You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shades of wood

in Architecture+Design2 years ago (edited)

Finland is much like most parts of the United States and always in our house, exactly as you expressed. The company comes at 6 and that is because preparation is half the fun. You talk, have a glass of wine, light a fire in the winter, and set the table for outside in the summer. Whoever sets the table gets to pick the dinnerware. It's fun. It would be rather uncomfortable to get there in time to eat, just like you are in a restaurant.

Yikes.

Does your wife prefer the way you entertain? I suppose she is used to one and likes the other also. I would rather have dinner with family like friends. :) I had a summer home that had a sauna building (we bought it from a Swedish family) and it had wood floors and painted floors upstairs, but, a lot of white and we used pine in the kitchen and in the living room, it was pine walls and ceiling with a hand peeled log across the ceiling. (just Google cool living room and it should come up! LOL) I love the wood and I understand what you are worried about. What is the worse that can happen? You might have to paint it if you don't like it.

I think you will like it. Wood is warm and welcoming. I like stone personally - next house maybe.

I can hardly wait to see it.