You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beauty is in the Eye of the Beholder

in Architecture+Design2 years ago (edited)

Hello @storiesoferne ! Oh yes, I agree that beauty is an objective concept. For one person, beauty can mean a small hut, and for another, a skyscraper. I have heard of the "golden ratio" before and find the concept very interesting. This is from the point of view of a superficial observer. Since I am a big fan of places of worship, Bath Abbey in the historic city of Bath is the most attractive to me. Although this building may look intimidating outside, I think it has grace. But I like all the other architecture in your post and your thoughts. I believe there is no bad architecture - there are different points of view and visions. For example, I like one type of architect, and you like another. Variety is wonderful. Thanks to the diversity of architects, we can travel across countries and enjoy the culture.
Is not it? Thanks for the informative and interesting post.

Sort:  

Definitely dear friend @danny.green. Beauty is not objective but a subjective matter. And the golden ratio is arguably considered to be one of the most effective methods used by our ancestors as well as current creatives to produce so-called beautiful architecture.

I completely respect your choice of Bath Abbey as your design tastes align with it. As with the different architectural styles of buildings around the planet, we can only admire them or perhaps hate them, providing us the independent will to choose our preferences in a free world, At the end of the day, it's the variety of options that make life more interesting in the world of architecture and design. 👍

Happy to see you back in our beloved community. Keep up the fantastic content as always! 😊