A touch of Heritage and Modern design at the Station, It's Really Beautiful

in Architecture+Design2 years ago (edited)
I often admire some of the beautiful buildings. What do I think about this building? How could the ancients create such beautiful and timeless designs to this day. The design is still acceptable today. The design is still intact and sturdy. I love this place.

I keep coming here and I never seem to get bored. The name of this place is Bandung station. If I'm at home and want to go to Bandung City, I always use the train. Usually, I start my journey to Padalarang station and stop at Bandung city station. This place is never boring. What made me love this station?

7 (4).jpg

8 (4).jpg

11 (4).jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



The art deco style of this building is so beautiful. For me art deco is a beautiful decorative art, especially in Indonesia. For at this station, I see that there are differences between buildings that have other art deco designs. If examined further, if the art deco at this station is included in the modern streamlined art deco section. There are ornaments and details in this building.

For the hall building, this station still maintains the original building. Because, in my opinion, the hall is the icon of this station from the first. When I came last May, the building was revitalized. Apart from some beautiful modern ornaments. The art deco nuance is not lost in the hall, and then adds to the modern building. For me, this station has superior characteristics among other stations.

6 (4).jpg

16 (4).jpg

17 (4).jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



In this building, there is the most important characteristic. What? The stained glass lunette is on the hall facade. This Lunette uses tin glass which is dominated by boru and white colors. What's the shape? For the rectangle, white glass forms the base shape.

19 (4).jpg

20 (3).jpg

23 (1).jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



The blue glass then has the shape of a triangle, a rhombus and a rectangle. For this blue glass is made for decoration. As I explained, if some parts are made it remains the same as in the Dutch era. By the way, I forgot to tell you, that this station was built in 1882. This station is the first station in West Java. This station was completed in 1884. It was only in 1920 that the station was renovated.

24 (1).jpg

25 (1).jpg

22 (1).jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



Back to the design and architecture of this station. In the massif, there is a horizontal window with a walkway. This section is left like this. However, this building has become a cultural heritage in Indonesia. On the other side of the building, there are vertically lined windows.

5 (5).jpg

9 (4).jpg

10 (4).jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



On the facade of this building, there are walls with different colors. For the platform form, there is a very dominant shape, some of which form a saddle triangle. There is an additional canopy on the side. What's interesting about this building is the art deco geometric ornament that adds glamor, glamour, excitement, social and technological progress. Do you feel it?

1 (6).jpg

2 (6).jpg

3 (6).jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



The building is dominated by a massive field. By the way, for a modern touch, the station added a modern bridge known as a skybridge that runs from south to north. How long? This skybridge has a length of up to 73 meters. This bridge has the function of reducing the boarding time of visitors to be faster.

The skybridge is divided into two parts. For the south and north painted gray and black. The color shows elegant and modern. This color does not collide with the luxury in the art deco building station. This building is very beautiful in my opinion. A unique blend, between art deco and modern.

4 (6).jpg

12 (4).jpg

13 (4).jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah





About Author

Nurdiani Latifah

My name is Nurdiani Latifah. I currently live in Jakarta – Indonesia, after 25 years I live in Bandung. I am a media staff at an NGO in Indonesia. I have worked in this institution for almost 2 years on issues of women and peace. I had been a journalist in Bandung for 3 years.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

thank you

Beautiful pictures of a beautiful place! In addition to the atmosphere conducive to travel or wait for a train.

Hermosas fotografías de un hermoso lugar! Además del ambiente propicio para viajar o esperar un tren

thank you, However, this station is rarely used to travel outside the city

I love this snap. If I may ask, how did took this shot?

I want to laugh about this. I got a reprimand from the station attendant when I took the photo. I was helped by my friend too to take this photo. he is a photographer, photojournalist.

It must be an amazing experience taking the shot then (^_^)

 2 years ago  

Congratulations @nnurdiani! We're delighted to specially curate your awesome publication and award it RUNNER-UP in Architecture Brew #70. More power!

AB CURATION BANNER - RUNNER-UP - V4.jpg

Thank you for subscribing to Architecture+Design, an OCD incubated community on the Hive Blockchain.

this is interesting news at the beginning of the week. thanks for the information, I will present another story

 2 years ago  

Thank you @nnurdiani for the great appreciation and support. Cheers! 😀