When Expectations do not match Reality

in Architecture+Design5 months ago

This long journey that I have traveled makes me want to enjoy and create as many moments as possible, visiting several places until I am satisfied with getting the vitamins and medicines that my body needs. This year's holiday trip I still have to be satisfied with channeling my thirst in domestic tourism which is still in Indonesia. and this time my tourism destination is West Sumatra. A province that is next to my province, North Sumatera. In West Sumatera, on average, the things we often encounter are historical tours with buildings that have their own characteristics.



I really admit that West Sumaterra really values ​​their culture. Usually in other areas, including North Sumatra, buildings that have regional characteristics are local government buildings, and places of worship, both mosques and churches, which incorporate a little regional elements into their buildings. However, in West Sumatra, the average building provides characteristics of the area.

But what can I do if a very beautiful building when I see it from a distance, when I look closely it turns out that this very beautiful building is a building that is neglected and I ask myself what is wrong with them, even though when I look into the building through the front window there are lots of things. items that are still functioning so I conclude that this building is actually still in use but is very far from being maintained, in fact I am also surprised that this building is still functioning well until now.



VIEWED FROM THE FRONT
The yard that I saw from the front was with grass that was no longer maintained and a little rubbish strewn everywhere, the steps were made of wood which I felt was due to lack of maintenance causing these steps to no longer be as strong as they used to be. , even though these stairs are very cool in my opinion, the roof frame which is not completely flavonized still only uses a light steel roof, and the windows on the right and left sides of the building are beautified with very simple carvings, making the building this has artistic value. At the bottom front of the building there is an endorsement plaque where this building is named 'Rumah Gadang Pakan Senayan'. This gadang house is privately owned and used for all needs, but when I looked from the window it seemed like this building was used for religious learning for the children around there.
And this building was inaugurated in 2013. The building is still growing and is still really cute. However, it turned out that his fate was not so good



LEFT SIDE
From the left side next to the road I can see that the wall made of PVC has a few holes and needs a lot of maintenance, not to mention the grass is much longer than the front yard, so I'm afraid there will be animals crawling on my feet. because when I came to that place it was drizzling and the grass I stepped on was muddy.



TO THE RIGHT SIDE
Not much different from the building on the left, the building on the right, this building is also still poorly maintained. However, on the right side we can see another building that is not well maintained and has not been completely finished or has been deliberately neglected, I also don't understand.



So, is this beautiful building actually lacking in maintenance if this building is still functioning today? What do you think about this building, whether this building is good or not.
Greetings from MayTom

Sort:  
 5 months ago  

Congratulations dear @maytom! We are delighted to inform you that your outstanding publication was specially selected to be part of our Curated Content Catalog and was awarded BRONZE MARK in Architecture Anthology™ 54. More power!

AA CURATION BANNER - BRONZE MARK.jpg

Thank you for subscribing to Architecture+Design, an OCD incubated community on the Hive Blockchain.

Thank you for still being with me @aplusd

 5 months ago  

With enormous pleasure dear @maytom. Keep up the amazing A+D publications! 😀

Hi @maytom, it's a pity that the building is abandoned, it has very good design especially the roof finishes, it's frustrating when you have high expectations and the reality is totally different.

Happy New Year!

This is where the weakness lies if you have abundant resources but are not supported by a caring spirit @belkyscabrera

I am not afraid of the building not having maintenance but I'm afraid of the hidden reptiles crawling on those spreading grass. 😬

yeah you're right it's a little scary @sydney27

Greetings @maytom I think it is sad that a building of this style is in neglect, it is sad that the investment that was made in its construction is left to waste.

Yes, you are right, it takes a lot of money to build this, but it is really a shame that the heirs did not use this beautiful building @sorprendente

wow very unusual for me

that's why we need advanced thinking to be able to utilize existing heritage @gypsy-caravan