You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [ENG] The Recoleta Cemetery, an architectural work, full of art, in Buenos Aires, Argentina [ESP] El cementerio la Recoleta, una obra arquitectónica, llena de arte, en Buenos Aires, Argentina

in Architecture+Design2 years ago

Greetings dear friend Benjamin. The Recoleta Cemetery in Argentina may be a public cemetery, but I'd rather describe that landmark to be more of an art museum cum exhibition gallery. Not only is that location a significant venue to be reunited with our dearly departed, but we are also offered the great opportunity to truly admire the various creative masterpieces of architecture in all their glorious splendor. 😊

Which specific mausoleum/burial chamber in that necropolis has caught your curious attention and why?

Sort:  

Hello dear friend Erne, in fact the Recoleta Cemetery is an open-air museum and you can spend all day admiring the architectural beauties built there, as well as the spectacular stained glass windows. As for your two questions, I was enthralled by the whole complex when I was there years ago. From the photos my sister sent me, some mausoleums that caught my attention came to my mind and the one I liked the most, aesthetically speaking, was the mausoleum erected by Liliana Crociati's parents in memory of her daughter, dressed as a bride, accompanied for his dog and the plaque of the poem written by his father, which sincerely moved me. I must clarify that this choice is not easy, since many excellent works of art are found in this beautiful cemetery-museum.

Amazing choice! I would probably be confused as well if I were in your place. Since there are plenty of remarkable architectural gems that could all be considered beautiful, exhibited in varying degrees. Thank you for showing us around this stunning cemetery! 😊

Thank you. For me it is a pleasure to show you the places I have visited or some of my family or friends visit