Furniture and Seating in Public Spaces

in Architecture+Designlast year (edited)

B8462198-20C9-40AB-B582-3AA4D98EEF84.jpeg
Public seating at a mall. The seats were first without backrest. As an upgrade, the backings were neatly added to create a better experience for customers. I’m not sure if the storekeepers actually had the backings in storage but there were none for quite a long period of time so they were noticeably “new”.

Seating in Public Places

Happy New Year everyone. Wishing you a wonderful 2023.
Have you ever thought how convenient it is to have seating in public spaces? If you have a busy day, maybe you’re out shopping or even just out running a few errands, taking a break on a comfortable piece of furniture or seating, can give you and your feet a well-needed break. It’s also a good chance to just stop and see what’s happening around you. Please don’t think I was going to forget to also mention that it’s a good way to relax and browse through your phone. Lol!
untitled.gif

While stopping to take a seat may be optional for some, we have to consider the elderly, those expecting babies and parents with young kids who often times may really need to take that seat.
Whatever the reason(s)to make or take a stop, comfortable furniture and seating in public spaces make doing so a more satisfying experience. In this post, I’ll share with you a few kinds of seating and furniture I’ve seen in
my local area.

D96D9DAC-1FB6-4132-90C0-B1F421CE7D45.jpeg
D0419F27-8350-4AFC-A828-E6FBC4A4EE8A.jpeg
The above two pieces were initially without backrests. The upgrade created almost a total different look, feel and really added to the overall aesthetics of the mall. I found the addition to be real neat and quickly realized that the backings were removable and maybe could be adjusted in several ways. Though the changes were simple, they created a whole new level of experiences. Those seated, though on the same bench, had more personal space and this became more important since corona (COVID-19)and the “introduction” of social distancing. The curvature of the backings also created more direct positioning. Without the backings, customers would randomly sit and face whatever direction.

7BBA59C3-CF62-48CE-886D-C60D688EDA15.jpeg
My kids sitting and waiting while I did some shopping. I really loved the location of this one in particular because I could see my kids while I shopped and they seemed quite comfortable on that piece of furniture. Unlike the other pieces of furniture above, this was a new piece added at the mall. I did try it out before shopping. Lol!

I think these kinds of furniture and seatings work well in lobby areas, at malls and at big complexes. I did think however, that it would have been lovely for me to have at least one at home. The curvature of the backings would fix my boys in particular positions and hopefully help to reduce siblings’ rivalry. I feel like I’m straying here. Lol!🤣😂
We really loved the new seating. So much so, that even while making this post, I realized I had taken several shots of the furniture on different occasions. 🤣

Seating for Kids and Parents (with kids)

8CEF6A2E-8C2A-4911-B080-9406C57B059F.jpeg
D92CC0DF-0C7F-41AA-A1DD-26598D2EA9A7.jpeg
61511A40-632E-4F95-9C0E-9D944F8F9F8C.jpeg
Kids’ play area at a shopping center. The seating is as colorful as the play area itself. Parents can be comfortably seated while they watch and wait on their kids. The seating also facilitates interaction among parents. Have you ever been in a play area when you are really tired, with kids, the kids want to play forever and you have to stand for an extended period of time as you wait?
In such situation, seating makes a world of a difference.

Across from the play area, I noticed “two big boxes”. They seemed to have been fairly recently installed there on the first floor. They are called “Mamaro”. There, parents can privately breastfeed, feed and or change the diapers of infants and toddlers. I considered this to be an upgrade to the area as in earlier years, I attended to my infants at the same shopping center but on the second floor where the nursing area was located. At the time, the area was just a room enclosed by a curtain and used only by women. There was less privacy.
87DE06C8-62A6-423E-B1AE-1253A53D30B6.jpeg

The Mamaro

The Mamaro is quite compact. I stepped inside for a bit and noticed that there were two seats. There was also a screen that gave advice on the usage of the space. The seating seemed quite neat and able to comfortably accommodate three (a parent or guardian with an infant and toddler).
9A63233B-A9B0-4357-8786-6A05379E5E7B.jpeg
2312AFFD-821F-44F6-901E-7F8B45344AE4.jpeg
0EB933E9-419D-492C-8165-B352923EFF4F.jpeg
3E1B66F9-A3A6-476D-BB38-7924CCF19326.jpeg
C2E842E4-AD90-40E1-813B-1CED56D15319.jpeg
70B0AD30-637B-4E9B-846D-621B5AC3116C.jpeg
26062EC1-4BDE-486F-B293-BABF9DBE4434.jpeg
Outside the Mamaro there’s a sink that can be used by parents, guardians and kids.

I searched for some information and realized that the Mamaro is a smart box. Such boxes are being installed in places around Japan,to meet the need for parents and caregivers to have access to more nursing facilities in public spaces or spaces outside the home. To find out more about Mamaro, you can click the link below:
https://en-jp.wantedly.com/companies/trim-inc/post_articles/104623

Mamaro boxes not only provide seating for families but convenience that’s really needed.

88266D49-2BD3-44C7-A3F9-13CD8FDD2A32.jpeg
Close to the Mamaro boxes was another sitting area with colorful seating. Preference is given to the elderly and those expecting babies but anyone could use the area.

Furniture and seating in public spaces help to create satisfying experiences for customers.
Thank you for reading my post. Please share with me the types of seatings in public spaces in your area.

Have a great day. 😃

Sort:  

Congratulations @fruityfruitz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 250 posts.
Your next target is to reach 300 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-12 - Winners List
Be ready for the first Hive Power Up Month of the year 2023!
Update For Regular Content Creators - New Yearly Author Badge
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal

What a clever idea @fruityfruitz! Your post is certainly a smart way of showcasing furniture, especially the ones we usually overlook and take for granted on a daily basis. If these beautiful pieces were able to talk, they would have told you "Thank you" for the valuable attention you've given them, lol. 🤣 I personally love public seating with backrests but its downside is that mall-goers might be over-relaxed and wouldn't shop, dine, or entertain themselves anymore with the establishment's facilities - defeating its commercial purpose. On the other hand, seating without backrests could serve those with fast lifestyles, only providing quick breaks. 😊👍

Those Mamaro boxes are remarkably impressive, truly reflecting Japan's ingenuity in design innovation. Are they common public features in many shopping centers in that country?

😃Thank you @storiesoferne.
If those pieces said “thanks”, I would have responded with a quick “You’re welcome” and “You deserve it”. There’d however be no guarantee that I’d sit in those seats again. 🤣😂
I’d be wondering what else has talking capabilities…walls? I probably should even check out the full capabilities of those Mamaro boxes. Lol!

You’re right re the backrests on furniture in public spaces like malls. If customers are too comfortable, they may spend less.

Those Mamaro boxes are remarkably impressive, truly reflecting Japan's ingenuity in design innovation. Are they common public features in many shopping centers in that country?

They’re really neat. Impressive indeed. You know I just saw them in my local area and out of curiosity, just checked them out.
As I’m without a baby or toddler, I didn’t want to overspend my time there so thought I’d check the internet for more information. I then realized that those “little” boxes were one of Japan’s solution to the problem of inadequate feeding rooms. Apparently several of them were installed for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics (held in 2021).
I’ve only seen them at one location. Now that I know what they really are, I’ll be on the look out for them. Lol
My guess is that there are more in areas of Tokyo. It seems the plan is to eventually get them to more areas across Japan.

Thanks for your question. Have a wonderful day. 🎶

Well, you'll never know. With the rapid evolution of AI, furniture might be able to converse back to you someday, haha 🤣 In fact nowadays, some so-called "intelligent houses" already integrate the interactive capabilities to engage with their owners such as robotic appliances, smart windows, and perhaps talking walls. 😊

Thank you for adding valuable information on those Mamaro boxes. Have a productive, healthy, and joyous 2023 @fruityfruitz! 👍🙏

😆Haha! So true. Maybe it’s already a reality and one I may need to eventually embrace. Most furniture and walls I’ve come across so far aren’t smart or intelligent (this doesn’t sound right) but functional.

Thank you for adding valuable information on those Mamaro boxes.

Thank you for providing the platform and opportunity for me to do so. I appreciate it and also appreciate the response to the post.

Have a productive, healthy, and joyous 2023 @fruityfruitz!

😃Thank you. I wish you the same.

I really like how creating separate spaces for people on one piece of furniture was done in an elegant and stylish way, instead of just having normal dividers or armrests. And yet, it's so simple.

Thanks @rarej. I loved it too. It was done in a creative way. Quite unique. I can imagine the joy designers have in creating pieces and making them versatile. Hadn't I seen them without backing before, I'd have probably just thought they were just lovely. Seeing the transformation really opened my eyes and piqued my interest.

The best designs are sometimes so simple and subtle, that we don't even notice them until we really focus on it.

That’s so true. 😃

Creating convenience and comfort in public spaces - especially malls and shopping centers - is also a way to keep customers longer and hopefully also spend more 😅.

😃I see your point of view. You get comfy, you're there for long, you get hungry, decide to get something to eat, glimpse an item at a store, step in to get it , grab a few other items and ... it goes on. Lol!
I guess we could also say that comfortable seating in public spaces gives us a chance to rest well in between spending. 😂

I guess we could also say that comfortable seating in public spaces gives us a chance to rest well in between spending. 😂

Hahaha true.

It was @rarej who brought it to my attention, because in some spaces over here, they offer you "free" coffee or tea, especially supermarkets or shops.

Now that’s a cool service . I guess location is key. I assume that in some locations some would just go for the coffee or tea. 😆

Hahaha every time we do grocery shopping in the shops they offer "free" coffee, we take one and stroll around in the shop 😂.

😂😂Make use of the service of course!

 last year  

Congratulations @fruityfruitz! We are delighted to inform you that your outstanding publication was specially selected to be part of our Curated Content Catalog and was awarded BRONZE MARK in Architecture Anthology™ 10. More power!

AA CURATION BANNER - BRONZE MARK.jpg

Thank you for subscribing to Architecture+Design, an OCD incubated community on the Hive Blockchain.

😃Thank you @aplusd. I’m happy to have received the bronze mark.
untitled.gif

 last year  

With tremendous pleasure dear @fruityfruitz. We are truly delighted to host your amazing publications! 😀