I love those picture shots you made in the video, real cool.

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much @starstrings01! I will never grow tired of sharing how beautiful the underwater world is. Hopefully I can travel the world and visit other diving spots in other countries too!

Hopefully I can travel the world and visit other diving spots in other countries too!

That dream would be achieved I believe one way or the other. 😁

Wow that's so beautiful!! I love those onder water landscape! 🤩🤩

 2 years ago  

Glad you love it! Thanks for dropping by!

That's a great video! Beautiful footage and I like how the still photos meshed with the beat of the song - did you edit it yourself?

The only time I have ever done something like this was snorkeling in Mozambique! I should try explore under the water around my home in Cape Town more (rather than just surfing the waves above), but the water clarity is usually not very good!

 2 years ago  

did you edit it yourself?

Proud to say YES! And I just started this "skill" here in Hive. 😄

Once you get to explore the depths of the sea at your place! You should share it here in Hive! I would love to have a virtual tour of the underwater world from other countries! That would be a treat!

So beautiful video and pictures! thanks for sharing, I will follow you rigth now to never lose a post again.

 2 years ago  

Hello @noakmilo! I appreciate the follow! 😍

What a beautiful experience you had under the sea. The picture and tell it all. Thanks for sharing.

 2 years ago  

I appreciate your kind words! Thank you for dropping by @infinite.ife!

Cheers 🥂

Nice one! I like how u threw in the still pics in the vid, too..

Those corals look like giant mushrooms! :P

 2 years ago  

Making videos exhaust my creative juices! 😂

And indeed they looked like mushrooms! Underwater mushrooms! 😂

So cool. I can’t wait to be able to go diving like this again.

 2 years ago  

Wait, what?! 😲 You dive? Freediving or Scuba diving?

Lol 😂! While scrolling, I shock myself 😅

Nice discovery, naa diay diha

 2 years ago  

Oh, yes! I think the sea between negros and cebu is full of marine sanctuaries yet to be discovered!

Oh my, you are so brave Clara! I grew up scared of the sea so watching your video gave me chills! Ang bawd palang daan, motalaw na ko.

 2 years ago  

Thank you @fitlipinasarah! Its great to hear that my underwater videos inspires others. Every one is unique so I'm pretty sure you got other passion that I would probably be jealous of! Laag laag palang nimo dnha sa abroad suya nako oy!

Ahhh... Freediving has been on my bucket list for the longest time already. I love all your photos, especially those pictures on the video. Match perfectly well with the beat.

What a great activity, I wish to have many activities like you, you are great!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(12/15) tipped @indayclara (x1)

Join us in Discord!