A Museum City in the Sea | Louvre Museum, Abu Dhabi

in Architecture+Design2 years ago (edited)

20220719_172445_0000.png

The Louvre Abu Dhabi Iconic Dome and "Rain of Light"

Finally! After what seemed like forever, we were able to visit the Louvre Abu Dhabi last weekend. The Louvre Abu Dhabi is an art museum that opened in 2017, located in Saadiyat Island, about 15 minutes drive from down town. I can distinctly remember how this project excited the residents in the country -- "A Louvre Museum in the Capital. Wow, that is France, a few minutes away from me!", I thought.

This iconic structure took eight (8) years to complete from 2009 to 2017. From afar, residents could only wonder how it would look like. Towards its inauguration, the below timelapse was released.

Credit: Louvre Abu Dhabi YouTube page

Simply amazing, isn't it?

The Louvre AD is the brainchild of French architect, Jean Nouvel. What he was able to achieve was a design inspired by modern architecture and the traditions of the region.

The museum complex is composed of low-rise buildings, as inspired by the homes in the Arab region. I now have to remember where I heard or read, it described the buildings of the Louvre as like sugar cubes, protected by a metal dome.

The latticework dome is visible from the sea and even from downtown Abu Dhabi. The dome is a complex, geometric structure of 7,850 stars, put together in different sizes and angles, in eight layers. [1]

IMG_20220717_104351-01.jpeg
Underneath the dome. Louvre Abu Dhabi

It is very hot and humid in the country during this time of the year (July) as the summer peaks, and the dome provides a shade for the outdoor plaza of the museum. Visitors can walk through building to building under a "rain of light" as the sun's light penetrates the perforations of the dome.

IMG_20220717_141659-01-01.jpeg

Facts and figures

7,500 t – the total weight of the dome – similar to the Eiffel Tower in Paris.
8 layers – the layers of the dome. Four outer layers of stainless steel, four inner layers of aluminium.
7,850 – the number of ‘stars’ in the dome’s pattern.
13 m across – the largest ‘star’, which also weighs 1.3 t.
4 – the number of piers that support the dome to make it ‘float’. Each is 110 m apart, hidden within the structure.
180 m – the diameter of the dome’s base.
40 m above sea level – the level of the building.
36 m – the level of the dome above ground.

(https://www.louvreabudhabi.ae/en/about-us/architecture)

A Museum City in the Sea

The Louvre Abu Dhabi is surrounded by water. Visitors can see the Arabian Sea through the large glass windows, or even through a kayak activity that the museum offers.

IMG_20220717_141755-01.jpeg A view from a huge glass window, right next to a resting area inside the museum.

Most of the glass windows would have quotes written on them in three languages -- Arabic, English, and French.

IMG_20220717_130841-01.jpeg
My two young kids looking through the glass window.

My extremely mediocre photography skills captured the both the water and a subtle "rain of lights" in the picture below. "Yay", me! LOL

IMG_20220717_104447-01.jpeg

Services and Accessibility

You can get to the Louvre Abu Dhabi, located in Saadiyat Island, through private vehicles or public transport. There is a public bus route that passes by the area from downtown, and taxis are easy to get or book.

Upon entering the vicinity, there are ample free parking spaces available for the visitors. A few hundred meters walk is required until the main entrance is reached but buggies are available for everyone. This is really appreciated especially during these extremely hot months, but I am sure that a leisurely walk around the area will be preferred in colder months.

IMG_20220717_152006.jpg

Inside, complimentary wheelchairs and strollers are available for those who require them. The museum is big, featuring 12 galleries so elderlies and smaller kids might want to avail them.

IMG_20220717_103653.jpg

There is also an area in L -1 where one of the exhibits was held. They have this stairs lift installed that could help people of determination to navigate up and down the stairs.

IMG_20220717_144759.jpgIMG_20220717_144816.jpg

Some Artworks on Display

We spent around five (5) hours inside the museum and it is honestly not enough if we were to explore everything the museum has to offer. Having three children, we spent a lot of time inside the Children's Museum, which they truly enjoyed.

I tried to take a lot of photos but I feel most of them are for another topic altogether. Right now, I would like to share four photos of huge art works featured in different galleries. I hope it can give you a perspective of the "low-rise" structure of the buildings, hence low ceilings too.

Monument of Victor Hugo.png

As I prepare this post, I realized there is still a lot that could have been explored in the Louvre. We as a family had a great time in this activity and I am sure that this visit won't be the last.

More Information

How to get there:
Louvre Abu Dhabi
Saadiyat Island Cultural District
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
https://goo.gl/maps/o7UZUnYco1bi2N6i6

Opening Time:
Museum Galleries, Temporary exhibitions and Children’s Museum

Tuesday - Sunday | 10am – 6.30pm
Monday | closed
Last entry with a pre-booked ticket is at 6:00pm
Access via main entrance.
Ticket desk closes at 5:30pm

Health Protocol:
All visitors must show a ‘Green’ status on the Alhosn app to enter the museum (14 days PCR required when fully vaccinated, 48hr when unvaccinated)
Masks must be worn inside the museum at all times.

Buy Admission Tickets online:
https://www.louvreabudhabi.ae/en/buy-ticket/Admissions#Account

General Admission Tickets Cost:
AED 63 (incl. VAT) Adults 18+.
Children under 18, residents 60+ enter for free.

References:

All photos are owned by the author.

arrliinn footer.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Indeed it is a great idea to make such a roof that lets see that rain of natural light, is what I like most and I find super useful placement in space L-1 of the mechanical chair.

I agree, that stair lift would be super useful. I wanted to ask the staff how often in a day it gets to be used, but I eventually forgot as I got amused by the exhibit. 😅

Depending on the number of people who visit the place, it can be 1 to 3 times a day, I would think 😊.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you.

It is a very beautiful building, built with great effort. I hope I can be there one day. For now, I guess I have to content myself with examining this post.

Thank you for visiting my post. It is indeed a very nice structure and I am very happy to finally be able to see it with my own eyes, after many years since it opened. I hope you get a chance to visit it one day.

It really looks like a very functional building to me! The placement of the rooms and the use of light with a roof like that make it really stand out. I was struck by those large framed windows, it looks like the ocean itself is a painting captured inside the museum. And as you say, I think five hours is not enough to go through everything hehehe it's pretty big. Greetings from here.

Hey, carmina! thanks for the comment. I loved the large dramed windows too. As you said, they are like paintings themselves. <3

Plain gorgeous! Astig ng Dubai oh!

Abu Dhabi pa to, sis. Yung bagong Museum of the Future sa Dubai ang gusto ko mapuntahan. Sana soon.

Ay uu yun. Isa yun sa bucket list ko din. Mahal ba dun? May entrance? hehe

Maryosep! I just checked. 145 Dhs per person 3years +. Php 2215 in today's rates. Lol. Sana magka special offer sila. I totally missed Dubai Expo 2020. Maganda rin un.

Mas maganda pa rin dito sa ABU Dhabi, maraming murang pasyalan. Hehe

Congrats @arrliinn! You've finally been able to experience the Louvre Museum in Abu Dhabi up close and personal. Too bad, I missed it while I was still residing in that part of the world because that building complex was still under construction. Now, walking on its various spaces thru your eyes is certainly an exhilarating moment due to its spectacular architecture, artistic masterpieces on display, and other mind-blowing details. 😊

I'm simply intrigued and curious about that museum's main dome due to its peculiar design, particularly its extremely intricate geometry. Could you narrate to us more about your actual (onsite) impressions, observations, and critiques about it?

Hi Erne! I can't believe it's been four days since my last log in. hehe.

Finally, I can say, I visited the Louvre!

In my untrained eyes, I simply cannot help but marvel about the dome. It looks gorgeous in any angle I look at it from. Then the time-lapse video of the construction always replays on my head -- how they put together, piece after piece those metal stars. I also cannot help but wonder how they maintain the dome. When we were walking underneath it, we could hear the birds chirping and flying above us. I bet they already nested there too.

Great! Indeed that museum's dome simply makes us marvel at its architectural creation and pushes us to wonder about its intricate complexities. Without a doubt. this is another unprecedented achievement for the world-class city of Abu Dhabi. 😊

Wow I wanna go there too, tita 😍😍😍

It's very nice, nani! I am sure you would have loved the Children's Museum here too. <3

 2 years ago  

Congratulations @arrliinn! We're delighted to specially curate your awesome publication and award it RUNNER-UP in Architecture Brew #77. More power!

AB CURATION BANNER - RUNNER-UP - V4.jpg

Thank you for subscribing to Architecture+Design, an OCD incubated community on the Hive Blockchain.