You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Romero Block: More than a century of family tradition (Eng - Esp)

in Architecture+Design11 months ago (edited)

Greetings @belkyscabrera. What a fascinating story! It simply pays to be more attentive to your surroundings most especially to the beautiful architecture of your city of residence, right? If I was a first-time visitor in the city of Cumaná, I would never have assumed that historic house was the renowned abode of candy-makers. From a distance, that building looks humble, but if you look closer, you'll notice the French-inspired architectural details with some touches of Spanish colonial design. Impressive! 👍

The 130-year old Romero Block is an incredible heritage of architecture, passed down to several generations. You were truly blessed to have befriended the sweet grandmother (one of the house owners) who was willing and open to share the marvelous history of their family tradition. 😊

Have you ever thought about exploring the interesting interiors of that house? (Of course with permission from the owners.)

Sort:  

Hi @storiesoferne, you definitely have to be very attentive to the environment, where you least imagine it, specifically in the center of the city, there is an incredible construction with an important story to tell; this house is located next to a funeral home, at first I only saw the facade and I was struck by the half-arched door and decorative details at the top, my impression was great to see the number of windows and the wall that extends to the end of the block, the decorative elements such as the particular flower that stands out in each window and the upper cornice led me to think that it could be a museum or art school, I never imagined that it was a family residence, when I saw the lady I did not hesitate to ask her about this beautiful construction, she kindly told me part of the history of the house, really a blessing, very excited I took my notes and walked back down the block to carefully observe every detail of the house, especially the different geometric shapes that the windows have.

Exploring the interior would be a great experience, the space I could observe has many plants and beautiful wooden furniture with incredible designs, hopefully in the near future I can know that part of the house, I assume it must have a great variety of designs in each area, the candy factory is one of the places that causes me more curiosity, I wonder how were the machines they used to prepare delicious candies? I also imagine big pots and many molds.

Without a doubt, it was a great experience to talk with the grandmother and learn a little more about the history of the city of Cumaná, every day I am surprised by the amount of architectural landmarks and exciting stories that can be found in the capital of the state of Sucre, birthplace of the Grand Marshal of Ayacucho.

Have an excellent and blessed week!

Absolutely @belkyscabrera. It would be interesting indeed to take a curious peek inside that historic house. As you said, it would be really nice to see some relics from the past like the candy-making machines, antique furniture, and other incredible paraphernalia most especially the design elements that laid preserved over the generations. Your architectural adventures will definitely continue its journey with this wonderful family residence. Have a productive and delightful week! 😊

Exactly @storiesoferne, I still have hope of knowing the inside of this incredible residence, I have spent several days there with the idea of ​​seeing the lady and I have not coincided with her, my search does not stop, perhaps in the very near future I achieved my goal to be able to see the old candy factory and the incredible designs that I imagine this great architectural work must have.

Have a great weekend!

You too @belkyscabrera, have a fun-filled weekend. Best of health always! 😊