My first big Architectural design.

Practice makes perfect, but nobody is perfect aside from God, then why do we humans practice🤔, I see God is perfect because he doesn't practice 😁 funny, the Bible says study to show yourself approved.
And today I'll be presenting one of my works though old, I did this work while i was still practicing towards perfection, during the lockdown period. The picture below is a complete rendered work of a skill acquisition center/technical college designed by me. During the course of designing this I used 2 different softwares, first I used AUTOCAD2018 for the drafting out of the plan and elevations, secondly I used SKETCHUP pro for the modeling and VRAY for the distinctive editing and rendering which brought out that beautiful picture you're seeing below.
I was able to complete this work within a week, as I was still trying to master the software.
As you can see on the picture there are 2 different buildings in the site, the bigger one is tue main school building itself while the smaller one with an hipped roof is the administrative block of the school, with no much time wasting, let me take you through my design.

Screenshot_20201103-001811.png

STAGE ONE: SKETCHING
This was the initial stage of the design, during this stage I was doing a pen sketch of how I wanted the school to look like, I was able to build up concept at this stage, take certain things into consideration like, lighting(natural) orientation, sound, topography, aesthetics, economic efficiency and vice versa.

STAGE TWO: ANALYSIS.
This stage include making analysis such as spacial analysis which is the calculation of the space to occupants, functional flow, bubble diagram and vice versa.

STAGE THREE: DRAFTING/DRAWING.
This was the stage that followed the analysis as I started drawing it with my system, during this stage as a young Architect, there's is a very high tendency of change in the concept and shape, this is due to dimensions that has been inputted which at this point will make you think more like a philosopher,😁 you see, philosophy is of utmost importance in this profession.
At this stage, I produced the floor plans, elevations, sectional cut,site plan, section details and vice versa.

Screenshot_20201103-011232.png

Screenshot_20201103-011325.png

Screenshot_20201103-002131.png

Screenshot_20201103-002053.png

Screenshot_20201103-002402.png

Screenshot_20201103-001959.png

STAGE FOUR: MODELING/RENDERING.
At this stage, the AUTOCAD work was exported to SketchUp for modeling, and later to vray for editing and rendering.
The whole process looks easy, but it's not easy as you think, everything don't just happen straight like that, at a certain point your brain will need to think, but your body might fail you as fatigue might set in.

CHALLENGES.
During the course of designing this skill acquisition center I was faced with several challenges such as:

Financial challenges.
Laptop challenges, as my laptop wasn't giving me quality output as expected.
Fatigue after a long period of sitting in one position.

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

I’m our industry, architects can clearly relate to the tedious and challenging processes you’ve been through! Aside from the creative skills needed to conceptualize projects from scratch, we also need the suitable computer software like AutoCad, Sketchup, and VRay to portray these architectural works in a presentable and realistic manner. Computer hardware for laptops and desktops must also be powerful enough to deliver the desired tasks at hand. Thank you for sharing your first big architectural design with us! We’re also happy to warmly welcome you to the Architecture+Design Community! Well done @markosky01!

Architecture is definitely not an easy profession! There’s a plethora of factors involved to produce and deliver the best projects for our clients. I like the part when you said that Architects must also think like philosophers as this is simply true when it comes to defending our architectural proposals for approval. This reminds me of my architecture school days during our thesis defense classes. Great post @markosky01!

Nice comment sir Architect, I'll be looking forward to working together with you some day in the future...

Welcome to Architecture + Design Community! Thank you for sharing your project and the creative process where you've captured the complex nature and reality of the architectural design. I am there with you with the fatigue after a long period of sitting in one position. We get so absorbed with what we're doing we don't realize the number of hours (and the number of cups of coffee) that piled up.

Yeah!!!.
You understand the stress, but there's beauty and joy in the stress.