Stonehenge Aotearoa, Masterton, New Zealand

I love looking at the universe and learning about them. I first watched the science program about the universe when I was around 6 or 7 years old. Until today, I could still feel my excitement vividly.

Have you ever had a thought of yourself as so small as a grain of sand in this earth? And then immediately think about how the earth is like a tiny atom in the vast universe? That is how I feel whenever I look at the universe and my mind fills with excitement of the mystery and unknown things. It is so great to know that we are on our way to discover them which makes life is more interesting to live.

In this post, I want to take you to a place called Stonehenge Aotearoa. It is advertised as a great place to visit if you want to learn about astronomy. According to Classic Wine trail, this place is an adaptation of the mysterious 4,000 year-old monument on England’s Salisbury Plains which has been especially designed for the Southern Hemisphere.

I saw this photo online about Stonehenge Aoteaora in NZ so I thought this is a great place to visit.

After getting tickets from the entrance, we moved to the first destination called ‘Exhibition of the Planets’ to watch a 20 minutes video about the latest pictures of the Sun, Moon, Earth and the other planets. To be honest, I couldn't understand much from that video so I went to see some pictures that explains about our planet, how big it is in comparison with other planets and how many years if we want to travel from one planet to another. This is my favorite part in my imagination world, seeing myself travelling in space and exploring different planets.

Next we moved to an exhibition about Mars. I have to say it is not impressive because I couldn't remember anything from that exhibition. I don't know might be it is not designed for me as I don't understand much. There are many words that I don't understand so I have to rely on the models, pictures and art work to help me remember. So if they are not impressive, they won't be in my mind for long.

The last place we visited and it is the star of this place - the Stonehenge Aotearoa. I have to say we chose the wrong time to visit this place. It had been raining in the morning so you can see the cloudy sky in my photos as below. Anyway I look excited to show you the way in, didn't I?

From the entrance, I was stoked to see the monument

Wow, the compass of the earth and the heaven. I have no idea, I am so bad at direction but it is interesting to look at

Looks like my partner can read the map to Heaven. Let's hope he can read it well so we can go there later

View from a far

I had fun running around

Here is how it looks from above. I have to say it is quite small and not up to my imagination. Photo credit: Stuff NZ

I don't know if I want to go back to this place. Might be if we stay in Masterton one day and we can visit during night time so I can have a different experience. The way they present the exhibitions somehow is hard for me to remember and understand things. It is a small places and doesn't take long for a visit so if you are around in this area and don't know where to go, why not taking a look. You might find it an interesting place, or not? Hope I can hear from you.

divider.png

Hive viet badge (1).png

Designed with Canva

Sort:  

Hello Dora. Great to have you back with us. I wasn't aware of a Stonehenge monument in New Zealand until I read your post. This even made me more curious because when I was in the UK, they used to address the original Stonehenge as a "Pile of Rocks". I wonder what nickname would NZ designate to their counterpart there.

Space exploration, the marvels of the universe, and the massive architecture of celestial civilizations are absolutely thrilling future explorations and are indeed fascinating interests to pursue. What if Elon Musk invited you to be one of the pioneering passengers of his Starship to Mars, would you accept his offer?

Hi Erne, how are you? Thank you for stopping by. As far as I know, they don't have a nickname for it here. Might be next time if I stop by, I will ask the owner of the place. It is good to know they call it "Pile of Rocks" in the UK.

Omg if in this life, I can travel to Mars, that would be a big Yes. I know in our real life, it won't be easy to just say Yes or No as we have family who depends on us and we have to consider their opinions as well but if it is only up to me, I would love to join him in that journey. To see Mars with my own eyes, to fulfill my imagination with space and I am sure I can see our home (earth) from a far as well.

I'm doing well Dora, thank you. Hope you're fine too. Right, it would simply be interesting to know what nickname Stonehenge Aotearoa have locally. And I completely understand, with your immense fascination with the universe and celestial travel, visiting Mars someday as a space tourist will be an absolute dream fulfilled. In a perfect world, of course! Who knows? Regardless of the many factors to consider for that major decision, you might still be able to finally experience Earth from another planet. Happy weekend! 😊

Hello Dora @dora381. Hope all's well. 😊 Do you have a Twitter or Discord account? And is it possible to connect with you there?

Thanks, Erne. I am doing well. Yes, I have a Discord under Dora381, please feel free to text me there.

That's great Dora. Thanks for your interest in connecting on Discord. May I know your exact username with tag number so I can add you?

Yes sure, it's Dora381#4280

Awesome! I've already added you there. Thanks again. 😊

Good to see your post again @dora381. I also sometimes think about the universee and it's interesting to realize how small humans are. I want to go there. It seems similar to the locations where humans can connect with other planets in the movies.

Yes, I feel the same, the place we see in movies. Unfortunately, I couldn't remember the stories about NZ with stars and other planets so I couldnt tell you much in this post. It is not really imressive the whole place but it is just good to know

This replica is amazing! I didn't even know it existed and I got to know it thanks to your post. It must be a dream to be able to be there at night and admire the sky and the stars, of course with a camera too 🥰

Thank you. I am so glad you like it. Yes I heard it is amazing at night on a good day. In the South Island of NZ, there is a place called Tekapo and It is one of the best places in the world for stargazing. I was there last year and it was amazing

 2 years ago  

Congratulations @dora381! We're delighted to specially curate your awesome publication and award it RUNNER-UP in Architecture Brew #61. More power!

AB CURATION BANNER - RUNNER-UP - V4.jpg

Thank you for subscribing to Architecture+Design, an OCD incubated community on the Hive blockchain.

thank you so much for your support. I really appreciate it.

 2 years ago  

You're most welcome dear @dora381. Keep up the fantastic content! 😀

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you so much for your support

WARNING - The message you received from @thomaslknapp is a CONFIRMED SCAM!

DO NOT FOLLOW any instruction and DO NOT CLICK on any link in the comment!

That is wonderful I love history like that.

Thank you. I am so glad you like it much !LUV

That's an amazing view. Kudos to the photographer of the first photo

I know. I wanted to visit the place thanks to that photo. But it is difficult to get the same view. Thank you for stopping by. much !LUV

amazing place ch!

Cám ơn em :)

What a great experience for you and shame you didnt have nice weather for your photos! So is New Zealand open now for visiting?

As far as I know, they will be opened on 1st May for everyone. For now it is only for New Zealanders and people with valid visas. They applied new traffic light system 2 weeks ago which allows us to move freely now in the country even though Omicron cases are high so it is a relief.

you share quality content :)

Thank you for your kind words. Have a great Sunday

That Stonehenge is huge, I never knew that such a replica exists.

This is my first time seeing this monument so I am not sure about the size. I thought it is quite small but might be you are right. I will search for the same one in UK to compare them. Thank you for stopping by

You're welcome (^_^)

Interesting!
What a place!!!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @dora381! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2022

Congratulations @dora381! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The fourth edition of Hive Power Up Month started today. Don't miss it!
Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2022