Playing with Bubbles in Pescador Island

in Freediving2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Hello everyone!

This is my best freediving experience so far! We have been freediving here in Moalboal for quite a while now and we didn't get a chance to freedive in Pescador Island. Pescador Island is just of the coast of Panagsama and it's in the middle Tañon Strait between the islands of Negros and Cebu. It's known for its awesome coral sanctuary and some quirky underwater formations. Finally, after months of skirting the island off our list, we had the chance to freedive there last weekend.

In this video, we were playing with the bubbles from the tanks of scuba divers from below. Claire (@indayclara) already shared her version of this awesome experience. It was out of this world!

In the last part of the video, you can see bubbles coming from the corals. It's a sight to behold! There's actually a cave (they called it "The Cathedral") underneath where the scuba divers can enter and the expelled air from their tanks would accumulate at the top of the cave. Eventually, the air would seep through the corals above, creating that magical sight with the fish, corals, and bubbles. I wanted to pursue my advanced scuba diving class now just to explore that part of Pescador Island.

This video was taken by our go-to guide, photographer, and videographer in Moalboal - @sabanalchristian. It was edited by @indayclara after my constant nag.

I hope you'll enjoy this video!


Kim Ybañez

Welcome to Kim's small corner in Hive. He is a chemical engineer by profession, but a blogger by passion. He is a wanderlust and an adventure seeker. Join his quests as he visits secluded destinations, climbs mountains, tries new and exotic dishes, and explores his country (The Philippines). He's also a trying hard photographer so stay tuned as he shares his photos and his thought process while creating them.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

These freediving experiences just seem to get better and better for you great to see you enjoying this fun sport.

 2 years ago  

Yay! Thank you! I can't believe I just started last April. It has been fun!

In such a short period you are tackling it like a real experienced free diver good on you keep enjoying.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Can't barely play the video 🤣,

Literally living beside and on the ocean I never really thought of diving, fishing I do with nets... and stuff enjoys that.

Got me thinking I should try it some time (but first swimming lessons🤣)

 2 years ago  

Why can't you play the video? Internet connection problem or 3speak problem?

You're living beside the sea and you don't know how to swim? The irony of life. 😂

Ship provided internet, really slow... but thankful for it when I started sailing we didn't even have internet.

I am a Merchant Marine Sailor (more irony), and we are trained to survive the middle of the Atlantic Ocean but we are not required to swim... just float. 🤣

I was actually surprised when I got home my 10 year old boy can swim on water thrice his height (I don't know why I am surprise, we live by the ocean but I was).

Maybe things I would like to try before I grow to old... just not bungee jumping!

 2 years ago  

Oh! I see! Naglalayag ka pala.

If you can float, that's okay. The swimming part will be easy. That's right! You should try everything before growing too old. Bungee jumping is definitely on my list. Hope to try it soon!

hahaha i do like playing with bubbles too i always tried to make rings but it never worked. great video, the water is really dark blue or better to say its deep i like that:)

 2 years ago  

Hahaha! I don't know how to make rings that's why I just let the guides make them and we'll swim through the center.

It's really deep! The island is in the middle of the deep strait so it drops immediately.

that's a good strategy;) diving in deep water is always a different feeling, it's great:)

 2 years ago  

True! There's this sense of both calmness and anxiety at the same time. 🙈 I'm still afraid of what might be lurking down there, but I felt calm underwater. It's literally facing one of my greatest fears.

i really feel you, i am also scared when the water is very deep and then dark but i like the adrenaline kick haha.. and having fears is a good thing:)

Love the effect of the bubbles in the video. The reef wall in Pescador Island is unlike any other. I think the scuba divers below were most likely from the Cebu Dive Center group. What I remember is the intimidating verticality of the reef wall that extends deeply below. Would you like to dive there again?

 2 years ago  

True! It's really different compared to the reef wall in Panagsama. I will definitely dive there again. My goal is to dive to the Cathedral. Maybe I should pursue with the advanced scuba training.

Wonderful, amazing, incredible!!! Palakpakan ng marami!

 2 years ago  

Salamat... SA IMU! 👉👈