Peter and Paul in the boat... an unexpected meeting many years later.

in Architecture+Design2 years ago (edited)

Picsart_22-02-02_23-24-11-283.jpg

The desire to walk for a long time led me to this wonderful place, which I once saw from the window of an electric train!
I chose the route of 2.7 km and my youngest daughter Darinka and I went to the grocery store in the neighboring village of Ryasne, which is the extreme point of Lviv. First through a pine forest, and then through a snowy field.

20220201_111959.jpg

20220120_161145.jpg

Wonderful pictures of snowy hills, shining like diamonds, were before us. And so we saw from afar the church and the cemetery near it. This was our landmark. We knew that there was an exit to the road where this supermarket is located. And we went straight to this church.

20220120_161045.jpg

20220120_161335.jpg

20220120_162340.jpg

20220120_162526.jpg

As we approached, I was surprised to see that this is the famous Church of Peter and Paul, which I saw from the window of the train, once upon a time, when I sometimes went from Lviv to Rava Ruska.
And the first thing I saw was a boat with the figures of two legendary apostles Peter and Paul. I don't know what this sculpture symbolizes, but I think it symbolizes the miracle of faith - when the disciples saw Jesus walking on the water. Here is a constant reminder to our parishioners that we receive in our lives what we believe in ...

20220120_162448.jpg

20220120_162413.jpg

20220120_162506.jpg

Maybe you would think of something else if you saw these figures? But they are majestic and I would say that this building is truly a work of art that makes this church a masterpiece.

20220120_162542.jpg

20220120_162602.jpg

20220120_162613.jpg

It was very cold that day when I walked around the churchyard and took a lot of photos in memory of this place. There are several separate buildings and a beautiful bell tower with three bells. In the courtyard of the church stands a statue of the Mother of God. People of our religion believe and hope for its care and kindness. And on the dome of the church there is also a sculpture of the Mother of God, who, as if with her veil from above, protects her beloved children.
There are also benches in the yard where people can sit and socialize in the warm season. Such a cozy place where parishioners can support each other and share their love. I saw children's photos on the wall of the church, and I thought that many children here are probably learning spiritual literacy.

20220120_162646.jpg

20220120_162700.jpg

I always want to know more about the church, so I read an interesting story in Google about the Church of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul - a Greek Catholic church in Lviv, in the Shevchenkivskyi district of the city, in the Ryasne district.
It is known that the original building of the wooden temple on this site was destroyed during the Turkish-Tatar invasions. However, in 1672 the church and the school were restored, again in wood. This wooden building did not withstand the effects of the elements and was severely damaged during its 200 years of existence.
In 1891, according to the design of Józef Kaetan Janowski, the construction of a new stone church began, which was completed in 1895.
In 1924, the artist Ivan Domansky made a mural of the church, and in 1927 the main altar was purchased. On the main altar were magnificent images of the Holy Supreme Apostles Peter and Paul.
After the end of the Second World War, most Poles left for Poland, taking with them the images of the Holy Supreme Apostles Peter and Paul and the Mother of God. This is the end of the history of this shrine, as a Roman Catholic parish church of the Holy Supreme Apostles Peter and Paul, and its new history begins as a Greek Catholic shrine.
The first Divine Liturgy during the time of independent Ukraine was celebrated on December 10, 1989.
Gradually, the number of parishioners of the temple increased significantly, and the sanctuary was restored. In particular, two side naves and a vestibule were added, above which rose three domes, which gave the buildings of the Church of the Holy Supreme Apostles Peter and Paul an Eastern Christian look. In front of the church there is an altar in the shape of a boat, decorated with figures of the Holy Supreme Apostles Peter and Paul.

20220120_162758.jpg

20220120_162823.jpg

20220120_162900.jpg

20220120_162911.jpg

I remember this boat with the apostles as a wonderful work of art, and I am glad that I now live nearby.
Walking around the courtyard again, I saw the cross and the symbolic Way of the Cross, which allows people to reflect on the sacrifice made by Jesus Christ for the salvation of mankind ...

20220120_163127.jpg

20220120_162944.jpg

20220120_162932.jpg

Looking back, thank you for such an interesting and beautiful spiritual tour that I suddenly found on my way to the store. I move on past the railway track, where the electric train rides, from the window of which I once saw this boat and the figures of the apostles for the first time. I hope you liked my story and photos :)

20220120_162653.jpg

20220120_163235.jpg

Thank you for your visit 😊

Sort:  

Hey Olga @olga.maslievich, what a delight to see you back in our beloved Architecture+Design Community! It's truly exciting how glimpses of spectacular architectural attractions from the window of that electric train have lured you to this magnificent place. The sculptural artwork of the legendary Apostles Peter and Paul in the Boat is the ideal representation of the classic Bible story of assurance, confidence, and most especially of solid faith. Despite being covered in snow, that symbolic monument is an impressive masterpiece as it stands out among the main church and other interesting buildings nearby. Amazing!

Thank you for going out of your way, regardless of the freezing temperature, to show us this fabulous work of architecture. Kind regards. 😊

Thank you dear @storiesoferne for such a meaningful comment. I am pleased to find in your face a fan of such unique discoveries. Lately, I've really been in a gloomy state due to my father's illness and death, so I couldn't enjoy writing long and interesting posts in your wonderful community. But I'm already recovering a bit and will write more often :)

Happy you're feeling better now dear @olga.maslievich. No rush, just make sure you're always in the pink of health. I'm very sorry about your father's demise - respectfully praying for his eternal repose. In due time, you'll be up to speed in our community to continue doing what you love. 😊🙏

Brrr it does look cold but such a beautiful area
Love that church such a cool design and love the statues

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Thank you friend @tattoodjay. Every Wednesday I walk and enjoy writing about the places where I enjoy life :)

Glad your enjoying it 😀

I am sure that walking in such beautiful snowy places is a real pleasure. It is wonderful to live close to such a wonderful place of worship. Very beautiful church and statues. I liked your words: "...we receive in our lives what we believe in..." This is the truth. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you @danny.green. I am pleased to receive a comment from you. I also enjoy your posts about the wonderful architecture around you :)

The church next to you is an incomparable place! I am happy to share interesting architecture. Thank you 😊

I'd like to walk around this wonderful place sometime...
Really unusual and interesting sculptures of two main Christian apostles. Thanks for your story.

Thank you @lilideleopolis for your visit. I think you can combine a walk in the pine forest and a tour of the church, one warm day :)

Yeah:))) We are waiting for spring.....

Ойойой, фото класні, але я не зовсім читала, не знаю інеземної📸

Скористайтесь Google translate 😅

It must be very quiet living in those parts, I would change it where I live...

Really quiet! I love the silence to hear the snow falling :)
Thank you for your visit 😊

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you for noting this place on the pinmapple :)

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1464.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you 😊
I am glad that my work was highly praised :)

This is an interesting little church. The dramatic scene of the boat and the apostles is certainly very unique.

Perhaps Peter and Paul in the boat speak to their former vocation as fishermen when Jesus first arrived. I am not a theologian, but that would be my best guess. lol

Thanks for sharing this place and a bit about its history with us!

Cheers!

Thank you @braveboat for your comment. Interestingly, each of us differently represents what we see)

 2 years ago  

Congratulations @olga.maslievich! We're delighted to specially curate your awesome publication and award it RUNNER-UP in Architecture Brew #53. More power!

AB CURATION BANNER - RUNNER-UP - V4.jpg

Thank you for subscribing to Architecture+Design, an OCD incubated community on the Hive blockchain.

Thank you for your choice!

 2 years ago  

You're most welcome @olga.maslievich. Keep up the awesome content. 😀