A TOUR TO TAMARIND SQUARE: AN ARTISTIC URBAN VILLAGE WITH CO-EXIST NATURE AND ECOSYSTEM| 生态与艺术概念的城市村庄

IMG20211228125410 copy.jpg

Last month I was visited Malaysia through Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL-Land) to Malaysia to visit my relatives and family members. So I no need quarantine in hotel. After the Covid-19 ART test, I could straight away went around the Johor Bahru for shopping. It has been 2 years I never visit Malaysia as Singapore borders closed due to Covid-19 pandemic.

IMG20211228123832 copy.jpg

IMG20211228123915 copy.jpg

After reaching Kuala Lumpur, my friend brought me to a popular square for visiting. The square is called Tamarind Square, where a place combine artistic, nature and ecologically architectural design meet commercial market co-exist community and work places.

IMG20211228123941 copy.jpg

IMG20211228123957 copy.jpg

When we was arriving, we saw the creepers and climbers spreading over the building wall by the wire mesh that fixed in between the structures. The planters were built for the climbers which’s looked like Ipomoea sp.

IMG20211228124803 copy.jpg

We took lift to second floor. We saw the maze garden structure was constructed with seaters inside the structure walls. The structure walls with planters were planted creepers, Ficus pumila that makes the walls looked nature and greenery.

IMG20211228124708 copy.jpg

IMG20211228124854 copy.jpg

The long leave climber is Vernonia elliptica, common name Bridal Veil Creeper. I remember I saw this plant growing wildly in a Bali resort. It has widely planted in Bali resorts and hotels.

IMG20211228124827 copy.jpg

IMG20211228124839 copy.jpg

Continued my journey, I reached a seating built by concrete with planters on top and bottom. It was planted Ficus nitida shrub in the planters. But I felt the design of seating was uncomfortable and wrongly choosing the plant species that made the plants need to be trimmed always as the proposed shrub size was too big.

IMG20211228124949 copy.jpg

Another shrub, Ficus nitida is suitable to be planted as hedge in the planting area with full sunlight condition. It requires trimming regularly to keep the size as hedges in the garden.

IMG20211228125006 copy.jpg

IMG20211228125053 copy.jpg

The second floor plants has been grown wildly and lacking of landscape maintenance. It can be seen the over grown of the climbers and creepers.

IMG20211228125021 copy.jpg

The ropes tied from bottom to the top of the building to let the climbers to climb up to the top of buildings as greenwall system.

IMG20211228125216 copy.jpg

Continued our walk to the other side of second floor, there were a stunning view of fantastic building design with many small pocket gardens in between the units which painted in red. The beautiful skyline greenery increased the value of properties.

IMG20211228125615 copy.jpg

IMG20211228125524 copy.jpg

IMG20211228125658 copy.jpg

We took lift to 1st floor of the building, there were an open plaza named Centre Court. I was surprising most of the show rooms and units are unoccupied. Only few of them are occupied by the business. Perhaps the recent Covid-19 enforcement measures have ruined the business in this mall.

IMG20211228125455 copy.jpg

The greenery trees looked like Cratoxylum cochinchinensis were planted in cluster that providing the shade to the courtyards.

IMG20211228125549 copy.jpg

The strip pattern pavement in between the hardscape and softscape is creating the modern and contemporary sense of place while I was arriving the ground floor courtyard gardens.

IMG20211228125735 copy.jpg

IMG20211228125750 copy.jpg

Continued our journey, we reached a garden which’s planted with many Tabernaemontana divaricata. The pathway and steps lead me to another garden court.

IMG20211228125849 copy.jpg

Obviously it was lacking of landscape maintenance. The proposed plants were nice but the maintenance need to be executed regularly to maintain the landscape designer masterpiece and hard work.

IMG20211228130044 copy.jpg

The green shelters with greenwall concept by planted with climbers are great design. They are creative F&B, specialty, boutique cafes and restaurants. But I found many are still unoccupied due to pandemic.

IMG20211228130029 copy.jpg

IMG20211228130229 copy.jpg

The unpainted structure wall and bricks adds stylishness to this modern architectural design. But sometimes feel like uncompleted construction works to me.

IMG20211228130302 copy.jpg

IMG20211228130323 copy.jpg

The overall architecture design idea is good but unfortunately it is poorly executed. I hope that the pandemic will be over soon, so that all the new development and economy will be back to the right path.

IMG20211228130437 copy.jpg

IMG20211228130834 copy.jpg

The design is combined the lush green, koi ponds and water feature in ground floor. I saw a Book Barter Café that a great place to hang out as inside has lots books for me to read and relax while having the coffee.

IMG20211228130610 copy.jpg

IMG20211228130748 copy.jpg

The stone paths were quite unique in the sense of slow down my walk to enjoy the garden views and surrounding cosy cafes and retail shops.

IMG20211228130654 copy.jpg

IMG20211228130647 copy.jpg

If the botanical name label on each of the planted trees can be shown that will be great as some of the proposed trees are very unique and significant. It also can enhancing the landscape design value as well.

IMG20211228130922 copy.jpg

IMG20211228130909 copy.jpg

Finally I ended my tour at the B1 of the square which linked to Grocery supermarket. We went for the lunch before our next destination in Kuala Lumpur.

Really appreciate for those who reading my post.

Wish you have a wonderful day! Thank you.

Sort:  

So great you didn’t have to go through a quarantine and such a beautiful walk I love all the greens

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Thank you @tattoodjay.
Yes, no need quarantine as I went Msia by VTL. But need continuous 7 days test result to show authority.
For non VTL require quarantine at the moment.

👍🙂👍

Hello dear Cherry @cherryng. Great to see you again, and a warm welcome back to the Architecture+Design Community. I'm glad you made it to Malaysia for a vacation with your family and relatives, plus experience the city's attractions especially Tamarind Square. Indeed the green environmental design and landscaping of that landmark are impressive, but as you said, requires proper maintenance. With your professional background as a Landscape Architect, I'm pretty sure you've discovered other discrepancies there or other details that are worth appreciating. But again, witnessing the smart convergence of nature with architecture is always an enjoyable treat, isn't it?

How's your current workload?

Hi Erne, thank you so much for dropping by.
How are you recently? Hope you doing well 😊
My holiday is just over and back to work after Chinese New Year. Tamarind Square is one of the destination in my trip. It is quite popular square @ KL now.
Thank you for reading my post.
Wishing you and your family stay safe and healthy always🤗🤗

That's wonderful Cherry. The Chinese New Year must have been a grand celebration there. All the best to your work. Take care. 😊

Thank you my dear Erne.
But there is a bad news when coming back to Singapore, the Omicron surge, many new cases more than 10k here. One of my friend just told me he tested positive.
Most of projects are delaying work schedule due to Covid 19 pandemic.
How is condition in your country? Working progress right on schedule?

Basically, all countries have been affected by the Omicron variant. As a result, work progress has been slow. Nevertheless, we are striving to survive. Hopefully, everything would come to pass soon, so we could get back to our lives.

So much green! Beautiful architecture, the labyrinth garden looks very beautiful, as you say landscaping is hard work and no maintenance certainly affects the view , but personally I love it !!!! I love that nature is shown as it is and I also love the materials in sight !!!!

Thank you @cvnuitter.
I am glad you reading and like my post.
Have a wonderful day! Stay safe ☺️

I have always liked that acquisitionectonic mixture with plants, especially if it is fusional, impressive harmony between the buildings and the green.

Thank you @jhonnygo dropping by.
Yes, great to have this greenery plants combine with modern building concept, towards more green to the architecture design, such as greenwall and greenroof, more nature and ecologically concept.

This is quite astonishing, Cherry, but you are right maintenance while incorporating plants with architecture is at most importance. To bad they are not able to keep up. Otherwise I absolutely love design like this. Thanks for sharing 💚😍💚

Thank you Lena for dropping by🌺🌹🌼🌸🌻
Yes, maintenance is very important to maintain the architect masterpiece after constructed. If not, the design won't sustainable in long term.
Thank you again my dear Lena. Have a nice weekend☺️

You are most welcome Dear cheery and yes I totally agree 💚

I love these hanging plants, they are so relaxing to look at. If I can I also going to do it on our concrete wall. Good afternoon (^_^)

Hi @afterglow, thank you for dropping by.
Yes, I love the climbers and green walls too but need some maintenance to remove the yellow leaves and trimming to make it better.

What a lush green place. Must have a nice feel to it around there. Enjoy your trip!

Thank you @nicklewis. Yes, we enjoyed the greenery views during the trip.

Hey @cherryng I can feel the freshness through your publication. That place indeed is wonderful
Keep on sharing your observations and experiences, Have a great weekend ahead:)

Thank you my dear @sahiba-rana. Yes, will do.
Enjoy your Valentine Day, and wish you have a great week ahead! :))

@tipu curate

Thank you @magicmonk🌻🌸🌼🌹🌺

 2 years ago  

Congratulations @cherryng! We're delighted to specially curate your awesome publication and award it SILVER MARK in Architecture Brew #54. More power!

AB CURATION BANNER - SILVER MARK - V4.jpg

Thank you for subscribing to Architecture+Design, an OCD incubated community on the Hive blockchain.