You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lagom Design: It's all about balance

In my country, there was a large-scale advertising campaign by a telecommunications company recently, and all the ads talked about "balance" and showed either home scenes or scenes with a variety of activities. But the emphasis on this "balance" was in all of them, and they kept repeating it. Quite annoying 😁 Then I read that this company is Norwegian. And I think with your post, only now do I understand what they were talking about in these ads. 😂
And since I'm obviously not familiar with Scandinavian culture, I want to ask you this question - could this be some European, Ok, Scandinavian version of Feng Shui? 🤔

Sort:  

Hi @soulsdetour I never thought about it but yes Lagom shares the same seek of balance with Feng Shui. In fact we can go a bit further as Scandinavian Design & Japanese design have lots in common: simplicity functionality, clean lines etc…
I’m not very familiar with Feng Shui but I believe there is one main difference. Feng Shui is about balancing the energy forces around you while Lagom is more about balancing your needs and the needs of those around you. It’s hard to explain but Lagom is a bit more fluid