Design and Architecture of PALMS Coffee

INTERIOR DESIGN (4).jpg



Hello everyone,
How are you today? I hope you are all in good condition and happy, even though at the end I don't have much time to greet you, but I hope you are all in good condition and blessed with lots of fun. Like the story this time, I had a pleasant experience in a unique coffee shop with various architecture and designs, as well as a valuable experience.

It's a bit far from my house, it's a short distance actually, but traffic jams make me spend a long time traveling, this café is hidden behind a row of houses and shops around SMAN 1 Medan, it's called the Little India area, because many Indians have be a native Indonesian citizen and have lived in this area for a long time.

IMG_5528.jpg

Uniquely, the name of this café is PALMS, which is inspired by a type of plant; palms, can you guess what the architectural and design concept is like? Yes, their inspiration is not far from a country in the Middle East, with a Middle Eastern concept and that makes it different from the others.

If we reflect on the meaning of Palms, countries throughout the Middle East region specialize in palms, especially dates, as the largest producer of dates in the world. This makes Palms Café create something unique from their concept, amidst the crowded cafes which have interior and exterior architecture and design, which is unmistakably not far from Modern and Industrial.

IMG_5531.jpg
IMG_5533.JPG
IMG_5567.JPG

Wait, from the entrance, there is a small palm tree and also the words 'PALMS' in gold, all the exterior walls are dominant in pink and green, very harmonious and looks different from other buildings. That's why, from along this road, you will immediately recognize this café and might be very interested in stopping for a cup of coffee, just like me this time.

Unfortunately, this café is not very strategic in terms of parking space, it is really difficult to get parking because it will compete with other shops around here. This café is very strategically located in the city of Medan, the center of government offices and also close to the biggest mall in this city.

IMG_5543.jpg

IMG_5553.JPG
IMG_5557.JPG

Entering from the only entrance, I saw that there were lots of very strong Arabian ornaments, starting from several hanging lamps in red, green and orange, then chairs and tables that were in harmony with the colors of this café. There are lots of chairs and tables, but I think there are few people coming, maybe because it's busy at the moment, the sun is hot in the afternoon, it's quite hot to be outdoors, of course, this café has more outdoor space than indoor.

Likewise, there are ornaments that are small but emphasize the deeper interior with the Middle East, such as ornaments on the walls and stairs, using unusual ceramics, which give a cheerful atmosphere in this café. I think that this café is quite 'girly' and indeed almost all of this café's customers consist of many women who like hanging out in the café, then like taking photos in several beautiful spots to display on social media.

IMG_5559.JPG
IMG_5561.JPG
IMG_5576.JPG

Another interesting spot is in the room right in front of the toilet, there are 2 parallel sinks, with unique interior ornaments too. Mirror with wooden list, storage cupboard using wood and another interesting thing, ceramic washbasin made from pottery shaped with purple, gold and stone ornaments. It's really unique and different from the others.

IMG_5587.JPG

I like the oud scent in this café, even though it's an open space, they use a natural oud scent that I don't know where it comes from. Honestly, there are many unique and different experiences. You have to try for some coffee in this café.


About Author


Call me Isdarmady, because I have a full name that is very long, namely Isdarmady Syahputra Ritonga. I am a head of the family who work as Farmers Vegetables Hydroponic and Consultant Hydroponics, sometimes I also sell coffee from various regions in Indonesia.
I have expertise dispensing coffee with a variety of techniques and tools brewing, because I have the desire to make a coffee shop with hydroponics as centerpieces. Help me realize that dream.

Thanks for read, vote, re-blog and support me in Hive. Maybe god will reward the kindness, let’s success together.

Sort:  
 7 months ago  

Congratulations @isdarmady! We are delighted to inform you that your outstanding publication was specially selected to be part of our Curated Content Catalog and was awarded RUNNER-UP in Architecture Anthology™ 48. More power!

AA CURATION BANNER - RUNNER-UP.jpg

Thank you for subscribing to Architecture+Design, an OCD incubated community on the Hive Blockchain.

thank you very much @aplusd

 7 months ago  

Great to see you back dear @isdarmady. Have fun! 😀

If there is a date palm tree that is already bearing fruit, it might be a more fitting name for the cafe. I didn't see any date palm trees there.

Hello @tomidiwirja thank you for stopping by
I'm so happy you stopped by my post. I think the meaning of "Palms" tends to be more like a place of shelter, like date palm trees in the desert that people use for shelter. I also felt that function when I stopped at this cafe.

I can feel the vibe of that cafe..

thank you for stopping by @viviehardika