Sort:  

Kudos to the designer of this hotel, they did a great job. So far throughout my career, I have been involved in 4 hotel projects, 2 5*stars, and 2 -4 stars. The majority of the projects I've been worked on were retail, residential, and offices. So far, budget is the main constraint whether concept designs and ideas could all be implemented. It also depends on whether the investor and the hotel brand are both in sync and on board with the idea.

Nice that must be a really good feeling going past the hotels and seeing them with your designs. Do you ever stay at them and have thoughts about doing it differently?

Unfortunately, none of the hotels I designed went past the design stage. They all didn't get built due to project cancellations or budget constraints but yes, it feels good to see other projects take off-residential and showrooms and being in it, toasting with the client during the opening and watching them all enjoy the space. Yes, this critical eye is often a self-directed and self-inflicted punishment even more towards the self. There were times I re-visited certain projects and thought, ooh I could have done this, or I could have done that, it's hard to accept sometimes but I had to be more kind and accepting of the imperfections and learn from them.