You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Architecture Moments™: The Bayon Temple of Angkor Thom

What a wonderful place. I have been amazed. What country is the temple in? It is amazing how stone structures endure through the years. The images of faces carved into the rock are a little creepy. Could they be gods? I really liked the writing and everything you tell.

Sort:  
 last year (edited) 

Certainly, these temple ruins are truly wonderful, astonishing, and enigmatic at some point since some of them lack historical facts. These iconic landmarks are situated in Cambodia, a country that's basically sandwiched between Thailand and Vietnam. 👍

The primary stones used as building materials were sandstone and laterite. Although there were clear signs of wear and tear at the site, these natural elements have proven themselves to be highly reliable after surviving centuries of existence in these architectural relics. As for the origins and symbolisms of the smiling stone faces, no one knows so far. They might depict gods or were also said to represent the Khmer kings. But until real evidence has been found to support these claims, we can only speculate. 😊

What about Cuba @jordy0827? Does your homeland have temple ruins too?

I did not know about this temple. As far as I know there are no temples here. So I guess there are no ruins either.

Oh I see. Isn't that surprising? I've always assumed that nations would have at least a few traces of temple ruins or other religious sites with dilapidated states. But I guess it doesn't apply in your part of the world. Interesting! 😊

I'm not saying no, in my part of the world there may be, and the one who doesn't know is me. I'm going to find out more and let you know. And what is your part of the world?

No worries. Your exciting adventure in hunting down these Cuban temple relics has now begun, lol. 🤣 The Southeast Asian nation of the Philippines is my homeland, and we do have several church ruins, especially those historic landmarks of Spanish colonial origins. As a culture, we also share several similarities quite common with South American countries under previous Spanish influences. A few of them include cuisine, habits, and language. That's why Cuba resonates with me. 😊👍

Well, we do have ruins, the old ones because some of them are from the present jeje. But not ruins of temples, instead we have ruins of sugar mills, coffee plantations, parks...

Yeah, those ruins are understandable as they'll always be part of human society. And they might turn out to be interesting features of architecture sooner or later. Cheers! 😊