Freediving in Island Garden of Samal

in Freediving2 years ago

Hello. It's me again. It hasn't been a month yet since I had my last free dive. It is my goal to do freediving once or twice a month. Since my last free dive, which was January 23rd, I already booked a freediving schedule for this month. I wasn't that excited for the next freediving. 😂

I also bought freediving fins. The fiberglass one. Yes I know, it's not the first option for beginners like me. 😂 I was actually going to get the plastic one, but my friends were telling me that it's okay to get the fiberglass since I'm gonna upgrade anyway in the future. It took me a few days to decide if I should get fins or not. I was thinking, maybe I was just being impulsive. I don't wanna buy it then later on I will be discouraged or whatever, and then I'm not gonna use it. Things like that. Also, it is expensive for me. So I asked advice from one of my friends if it's reasonable to buy the fiberglass fins. That friend of mine made me realize that I've been asking him about freediving since 2018, and he can see my reaction to how excited I was every time he talks about it. He was right, I've been wanting to try freediving since a very long time ago, and now I got the opportunity, I don't think it's just me being impulsive. So I decided to buy the fiberglass fins, and I used it last Sunday.

So here's my new friend I met last month, ate Rose, she's the model of my fins. LOL

IMG_1873.jpg

By the way, I was hesitating to free dive last Sunday. You can never know what's gonna happen in the future. I had a bad allergy the night before the schedule, and on the day of freediving, I've been sneezing a lot in the morning, my eyes were kind of itchy too, so I know it's not flu. I was pretty sure it was just an allergy. Allergic Rhinitis. My nose is small but it's really sensitive AF. 😂 So I messaged my coach if it's okay to free dive with a stuffy nose (even though I know it's not advisable), he replied so late, so I just decided to go even though I know that I won't be able to equalize properly. And yeah, I was right.

I didn't do great with my depth training, because every time I equalize, I hear that squicking sound on my right ear only. And my forehead was aching and I felt dizzy. Is it because I had a stuffy nose? That was the 1st time it happened to me. The weather wasn't that great too, it was too wavy. Regardless, I still had fun. I just practiced duck diving and finning.

It is my 1st time using long fins. I have no idea how to use it. It was uncomfortable, and I think that's normal for first timers. I got blisters too. The fins I got are size 37-38, it's kind of big for me. Maybe I should've gotten 36-37. I didn't wear neoprene socks at that time, cause I couldn't find one here in Davao. Maybe it will still be fine if I have 2mm neoprene socks? My shoe size is 6.5 or 7. Should I trade my fins to a smaller size or should I just buy the 2mm neoprene socks? Help me.

Here are some shots of me freediving (not the best photos cause I just screenshot it from my video) I wish one day I can buy a good camera for underwater shots:

IMG_1967.jfif

IMG_1965.jfif

IMG_1968.png

Here's a short video of me freediving:

It wasn't a great day for me, didn't do good in depth training, but I still had fun, and shared laughter with new friends. 😍

Sort:  

With you and Rose combined... you can achieve all that you seek to accomplish! I am glad you enjoyed your experience... even if it wasn't all you hoped it would be.

Thank you for always being supportive ☺️☺️☺️☺️

 2 years ago  

Oh my @kissmyaxe94! Why did I missed this out! 😭 You look effortless on the video! It's not about how deeper you can go, it's all about being relax and just enjoying the view underwater.

And congrats on the new fins! Nothing wrong with buying the fiberglass right away. Bought one for myself than the plastic ones and its really worth it. Your friend was right too about "upgrading in the future".

Your foot pockets are way too big for you! My shoe size is 38-39, but my foot pockets are only size 35-36 and I use a 2mm socks not to get blisters and for my feet to fit well. If you can, you can trade or sell your foot pockets in freediving groups in FB for a smaller size or you can just simply purchase another foot pockets plus neoprene socks. When you purchased your fins, did they gave you those other extra screws and those "little black thing"?

Wow thanks so much for the advise.. I will try to sell my footpockets. I didn't know I can do that. I thought I have to trade the whole thing. hehehe. Yes, they gave me those extra screws. The coach told me to get size 37-38 lol ..the reason i bought fins from him is because i thought he can help me choose the right size for me. sigh.. so should i trade it to 35-36??

 2 years ago  

Mas gamay man ka shoe size, feeling gani nako mas gamay pa na footpocket size imu need. basin gani 33-34 ang masigo sa imuha. but try daw message ang badfishdive gear sa ila FB or IG account para sure jud.

better yet, chat me pud sa ako ig: @hivemermaid. 😉

Sige sige imsg nako sila. Thank you kaayooooo. Ifollow sad tika ☺️☺️